We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was my first visit to Charleston, and it was amazing! This hotel is in a great location and the rooms are wonderful. Their staff is great. They even arranged my airport pickup with Omega Transportation! I love the city of Charleston.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District. We are glad you enjoyed to prime location in the market area only steps away from great restaurants and wonderful landmarks. Our staff is second to none and always try to go above and beyond for our guests. We look forward to seeing you on another trip to Charleston soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    726
    316
    131
    51
See reviews for
525
831
60
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The location can't be beat. You can walk to anything. I would say the hotel itself is average. The staff is really nice and helpful. I was upgraded and the room was nice. I heard the other rooms were small. The room set up is nice if you have kids since each room is a suite. The room I was in did not have a patio or outside area which is something I usually really like. I would stay there again if I got a good deal on the room.

I do recommend Hank's for dinner, the shrimp cocktail was amazing and they had a great wine list.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston Historic District. Our convenient location to this charming city is a great reason to stay with us. Hank's is our favorite restaurant also! Great recommendation! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I am a Hilton Honors Gold member and have stayed at Doubletree properties all over the country. This property is below average when compared to other Doubletree Hotels. For the money, you could get more at other hotels located within a block or two of this property. For example, this hotel has no real bar/lounge. They set up nightly in the breakfast bar which also serves as their restaurant. Think Hampton Inn and you get the picture. No pool, no pay per view.... Rooms are dated. Best thing is the location without a doubt. If you don't mind paying more for a hotel that offers few if any amenities, then you will not be terribly disappointed w/ this property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamala63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Our convenient location to restaurants and the market is a great reason to stay with us! Due to our historic location we do not have room for a pool, but we do have a very nice courtyard for guests to enjoy. Please consider us next time you stay in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A clean, well decorated suite in a fabulous location was the perfect place to stay in Charleston. Our two story suite provided a great opportunity for a couple to be able to have different schedules without disturbing one another. It was great. I only wish there had been a powder room on the living room level. However, you would think with no neighbors above or below that it would have been quieter. We could hear children crying and each time someone took a shower. Oh well....you can't have it all. I would still return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CollinsRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District. We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location in the Historic District, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just had one overnight at the Doubletree. The staff were very helpful with directions and cleaned the room well. The bed, although a little hard, had very comfortable sheets. Bathroom had plenty of room and soft towels. The AC was pretty noisy.... it sounded like a birds nest that was behind the wall (Room 207). I was there for a meeting and the food served with the meeting was great. The hotel is very well located to fine restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to all of the great attractions and restaurants in the area. Thank you for the feedback regarding the A/C unit, and we will work to improve the imperfections. We look forward to your return visit to Charleston and the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a suite. It was clean and roomey. The front desk was helpful with directions and suggestions. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The gym was simple but adequate. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAJFJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently for a small business convention. It is located near the antique shops and boutique clothing stores. It is near good restaurants also. The suite was very small and two story. Although there is no one above you, the walls are thin and I could hear the neighbors quite audibly. The manager assured us that he had upgraded us to one of their finest suites (due to a snafu on their part that had resulted in us paying a lot more money for the room). If that courtyard suite was one of their finest rooms, stay elsewhere. The tiny living room had shutters that blocked the view of numerous passerby from looking in the windows but they did not block the noise. The center courtyard is used for many business functions, primarily meals which results in much commotion and very audible talking. The tiny bedroom upstairs (which did contain a king) also contained a sink that was in the bedroom (European-pensione style) and a toilet and shower squeezed in another tiny room. The non-existant closet had about 12 inches of hanging space due to its size and a giant duct running through it. Because the bedroom was on the second floor, one had to drag their suitcase up the narrow stairway. The carpet was stained but the furnishings and bedding were fine. The staff, especially housekeeping, was helpful. Megan, the receptionist/concierge, booked tables for us in the evenings. However, she neglected to cancel one reservation that I specifically asked her to do for us. The staff was not particularly knowledgible about the attractions of Charleston which was disappointing. They tried to help but clearly were fairly ignorant. My husband stayed on business but I had tagged along for a "romantic getaway." Couples should not come here unless they plan to spend the majority of their time outside the very cramped and loud quarters. Also, for me, having a fully contained bathroom is a major plus. The arrival situation is not so good either. The hotel entrance is located on a busy but na.rrow street with street parking along side the entrance. If you are arriving when others are (off of the same plane), it gets incredibly congested. The next door seafood restaurant, I think it was called Jake's, is fantastic! Try the shrimp and grits. Also check out Golden & Associates on King Street, their antiques are unbelievable. The proprietor has been in business for many, many years and I could not believe the collection he has amassed. Their 3 venues are right next to each other. A good restaurant during the day is Slightly North of Broad. I had a fabulous lunch there while shopping. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Don't stay in a courtyard suite that is 2 story. Don't book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We appreicate the feedback that will allow us to constantly improve our services and amenities. We strive to continue to improve and show our best side to all of our guests. We appreciate the compliment on "Hank's Seafood Restaurant" and glad you enjoyed the hotels convenient location. We hope that you will consider us next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing