We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is my 3rd visit to this hotel. The front desk staff has always been accommodating and pleasant. There was only one glitch. Their guest services computer was not working so I had to go into thwir back office (really messy...LOL) to print my boarding passes. However, they were nice enough to let me do so.

Room Tip: Corner rooms furtherst away from elevators have the best views and are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragoness1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    285
    140
    64
    42
See reviews for
196
302
30
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is an older, but recently refurbished hotel, so expect a quirky, but spacious layout. We had a two room king suite on the fourth floor. It was very quiet despite the hotel being fully occupied. We thoroughly enjoyed the view of the marina on the Ashley River. The staff was very pleasant and responsive to our requests.

One morning during our four night stay there was no hot water! Later in the day we received an apology letter from the manager. That morning we opted to have breakfast in the hotel in hope that the water problem would be remedied while we ate. Breakfast was a bigger disappointment than the lack of hot water! It was a typical elbow to elbow buffet that was poorly maintained with very average faire. For example, the donuts had obviously been frozen. Breakfast is offered on dishes instead of paper or foam plates, but that hardly offset the $9.00 per person charge. Given the plethora of wonderful restaurants on the Charleston peninsula, eating elsewhere is a very desirable option.

All in all we were pleased with this hotel principally because of its location, but cannot indorse it. We probably will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3peripatetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYteamLeader, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for this important review. We did not expect a mechanical problem with our boiler that morning and are thankful the hot water was back on by 9:45am that same morning. Rest assured the unit that caused the disruption has been replaced and should provide worry free service for many years to come. I made comments about those donuts myself before this review and can assure all that we no longer offer a brand that our food provider subsituted that day. The water views are incredible here and the sunsets are breathtaking! Our staff wants everyone to have a worry free stay so they can relax and enjoy the real reasons they come to Charleton. We hope we have the opportunity to demonstrate that to you, the review readers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

As a platinum member, I spend more than 100 nights per year in Marriott properties. I have never checked out early to change hotels before. It was necessary on this trip. Service was horrible. When I spoke to the front desk supervisor about my concerns, she didn't care. I would never recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rclclmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYteamLeader, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We thank him for taking the time to share his first trip advisor review with everyone. While this reviewer was not specific in sharing the concern, we are aware of the challenge based on his actions before departure. We apologize for the frustration this Platinum Rewards Member experienced when he learned that he must pay for his family of four's full hot breakfast each morning at $10 each. The Courtyard Brand charges for a hot breakfast buffet and cooked to order specialties. Allowing him $120 worth of free breakfast does not help our brand when they travel to the next Courtyard expecting the same thing. Residence Inn, Springhill Suites and Fairfield Inn all offer a limited free breakfast and may of suited his needs better for his stay here in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The property is located on the river and close to Calhoun St/MUSC area. Upon arrival /check-in was met by friendly hostess and asked if we wanted glass of wine but within minutes was told the wine was gone...it still would've been nice to be offered some type of beverage (i.e water) but that did not happen. Staff at hotel was friendly but "clueless" and not very knowledgable or accurate with details re: shuttle service to/from CRBR or any other questions about the area (i.e dining). Cost of rooms were pricey for accomodations and not worth the price. Problems with making reservations and with getting resolution to billing issue.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexiaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYteamLeader, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We thank you for sharing this experience while attending the recent special event, the Cooper River Bridge Run. We are greatful that she highlighted that our staff was indeed friendly. This annual event sold out with 40,000 runners. Just about every runner brings additional guests who are not partisipating in the race. All of the attendee's check in on one day, the same day she arrived. We did have a greeter passing out champagne and treats upon arrival. We are sorry that we may have poured the last glass as she arrived. Our Concierge was on duty on her arrival date and was here at 5:00am bridge run day passing out grab and go breakfasts and assisting guests with any need the had. Dining was a challenge as most restaurants were already sold out. Our staff has many dining options to offer however if there is no restaurant taking reservations, we may appear not to be aware of good spots to dine. We also agree that the shuttle had difficulty, as everyone car did with 50,000 people trying to get their race packets at one destination in the center of the city. Our hotel offered a direct shuttle from the hotel to the start line for a small fee. The shuttle service was selling tickets all day Friday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We loved Melvina in the dining room for breakfast...she took great care of us! We checked in before start of a great American Cruise line cruise and met great couple while catching up on laundry! Ok room, but handicap did not have view of the water. It is an awkward layout, with elevator up to check in, then hike to room. Elevators slow. There was a lot of spring wedding activity, so lots of people enjoying the huge gorgeous deck, looked like with their own libations and snacks. We did not have a car, so we had to take cab everywhere...hard to use shuttle with wheelchair. Staff was nice, a little distracted by all of the people coming and going. We would go back if we had car, now that we are familiar with area. Breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Wheelchair accessible: it was an ok room, but location made it hard to "stroll" anywhere o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsiescollect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

About a mile from hospital. Stayed the night before my mom's early am surgery. Upscale Marriortt Courtyard. Very nice deck area facing water. Lobby entrance a little different, but good signage to entrance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYteamLeader, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback! We are the closest hotel to the Medical University and we offer our patients families complimentary shuttle service to and from that location. All of here wish your mom the best in her recovery and we look forward to her follow-up visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Location on river is nice especially while having breakfast on the patio. Housekeeping service was clean enough but careless First day no hair dryer, second day they did not provide hand towels and wash cloths or clean glasses even though the prior ones were removed.

All 3 nights next door guests partied loudly very late--till 2 am on Sunday (or should i say Monday!). Maybe because it was St Patrick's Day weekend, but there was a lot of noise and rude guests shouting in the hallways after midnight. And since we were fairly close to the front desk, they couldn't have missed it. I should have complained while there but didn't. So my bad i guess.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catbert121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYteamLeader, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for sharing the valuable comments regarding two new Room Attendants who were in training during your stay. We have shown their Manager and Inspectors the comments to assure they complete the task assigned. We have as the reviewer may know, a full crew here in the evenings to bring extra items or handle an item missed.

We do have guests or groups who may get loud from time to time as with many establishments. We wished this disturbance was reported to our on Staff Security and Night Supervisor. We could of delt with the disruption right away and may of prevented this from happening the following 2 nights if it was a case of a noisy neighbor. No other concern of noise was reported St. Patricks day weekend by others. We encourage our guests to notify us while they are here of any concerns. Please allow us the chance to make things right during your stay, rather than apologize to you here after the fact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing