We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy as a clam.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Happy as a clam.”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a few days before he started Navy OCS. We booked our room through a "name your price" website, and were given a standard room with two beds. We were offered an upgrade to a king room with a jacuzzi for $20 a night. Yes, please!

Our room was a corner room on the second floor, and it was fabulous. There were windows all around, offering a great ocean view. The jacuzzi was clean, and even though we are germaphobes, we didn't hesitate to use it. We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable bed. The television was modern and was connected to directv. There were heating lamps in the bathroom! Those were especially nice, as the nights and mornings were pretty chilly.

The hotel was within walking distance of the beach, Cliff Walk, several restaurants, and a wine/liquor store. There is also a restaurant onsite, but we didn't try it.

Wireless internet and parking were both free.

The only issue that some people may have is that you could hear the jacuzzi tub in the room next to ours. This didn't bother us any though!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    258
    138
    91
    97
See reviews for
290
391
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phelan, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Hotel is just over the bridge from Cliff Walk and the Mansions. Front desk gave us a suite upgrade without even asking for $20. Front dest was so friendly helpful. Room was clean, down pillows & down comforters that just made the bed so comfy and cozy. Slept so soundly that it made the next day so enjoyable, refreshed and ready to take on Newport! Double queen suite with 2 baths was enormous. Could of had 4 more people in the room without any problem. Will always come back to this hotel when in Newport!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamacraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We booked this one last minute and off season. The hotel was clean, friendly staff and well situated right on the beach. The room we had was a 2 queen bed suite and was absolutely delightful. The only comment I would add was the sitting room furniture was a bit dated but that really didnt affect our stay. I have stayed in many 5 stars and Palace hotels across Europe and this hotel was a close competitor.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecanterTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a sea view room on first floor of main building, very comfortable, great views.
We were there Columbus weekend and were glad to be out of centre of Newport, but walkable in twenty minutes, straight road. Also a good location for the Cliff Walk. We did not pay for parking
Great bar/restuarant staff. Food was fine.

Room Tip: Get a beach view, traffic noise is not too bad and compensated for by the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowHappyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Room a bit small. A/C noisy and on a busy road. Chose the fixed price menu with the 18% service charge. Food was good but service was lacklustre (at best) infifferent and slow. Bar tender more intent on talking to her mates and watching the football on tv. To top it all the bill also included an option for an additional gratuity! No improvement with different staff on duty at breakfast. I complained to the staff at reception to be told that the restaurant has no connection with the hotel business whatsoever. Funny that, shares the same building and is openly advertised on the heavily photoshopped website. There are plenty of options to eat elsewhere - I recommend you use them

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catchingm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites with my family and loved it. The hotel is directly across from Newport Beach and next to the town resevoir. The views from my room were spectacular. On one side was the beach on the other side was the reservoir which is a really nice wild life area. I am not a bird watcher but I still enjoyed the egrets, swans and other wild life. There is also a beautiful sunset over the pond. We went for the big suite and all I can say is WOW! Two big bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a big living room, full kitchen and washer drier (which was key because we used both the hotel pool and roof top hot tub as well as the beach. My wife and I just couldn't get over the size of our room. It was more like a condominium than a hotel room, but had all the conveniences of an upscale hotel, in room coffee, nice bath products, wifi, and about the most comfortable beds ever. I used the excercise room both mornings and it had everything you could want, treadmills, eliptical trainers... I also got a massage which was awesome. The hotel restaurant was very good for breakfast, and we went to Flo's Clam Shack both days for lunch because the kids loved the place. We also arranged surfing lesssons for the kids at the surf shop around the corner, and took a wlk on the cliff walk--gourgeous. I would reccoment this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place with big, well appointed suites. I really have never stayed in another place like it that combined the room size, comfort, quality, and views.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms get a suite it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariclemarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethpage NY
Level Contributor
249 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The 2 bedroom suite in the suites building are fantastice. 1,000 sq ft 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, marble, granite and ss appls. Large sliding doors and a wonderful beach view. The staff is extremely friendly and efficent and the rooftop hot tub and gas firepit were great ways to end your evenings. We even had dinner at the on-site resturant the Ocean Bar & Grill and the food and service were very good. I like the location being just outside the crowded area and yet just a very short drive to all the attractions. If you are looking for quality space with top of the line amenities this is your place. I always disregard when people book thru 3 rd parties such as priceline and then complain they get a small room. When you use those sites you often end up with the lowest quality room at the resort. This place has very high end luxury offerings that will suite your needs.

Room Tip: The suites in the newer suites building cost more but they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
2.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.0 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,973 reviews
2.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.2 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#13 of 18 in Middletown
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Property: Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing