We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Town!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Hello, My name is Jerry and I was visiting Beaufort mainly for leisure and to get away from the hectic life and I got alot more than I expected. The town was amazing with friendly people and places. After a long day of sighseeing I decided to rest at the Howard Johnson Express Inn. The hotel was very attractive with a clean parking lot, clean gardening. The office was very attractive with dark colors the staff was very friendly and courteous.
The room was well furnished with T.V., chairs, desk and lots more. The bed was very clean with NO stains or holes in bedding and the bathroom was exceptionally clean as well. We stayed for three days and travelled the area for shopping and sighseeing. The picture below was from Hunting Island which was about 20 miles away. I got lucky with good fish and good pictures too. Overall, beaufort was amazing and filled with lots of past time acitivities, shopping malls and lots more.
I would definitely recommend the town and the hotel for prospective visitors, famliy and friends

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry_bower12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

I HAVE STAYED AT MANY HOTELS IN THE BEAUFORT AREA AND THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL IN BEAUFORT!!!!!! This is the most dilapidated hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms smelled like mildew and the AC did not work. On top of this, the hotel is run by the RUDEST and most undesirable staff possible. They are in no way cordial or polite and could care less as to the quality of your stay. When alerted to the problems with our room/stay, the owner/manager sarcastically told us to call Howard Johnson corporate "and see what they do". HoJo took no responsibility for the problems either, stating that since he is an owner-operator there is nothing they can do. The owner thinks that he has his own little independent city-state that he can do whatever/and treat people however he wants. So that is just what he does. I truly wish I could give this place negative stars or personally look all of you reading this in the face to emphatically tell you DO NOT STAY HERE. If you want to have a nice weekend ruined in record time, stay here. IF NOT, stay elsewhere, ANYWHERE ELSE. I would rather sleep in my car than stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdtufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I was here on business and stayed for a week. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the hotel staff was friendly. The rates are also very reasonable. It is only a few miles from historic Beaufort, and about 45 minutes from both Hilton Head and Savannah so the location is ideal. I would definitely recommend this hotel for both people that are just stopping in for the night and those that are staying for an extended amount of time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbeach02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

the "non-smoking" room smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke

Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
1  Thank TroyC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I thought the hotel was okay, beautiful view of the marsh behind the hotel and a small breakfast in the morning.....with a waffel maker! :) That was really nice. I would say for the price the hotel was good, the rooms were a bit ran down and could use updating but the room itself was clean. No issues there. It was really close to base for my daughters Graduation (about 5 miles or so) so it worked out perfect for us!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lala1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

great place to stay price is more than fair and the service that you get from not only the front desk but also the cleaning personal is excelent.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castillo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Todd at the front desk was very accomodating. All areas where clean. View was great on the back side of the hotel. Breakfast was wonderful and fresh. Housekeeping was great. Don't get me wrong...this is no five star hotel but that is not what we were paying for. Everything was well worth the price and we will frequent this Howard Johnson again. If you're looking for a brand new hotel with no flaws then go stay at an overly priced place, this Howard Johnson was right on the value and right on the service.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigtailpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
1.4 km away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
359 reviews
3.6 km away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#10 of 15 in Beaufort
243 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 15 in Beaufort
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
761 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island

Address: 3651 Trask Pkwy, I-95 Ex 33 to Highway 17 North to Highway 21, Beaufort, SC 29906-7142 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range: $104 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort Hotel Beaufort
Beaufort Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing