We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brews, Good Food”

Coddington Brewing CO
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Newport RI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Brews, Good Food”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Very nice atmosphere, Delicious home brews. Very large portions. Reasonable prices.

Helpful?
2 Thank NewportCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    129
    63
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Beer!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I love their micr-brewery and have tasted many delicious beers there. It has very good American cuisine; nothing great but good. It's a good stop for a sandwich and a beer.

Helpful?
Thank RITripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice beer sampler”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The food at Coddington is average-to-good standard brewery/pub fare. We enjoyed the clam chowder and had a reasonably good club sandwich. The beer sampler was the highlight. We were able to sample 7 different beers (4 oz. samples, so plenty to share). Most were also available in Growlers.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura_BP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

They were open late and we had just arrived in Middletown that evening and wanted a restaurant near the hotel. The restaurant was fairly empty when we arrived about 8:30. We each had a bowl of soup and shared an entree. I ordered the requisite clam chowder and I thought it was the worst chowder we had on the entire week trip. It was mostly potatoes in a watered down white broth with few clams and it was loaded with dill, almost as if the chef had accidentally dumped the dill container in the pot. My husband had a vegetable/bean soup and it was much better. We ordered the baked seafood platter to share and asked the waitress if they could make it with very light butter. When it arrived, it was floating in butter . The waitress seemed a lot more interested in visiting with the cashier than waiting on us. The blueberry beer was absolutely wonderful. Perhaps we ordered the wrong things and should have stuck with either fried food or sandwiches, a more typical fare served at a brewery.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank untrumpable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good for sporting events and shooting pool”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I enjoyed it. Food was very good and their beer was worth trying. I would get the flights to see which one you really like but they will let you taste it before you buy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evans_dynasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coddington Brewing CO also viewed

 

Been to Coddington Brewing CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing