We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop on a 2 week road trip. Horrible and crooked management, lousy service, and a disappointing start.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Small room, no one was ever in the office, and the room charge was nowhere near what we were told, even though they kept referring to the fact that we were told on the phone it would be $175.00 per night. We were actually told $125.00 per night. When we asked the housekeeper, she confirmed it was $125.00 per night and $150.00 on weekends. We were shocked at the unprofessional, rude behavior. The last night we were there, furniture was sprawled outside of rooms and we felt we were at a road stop rather than a roadside motel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil B, Owner at Phil and Anns Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

The room rate for 2 queen beds is 175.00 for Friday and Saturday nights and 150.00 for Sunday thru Thursday. That rate starts June 15th thru Labor Day. When your email was sent those were the price quoted. You should of called and made us aware. If there was a change in what you were quoted. When you made the reservation were asking about rooms with 2 twin beds and rooms with 2 queen beds. Those prices for the 2 twin beds are 150.00 for Friday and Saturday and 125.00 for Sunday thru Thursday.
The reason why the furniture was in front of the rooms . We were general cleaning the rooms we wash the walls also the furniture and wash the carpets.
Thank you,
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Really enjoyed our get away weekend in Charlestown. Phil and Ann's was a perfect place to stay. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was also very helpful. We really loved the location. It's close to everything - shopping, beach and restaurants. We also took advantage of their special for Nordic Lodge which was wonderful. We would highly recommend this motel and I'm certain we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for no frills comfort, this is the place. My husband and I like to stay at the old style Motels whenever we can and this was one of the best we have stayed in. Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Will definitely stay again if we are ever back in the area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jktraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Room is fine except we missed a coffee brewer. Too cool to use the pool, we stay during the summer and the pool (and area) is always clean. Close to good restaurants and Beaches. If you run out of things to do they have bicycles for guest use. Bring your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nora125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Grounds had activities for all, room was decent sized and very clean. I would recommend a stay here. Staff was great. Everything around area you would need, CVS, nice restaurant, convenient store, Duncan Donuts.

Room Tip: Easy access from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russelln61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The rooms are always well kept and clean.

The staff is very nice and are very helpful in accommodating your request.

A great place to getaway for a few days with family friendly rates.

I have stayed many times and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Many styles of rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watchhillbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We rented the cottage over Labor Day Weekend and had a very nice stay. It was clean and comfortable. They have a large grassy lawn with badminton, volleyball, shuffleboard and horseshoes; along with a fire pit. The pool was nice and clean. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Conveniently located near the beach, Ninigret Park, good restaurants and the salt pond. The only draw back was the road noise (this probably was worse than usual because of the holiday traffic on route 1). Definitely would recommend for a weekend near the beach.

Room Tip: The cottage is set back from the main road, more private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
15 km away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
15.3 km away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
12 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
18.5 km away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
208 reviews
12.6 km away
Scarborough Beach Motel
Scarborough Beach Motel
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phil and Anns Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phil and Anns Sunset Motel

Address: 4043B Old Post Rd, Charlestown, RI 02813-2553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: $111 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phil and Anns Sunset Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Phil and Anns Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing