We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!”
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Loft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A large group of friends attended the Beaufort Film Festival and stayed here.
The hotel was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charleston29464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review of City Loft Hotel. We appreciate you being our guests and also thank you for supporting the Beaufort International Film Festival. It is always a wonderful event. I am so glad that you found everything perfect and look forward to having you back as our guests. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    100
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
531
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have stayed here three times over the past year and each stay has proven to be consistently excellent (which is a good sign that this boutique chic hotel is well run and has staying power). Our friend who was travelling with us also took a room and was impressed especially by the spa type bathtub. We love that,too...and the linens and bed are great quality for a good night's rest after visiting Hunting Island State Park nearby. The cafe attached to the hotel has good food as well. Staff is top notch. We only find fault with the TV system that we found nearly impossible to use the complex remote control...we could just be two old fogies, though. :) oh and the best part is this wonderful place lets you bring your dog!

Room Tip: We've stayed in 3rooms on first floor and all were consistently nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paintergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review of City Loft Hotel. We all appreciate your continued support and I love to hear that we meet your needs and exceed your expectations each time you stay with us. We will continue to maintain our quality of service and amenities. I also appreciate your comments about the TV. They are pretty high tech and I will look into a remote that might be easier to use. Come on back and bring your furry family member - we have rooms dedicated to our travelers with pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We love the spa-like details of this unique motel. The decor is modern, yet warm & welcoming. Comfortable, plush beds guarantee a great night's sleep. I love the deep soaking bathtubs. CityLoft is within walking distance of the historical area's best restaurants. The staff at CityLoft are friendly and accommodating. Best service ever.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you so much for your great review of City Loft Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our location and our staff. Best Service Ever is so great to hear - which is why Tripadvisor users voted us the Top 10 in the country for service. We are so proud of our staff and they love to hear wonderful comments from our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. Yes...it is , in fact, a converted motel, but has everything a larger city boutique hotel has and more. In fact, the conversion adds to the charm. If you have any concerns about this being clean and modern...leave them behind. We had a friendly greeting from Charlotte before we even reached the office and she continued to provide us with great tips for the area, as well as make us a reservation at a great restaurant nearby. To paraphrase a previous reviewer's notes, it was "oh, what have I done" to "wow...what a great place " to "I wish we could stay longer". The room was delightful, with an incredibly comfortable king bed. The bathroom far surpasses many hotels at twice the price, with not only a deep soaking tub, but a separate walk in shower with a rain shower head in the center that easily accomodated my 6'3" frame. It was a rare treat. A workout room is also available to those of you that don't understand the concept of vacation! We were right in the middle of historic Beaufort and minutes from the waterfront. A "blind" walk around the neightborhood revealed everything we were looking for. Southern charm and Spanish moss. The entire staff here made us feel welcome and went out of their way for us. Make sure you stay here and enjoy the hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. I am so happy that you enjoyed the property and appreciate the renovation. We are always so please to hear that the staff, the memory foam topped bed, the soaking tub and separate shower exceed our guests expectations. This is a very special place and I am so glad you enjoyed it. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The nicest quaint but hip place in town. I visited City Loft to relax and destress from life in general. From the call to make reservations to checking out it was a wonderful experience. I am geographically challenged and Jason one of the staff stood outside to flag me in.as well as made excellent restaurant selections. Charlotte upon me saying what I would like to do that weekend downloaded maps for me taking me full circle around the island. A few surprises - a turn down at night with cookies on your pillow. They even bring you ice! A wonderful decor that is soothing and relaxful but very colorful. A 5' soaking tub and TV in the bathroom, with robes included. Within walking distance to great shopping and eating. A room can be a room can be a room - a place to lay your head at night but when the staff is as good as the City Lofts then it is way more than a room. Try it out you will not be disappointed.

K. Plowden, Columbia SC

Room Tip: Best Bed in town. The bed is so comfortable and pillows galore! Active. Tables outside some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of City Loft Hotel. Quaint and Hip - I love it!! I am thrilled that you had such a great time and that our staff was able to provide you with a great level of comfort and confidence. I am so proud and appreciative of them and always so happy to hear when they shine. I am also so happy to hear that you loved your room, enjoyed the cookies and were able to spend some time checking out the area. It really is a perfect getaway from Columbia - just a couple of hours from the city and into a whole other world. Come back when you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The room and staff were just great. Very clean, super comfy bed and awesome bathroom. The location is also just great as it is in walking distance to all of the old town, restaurants, shops and more. The downside is that it has all exterior entrances to the room, no in-room coffee and no breakfast. The coffee shop is on the first floor and is great. We stayed here as part of a two-night special they are running. I don't know that I would pay what was listed without it.

Room Tip: Small place. No elevator so if you hate steps ask for first floor. Since it is all an exterior entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumbygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review of City Loft Hotel. I am so glad that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable and our staff helpful and friendly. I appreciate your comments as we are always trying to improve our services and amenities. As a conservation effort we chose not to tear down an old motor court motel but instead decided to renovate the structure into the modern, beautiful hotel that it is. We are in a prime, very safe location and are walking distance to shopping, the Old Point Historic neighborhood and great restaurants - two of which are on the same corner with us. City Java & News is known for it's freshly roasted beans and we prefer to offer a choice of the highest quality coffee to our guests. We also offer room service delivery of our coffee - whether one cup of drip coffee or a specialty espresso drink - along with a great selection of pastries, 5-Herb Ham & Cheese biscuit, which was featured in Southern Living, and other delicious breakfast selections. So keep that in mind on your next visit and we will deliver our delicious coffee right to your door! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel was a real treat and even better than the boutique hotels I visit in big cities. The interior was great. Loved the king bed and the decor. Best part - the soaking tub. AND there's a TV in the bath so you can soak in the tub and watch the tube. It doesn't get better than that.

Location is perfect - you can walk to everything downtown. And the attached coffee shop is adorable and hits the spot.

Hands down the best spot to stay in downtown Beaufort!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your review of City Loft Hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The tubs are to die for, aren't they? A soak and some tv watching are a great combination. I'm so glad you enjoyed our coffee shop as well. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.4 km away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Property: City Loft Hotel
Address: 301 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 21 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing