We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Go To Place for Me”
Review of The Dog House

The Dog House
Ranked #25 of 172 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Small roadside restaurant that offers a wide variety of dogs and sausages, shrimp burgers, baskets, po boys, and lobster rolls. Our shrimp burgers, lobster rolls, and salads are our recipe made in house as well as our toppings.
Restaurant details
Description: Small roadside restaurant that offers a wide variety of dogs and sausages, shrimp burgers, baskets, po boys, and lobster rolls. Our shrimp burgers, lobster rolls, and salads are our recipe made in house as well as our toppings.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

I live not too far away and stop in, usually for a dog, on a regular basis. Friendly staff. Excellent hot dogs. Other selections are good too. Always a sliced up undressed dog as a complimentary treat for my best friend, who is an actual dog.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogHouseBeaufort, Owner at The Dog House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you for the great review! We love our canine customers as well as our human customers. We look forward to seeing you and your best friend again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for a quick lunch on the way back to our resort. All sorts of hot dog options. No frills, order at counter, grab a couple of A&W’s and a picnic table outside. Food was brought to us in about 10 minutes.

Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogHouseBeaufort, Owner at The Dog House, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for the nice review! Let us know what would make your next visit a 5 star rating! We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018

Fantastic shrimp burgers. Great dogs and chili. Always get take out because almost no seating inside. Just a little out of town on the way to Hunting Island.

Thank LoveToTravel55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogHouseBeaufort, Owner at The Dog House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Thank you for the great review! Let us know how we can make your next visit a 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Needed to pick up lunch and the Dog House was convenient. Nice selection of dogs and other sausages with a variety of toppings. I settled on a Brat with their Doghouse onions, a spicy tomato based onion sauce. The bun was nice and crusty and the onions complemented the Brat. However the Brat needed “browning” on a flat top or grill to get that charred taste. It actually tasted like it was reheated in a microwave instead of grilled. Nonetheless, I would still order it again. You cannot get a Brat hardly anywhere around Beaufort. Practically no where to sit inside which you need with the summer heat Plenty of seats outside. Service friendly and efficient

Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogHouseBeaufort, Owner at The Dog House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

David,

We are sorry you felt your lunch rated only 3 stars. We do appreciate feedback from our customers and certainly take note and use it as part of our continuous improvement. We do want to let you know that we get our sausages from a local farmer (in Walterboro) and they are fresh and raw. In order to serve them fully cooked we first boil them and bring them up to the proper temperature then we do finish them off on the grill. All of our sausages prior to serving are grilled and certain sausages such as the brats and Italians cannot have the same char as other sausages with thicker casings without bursting and losing their moisture. We are more than happy to accommodate our customer's special request such as more char.

As far as the indoor seating, we cannot do anything about that and are working on a way to make some of our outdoor seating more comfortable during uncomfortable weather conditions.

We hope to see you again soon and would like to make sure your next visit rates a 5.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

Simple, quickly prepared sandwiches, lobster rolls, shrimp burgers, sausages and hot dogs. Very much improved under the new owners.

Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogHouseBeaufort, Owner at The Dog House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Thank you for the review! We appreciate the compliment. Please let us know what we can do to make your next visit be a 5 rating. We value feedback and strive for the best. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dog House also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Dog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing