We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern spacious rooms and great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford Hills, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice modern spacious rooms and great price”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was a good value hotel for Newport Rhode Island. While you cannot walk to the sites they are very close.

I had a suite and was very impressed with how much space and quality of the room. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the usual fare was served for breakfast.

Free parking and easy to get from there to other places.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    251
    55
    18
    10
See reviews for
343
282
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights April 27-29th while visiting the Newport area. This hotel has everything you need. Free self parking outdoors, complimentary 24 hrs coffee/tea station at the lobby. Breakfast is included during your stay, it runs from 7am -10am. There are scamble eggs, oatmeal, waffle station, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit and juice. They have the breakfast area comfortablely set up with plenty of sitting area.

We had 2 double beds in our room. There is a microwave, fridge & coffee machine. Room was very clean & comfortable. Plenty of channels to choose from on tv. No balcony & no view...just the parking lot. If you need, there's an iron & hair dryer in the rooms. But no shower cap. Business center near the lobby with 2 computer for all guests to use. There's also a very small fitness center. In the afternoon/evening, there's fresh cookies in the front desk. MMMMM so good...I couldn't resist! Will definitely stay here again if I'm in the Newport area. The entire staff was very friendly which is a big +

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aloha_BeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

In Newport on business and stayed just outside in Middletown. Great service. Had a suite and couldn't have asked for more. I usually don't eat breakfast at the hotel but it was smelled so good each morning I stayed and ate. Convenient location, comfortable beds and clean and well kept public areas. Enjoyed my visit and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goliathtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Hampton Inn Newport / Middletown for two nights, April 2012 with six people while visiting Newport mansions. This hotel is clean, well appointed, well staffed and overall a nice value. Rooms include queen beds, microwave / fridge, and are clean and neat. The pool is small but includes a separate hot tub. Breakfast is standard Hampton Inn fare but the area is comfortable and efficient. (The breakfast staff could be more tuned in to their job than chit-chat, but that's o.k.) Everyone in our group liked this place.

The hotel is conveniently located next to Newport (which apparently doesn't allow chain hotels or restaurants in town; everything is crammed just over the line in Middletown). Hampton Inn is the closest national hotel to Newport with the exception of Marriot downtown. The downside is that the Hampton property overlooks other chain locations such as the Applebees next door and a long strip of restaurants and hotels. This property has no green space.

Still, a place we plan to stay at again. Our recommendation is book with confidence. This is a very nice Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelcomeToMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

After having now stayed at this hotel about a dozen times on business I can easily stay that this place is one of my favorite places. The grounds are immaculate, the staff is friendly but professional.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wISCONSIN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Middletown RI It was a perfect place to stay for visiting the Newport RI area. Clean, comfortable,perfect location and affordable. Service was excellent.
The breakfast was the best as far as hotel breakfast goes!

Room Tip: I am sure any room would be fine at this Hampton Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIEwISCONSIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay. My family, husband and 2 young sons stayed for a night in April. We were there for a quick one night stay while visiting a friend at Roger WIlliams University. The hotel is clean, quiet, comfortable. The staff is friendly. There was always fresh coffee, tea and juice available along with fresh fruit. At 3pm a huge plate of fresh baked cookies were made for guests. The staff was friendly and helpful. My children enjoyed the indoor pool and husband ran on the treadmill. The complimentary breakfast was perfect. A quick bite, fruit, eggs, bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, fresh waffles and good coffee. I recommend this hotel for a quick stay. If you are looking to capture a quintessential New England experience with charm, this won't do it for you because it is on a main road. However, the price can't be beat and it is central to all of the charm New England has to offer. SO a quick drive will get you into Newport or to the beach. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
3.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.1 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
281 reviews
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
3.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Address: 317 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-7326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing