We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
52
69
38
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
69
38
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast lovely victorian residential neighborhood bagels large bathroom hard boiled eggs mini fridge and microwave comfortable king downtown newport newport jazz festival hardwood floors an affordable price spent one night night's sleep fresh fruit wonderful stay plenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 188 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

The good: the bed was much more comfortable than we initially thought it would be. The room was huge with a large sitting area. The hotel was quiet. There was plenty of parking.

The not so good: there was a certain level of shabbiness that was hard to overlook. The drain in the bathroom sink was rusty and unattractive. There was damage to a wall area outside our room that had not been repaired. The damage was fairly large — probably about a foot wide and three feet high. Okay, damage happens, but they could at least put up a sign saying something like “pardon our appearance while we make repairs”.

More not so good: the bottom of the tub was slick, as were the plastic walls around the tub. There was a grab bar outside the tub to help you get in, but no grab bars to help in the tub. It was unsafe for my wife, so she couldn’t take a shower. The breakfast buffet was no better than you would get at a bargain chain motel along some interstate highway. The sofa in the sitting area was worn out — very uncomfortable. There were four table lamps in the room. Three matched, but one was a different design. Instead of putting two matching lamps on the bedside table, there were mismatched lamps on either side of the bed. Really? Someone couldn’t catch that. There was no listing of television channels in the room.

We just weren’t impressed.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank serenitywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

On the second day of an 8 Day Rd. trip we were involved in a car accident. Of the five hotels we had booked, four of them allowed us to cancel at no charge. The carriage house charged us full price even after we appealed twice. Heartless.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank waltta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

The Carriage House was the perfect option for our folk festival weekend get away! Convenient, clean and very friendly. The room is a nice size and the bed is super comfortable. I recommend staying here if you can.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kencho2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

We spent one night at this Inn while visiting Newport. I knew from reading other reviews the Inn needed some updating but was pleasantly surprised with our comfortable king room with sofa, clean surroundings, and a very adequate continental breakfast area and offerings. There is plenty of parking, and our room had a refrigerator, microwave, and small coffee maker. The front desk staff was friendly, and Kellie was particularly helpful with directions to our selected Newport restaurant for dinner. After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed sitting on the deck to take advantage of the included breakfast items of toasted English or bagel, muffins, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice and coffee. The Inn is approximately 5-10 minutes from the Newport Visitors Center and much less costly than Newport accommodations. I noticed some needed improvements, but none that would keep me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardenGirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Always look for clean comfortable rooms at an affordable price and that is exactly what we found. Rooms and bathroom are large with microwave and refrigerator. We ordered food in the first day and was able to reheat the next. As for the continental breakfast, had fresh fruit, some pastries, hard boiled eggs, enough to get the morning started. I never worry much about decor but these rooms were very nicely decorated. For us, cleanliness is the key and that is the biggest reason for the high rating. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor in the back and greeted by a rabbit in the evenings
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Protoceratops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews