We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little 'City' in the Lowcountry”
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Loft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little 'City' in the Lowcountry”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

It was great to find a place that had a hip & urban feel in this South Carolina coastal town. I was traveling alone, so I didn't need a romantic b&b. City Loft was a welcome surprise, and conveniently located in the center of town. My room was stylish and had nice soft sheets. I was especially happy to be able to charge my iPod in the docking station lamp.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    100
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
111
537
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My wife and I drove down to Beaufort for a couple days and stayed at City Loft Hotel. Our entire stay was terrific. The Hotel is situated right in the Heart of Beaufort and besides going to the beach we did not have to crank up the car to go to the best places to eat in town. The Hotel is brand new so it is totally spotless.... Not to mention beautiful both inside and out. The Coffee Shop down stairs "City Java" is terrific. Overall our stay was excellent and we WILL be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Highly recommend a visit to Beaufort's newest hotel. This one is a gem --- a nice retreat in the heart of downtown Beaufort. After enjoying Beaufort's many delights -- historic homes, Waterfront Park, and the beach at nearby Hunting Island -- we retreated to the City Loft Hotel with its spa bath, memory-foam bed, and tastefully decorated room. Staff was attentive and the morning coffee at City Java was excellent. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Many visit Beaufort, SC to celebrate the past, but what if you could have both worlds; a modern well-appointed hotel room just across the street from antebellum estates, fabulous restaurants, and right on the "sets" of "Forest Gump" and "The Big Chill?"

The City Loft Hotel is a 1950s mom and pop motel, beautiful converted to a trendy upscale mom and pop hotel, reminiscent of the Triton in San Francisco. Take a carriage tour in Old Point, and then have a night on the town with the best food between Charleston and Savannah. Stroll along the water front and return to a romantic room with spa baths, memory foam beds, flat screen TVs and even a spot to plug in your Ipod.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowGuides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

City Loft is a welcome addition to the lodging choices in Beaufort. We love to come to Beaufort for weekend getaways and were so excited when this gem of a hotel opened! It has THE most comfortable king beds I have ever found in a hotel and I travel alot. The hotel is located downtown within walking distance to the best restaurants and the park. My husband loved City Fit, the fitness center and also City Java, the coffee shop that delivers incredible coffee to your door in the morning with a copy of your favorite newspaper.
It is unusual to find a hotel of this caliber in such a small town--very "upscale". We were there the first week it was open so there were a few bugs that they needed to work on--the management and staff were very attentive and interested in any feedback we had for them about our stay. For instance, the bathrooms have really nice, deep soaking tubs but no bath oil. They were quick to supply a foam rubber pillow for me when I asked--
We will be returning soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,161 reviews
0.4 km away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
1,003 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Property: City Loft Hotel
Address: 301 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 21 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing