We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Apple”
Review of The Big Apple

The Big Apple
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Colborne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Little Bit of Country... A Whole Lot of Fun! And everything's about apples! We offer a bakery and pie factory where our famous pies and breads are made right before your eyes - everyday! We offer a cafeteria-style restaurant with paninis, burgers, poutine, pizza, specialty apple items, and more. Gifts, souvenirs and unique market items surround you as you browse our establishment. A fun, whimsical area awaits you where you'll feel 'like a kid in a candy shop' again! Our apple cider brewery offers FREE cider sampling and a wonderful selection of bottled apple-icious cider blends. Outside (weather permitting), you'll find Mr.Applehead, an observatory - and the world's largest apple-shaped structure, in which you can ascend inside to discover breath-taking vistas of surrounding countryside. We also offer a kiddie train-ride, outdoor activities such as mini-golf, ping pong, lawn bowling, animal attractions, and more! Best of all, all these activities are FREE!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We stopped in on our way home and spent a couple hours having fun! Before you reach the building your senses are hit with the smells of fresh baked goods, apple pies a top the aroma list! Once inside you have many options, The Treat Shop, 401 Winery, and The bakery and restraint. Outside there is lots of FREE ACTIVITIES!! Lawn bowling, mining for the kids, mini golf (hard), a mini train, a petting zoo and many more! Definitely making a return trip.

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Public Relations Manager at The Big Apple, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Dave - thank you so much for your recent visit and wonderful review! We are very pleased you took the time to explore everything we have to offer. We try to have something for everyone of all ages. We are thrilled to hear you'll be back for another visit - have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

we stopped on our way home from a seminar and it was great! they have a lot of things to do especially for kids! there is an ice cream shop, chocolate shop, gift shop, cider brewery, and of course.... PIE!!!! you can even watch them make the pies!

Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Public Relations Manager at The Big Apple, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Allison, thank you for your recent visit and lovely review! We are happy you stopped and explored, and enjoyed your visit so much. The FREE outdoor activities - mini-putt, lawn bowling, ping-pong, shuffleboard and apple observatory - are enjoyed by 'kids' of all ages, weather and time permitting. We hope you can visit us again, soon - have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

How many times have you being driving along the 401 and said one day I'll go into the big apple. Probably every time you pass. We finally went in and we're surprised on everything they have to offer besides apples products. The pies are delicious! They have a small zoo when you first pull in. There is a restaurant to grab a bite to eat which you should do before you shop. If you are full you won't be so tempted to buy too much. Lol. They have some neat gift ideas, candies and treats. There are windows over looking the baking area to observe production. We will stop in again.

Thank BigGeorge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Public Relations Manager at The Big Apple, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello and thank you for your recent visit and great review! We are so pleased you finally stopped in and love our pies! Yes, we have so much more to offer than just apple pies, as you discovered. There is something for everyone, of all ages. We look forward to your next visit - have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I was on a coach trip and we spotted here on the way back to the airport . A few things to look at and you can see them making apple pies . apple related produces on sale I was here in Sept 2016

Thank helensims61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Public Relations Manager at The Big Apple, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Helen - thank you for visiting recently and providing a nice review! The bus tours don't usually provide much time to explore, but it sounds like you were able to explore nicely. We hope you can visit us again, soon - have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We have been driving by this location for the past 25 years and this time, we decided to stop for lunch.

The Big Apple is much more than we envisioned. A huge restaurant, a bakery, small zoo and much much more. To bad we didn't have our grandchildren as they would have enjoyed the visit.

We had a basic lunch - hamburger & fries and much admit the meat they used in the hamburger was real meat (unlike some of the larger fast food outlets) and was delicious. I would have bought a loaf of bread and a pie, but we couldn't eat it where we were going. Next time, we will stop and buy fresh baking.

Thank 1greenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Public Relations Manager at The Big Apple, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello and thank you for your recent visit and wonderful review! We are very happy you finally stopped in, enjoyed your meal and exceeded your expectations. The FREE activities are weather (and time) permitting and are enjoyed by all ages. We are glad to hear you'll be back to try some of our famous apple bread - have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Apple also viewed

 

Been to The Big Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing