We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect property...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Absolutely incredible getaway, on an amazing property with such rich history. From the moment we drove onto the premises and were greeted warmly at the gate by the attendant, until we left three days later, nothing could have been done better.

At the gate, the attendant gave us a CD to listen to on the four mile drive into the property. The audio commentary provided a perfect introduction to the philosophy surrounding the property's development plan.

As we pulled up to the Inn, we were surprised by the "Welcome to the Inn, Mr. and Mrs. Whistman." How did they know it was US?! Oh, the gate attendant called ahead, describing our vehicle and giving our name. THAT was a classy touch.

A beautifully appointed cottage with a view of the May River, with fireplace already lit and chilled champagne waiting, was our lodging for the stay. A bellboy took us and our bags by electric cart to the location, and gave us a VERY thorough tour of the amenities of the room, down to where light switches for each feature was located. An electric golf cart and two nice bicycles were also staged outside our cottage for our exclusive use during our stay.

We loved the immaculately groomed property,with its isolation from the main road (with the four mile drive into the property down tree-lined paved driveways surrounded by meadows, golf courses and woods). The fact that no gas powered vehicles are used off the main roads adds to the peaceful tranquility of this amazing resort--bicycles, people walking, or quiet electric carts get you around.

We did dine at two of the locations--The Canoe Club for dinner, and Buffalos for breafast. Both continued the same high level of service and quality we experienced elsewhere on the resort.

Fire pits, lit each night outside the main Inn, overlooking the river and boat dock, with seating around them, were a wonderful way to end the night. This was made better only by the fact that the resort also provides long sticks, marshmallows, graham crackers and a very high quality milk chocolate square for making s'mores. The area is so dark at night, you can see every star.

We went off property for dinner one night, and took advantage of the resort's relationship with Mercedes-Benz; just call the concierge and if a car is available, you can take a nice new Mercedes for FREE off property. We went to Richard's Pour House in Bluffton for our anniversary dinner--also a wonderful and energetic location with amazing food.

We'll definitely be back--my wife and I both agreed that this resort was the most amazing location we've visited in the U.S. It's not cheap, but we took advantage of a winter special and it's definitely true--"you get what you pay for." Prepare to be pampered at this resort!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the Inn; ask for a river view cottage for the most amazing vacation you'll ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXPilot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just returned after a blissful 4 nights at the Inn at PB. The Inn was an easy 40 minute drive from Savanna airport and the 4 mile drive down the private road just heightened our anticipation! We were not disappointed- the private tree lined road opens up into the delightful village square, bang on the May river. The Inn itself is on the square across the ruins that you can see on the resort website. Our car was valet-ed and not needed till we departed. Our cottage was not ready when we arrived, so we had lunch at the May River golf grill. It was good..very reasonably priced and a killer view of the 18th hole.

Once our cottage was ready- wow!! Cannot agree more with other reviewers…it was even better than the pictures on the website. Although our river view was not as direct as some others..it was amazing! The river and the pine forest combined make a landscape that is postcard perfect everywhere one looks. The bedroom was huge, and stocked with complimentary waters, snacks and iced teas. We used the covered porch for room service breakfast each morning, and it made for an extremely relaxing start of the day. The bathroom was probably my favorite part of the cottage- right out of a Southern home design magazine! The steam shower was addicting. I will say, I thought for the time of year, I felt there was more wildlife activity on the lagoon than the river. I guess we were not up early enough to catch the dolphins, but we always saw some kind of cool bird or turtle in the lagoons by just walking past.

We had booked 2 Winter Wonderland packages for a total for 4 nights and I cannot recommend it enough! It included breakfast at Buffaloes everyday (we ate there once, and did room service all other days from the same menu to get some extra ZZss), 2 dinners (we did Canoe club one night and River house another), 2 activities per person (we did 2 massages each at the amazing Spa). The only thing we had to pay for was alcohol and gratuities. The other nights we did the New Years Eve dinner at the River house and room service from the Canoe club. The River house is very traditional in terms of styling and food; Canoe club was a little more our style, more contemporary all around. The Canoe club also has fantastic views of the River from the balcony , a perfect spot to grab a few cocktails prior to dinner. Buffaloes breakfast was good- a little slow in service, but that is just the pace of the relaxed Southern life, which we slipped into after a few days.

The crowning glory of the Inn is hands down the natural beauty, and the excellent manner in which the developer has enhanced it with the Inn and the entire resort/homes. As you can see from the website, the Inn is just one part of the 20k acre development that offers luxury homes and amenities such as the golf course, equestrian center, boat storage etc and even the cutest little convenience store where you can buy all the essentials like wine, champagne or cheese! All thru our stay, we interacted with ‘members’, the owners of the homes, be it at the fire pits each night or at the restaurants. That is absolutely the way to go- have a house there! Depending on where the house is located, it can also be part of the Inn’s rental program and are listed on the website. We definitely plan of taking our family back and renting a house..some of the ones we saw had amazing porches with outdoor fireplaces overlooking the lagoon or river. We also had a golf cart along with the usual bikes each cottage receives- so much fun to drive around the entire resort in your own golf cart. It was especially useful during the chilly nights, when walking to and from dinner was not very appealing. The bikes were just as you can imagine- liberating! For city folks like us, it was just so delightful to bike around the resort..you have to take a ride down to Moreland, a little picnic spot about 3 miles from the Inn. Be sure to get a picnic lunch packed from Buffaloes and some chilled wine! The bike ride itself is like out of a movie. During our stay the weather was great- mid 60s, a long sleeve shirt+ light vest and jeans more than enough for day time excursions.

Another aspect of the resort that separates it from other US five star properties- the senior management is very involved and engaged. From the GM – Marty, to David- director of guest services, Brett- reservations manager, all were genuinely concerned with making our trip as relaxing as can be. It was especially thoughtful given the resort was at 100% occupancy and am sure they had a lot on their plate. The concierges- Pat and Rick, were both very interactive from the time I made the reservation, till the very end giving us directions to the airport. Like all Auberge properties, PB also has the deal with Benz where you can borrow one of the Resort Mercedes and drive around to wherever you like. Just make sure to reserve the Benz of your choice before hand with the concierge. We tested one of the S class hybrids with a lunch trip to Savannah..not bad, a few hours at the most are more than enough..we couldn’t wait to get back to the resort!

I would also recommend bringing a few bottles of your favorite wines..they are extremely handy to sip on your porch or even bring to the fire pits at night to accompany the smores. The room bar does offer the Inn’s own Napa cab, which was excellent too.

In summary, the Inn at Palmetto Bluff and the entire property is truly a fairy tale come to life! Especially for city folks, this place will just completely relax you and take you away from the crazy stress of everyday life. And at only a 2hr flight from the East coast, you cannot beat the value or convenience- enjoy Palmetto Bluff!

Room Tip: Lagoon views seemed to have more wildlife activity during this time of the year. If you are an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveLuxuryHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We just finished our second stay at Palmetto Bluff and it remains our favorite destination on the East Coast (and, really, any place other than West Coast and island destinations that are too different to compare). The grounds are stunning, the cottages so large and comfortable that you just want to move in forever, the activities endless (so much more than just golf; check out the outfitters and get on the water if you really want to understand the beauty of the place) and the sense of space and ability to spread out and never really feel cramped unique. But what really makes the place is the staff. It is just extraordinary how genuinely nice and helpful all of them are, these are people you want as friends in your life and not just functionaries. Folks like these can be hard to find in relatively remote areas and Palmetto Bluff has clearly found the best, make them happy and kept them around for years. That says alot about the priorities of the owners and the emphasis they place on a top-notch property. I could go on but we will be back yet again and tell everyone we know about this. It is a ten hour drive for us and worth every minute to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Truly amazing and relaxed experience!!! Perfect getaway with so much to offer! Little touches and friendly service make all the difference.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tvogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The food at Buffalo's is very good. You can eat inside or outside. It's a popular place because it's so good. The wait staff are very good and highly trained. After eating, I recommend strolling around the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshineandseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

An absolute pleasure from start to finish. The pictures really don't do the rooms justice. Complete luxury and the entire resort is just so quaint and lovely. We were charmed by the bicycles parked outside our cottage. One tiny nit: bring your own shampoo. The Inn's shampoo is like shower gel, absolutely awful! Have the chocolate cake concoction at The Canoe Club!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I first visited Palmetto Bluff in 2008. My fiancé (at the time) and I fell in love with it so much that we decided to get married there a year later. We had our choice of anywhere in the world to get married and we chose Palmetto Bluff.
The ambience is magical. It is the only way to describe it. We are from NY and are big travelers. We can honestly say that there is no place in the world like The Inn at Palmetto Bluff. We have gone back every year since our wedding to relive the magic of this place. The accommodations are lush and perfectly detailed. The food is five-star and the service can't be beat.
Make sure you experience the smores by the fire pits at dusk.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. They are all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremydpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
10.4 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
12 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton,  Bluffton-Sun City
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
12.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head
7.7 km away
Comfort Suites Bluffton
Comfort Suites Bluffton
#5 of 6 in Bluffton
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Address: 477 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-8344 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range: $468 - $873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the resort has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 6 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing