We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Park, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were meeting our daughter who was coming in from CA for a business conference. We spent 4 nights and she came to stay at our hotel upon completion of her conference and we had a wonderful time. The hotel has a set up for breakfast which is not included in the hotel room charge and also no restaurant for dinner; which we were very disappointed about. They did recommend a restaurant within a short distance from the hotel, Hank's, which is owned by the owner of the hotel, but has very good food and very good service. But, we were disappointed that there was no restaurant within the hotel. Services within the hotel were very good and we would make a return trip, but would rather have something not quite so althogether expensive. Carriage rides were terrific!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you had a wonderful time with your daughter in our historic city. Unfortunately, being in the heart of the historic district, and a historic hotel our setup does not allow us the space for a restaurant. We are thrilled you enjoyed Hank's Seafood and Restaurant as it is one of the top seafood restaurants in the city. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    715
    310
    128
    49
See reviews for
507
823
59
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Could not have asked for a better location. Right next door to the market and mere blocks from everything else. We walked everywhere after parking our car with the valet. Everyone was friendly. Room not ready when we arrived after check-in time, but was ready within minutes after being informed of this. We stayed up on the 5th floor and street noise (late at night) could still be heard. Turn the a/c fan to "on" instead of auto to try and drown out the sporadic celebrations. No noise within the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially the valets/bellhops. The elevators are always busy, for they seem to be shared by both housekeeping and guests, whereas newer hotels have designated elevators. Reading reviews before we arrived, people had complained of having the sink area outside of the bathroom...I actually preferred this for it expedited our mornings and kept the humidity confined to the shower room!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimshe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the DoubleeTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston Historic District and sharing your experience at our hotel. It certainly sounds like you took advantage of our location and got to see a lot of the area. Hopefully, if there is anything you missed you will choose us on a return trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our hotel room had an upstairs area where there were two beds. They were very comfortable. Our son stayed on the pull-out couch downstairs since he had a cold. Whenever we needed information, people were very welcoming and helpful from telling us great places to eat, to booking interesting places to visit. We had a fridge and sink area which was very useful while we were travelling. Being in the historic area, we got to walk to the market, to the carriage tour, restaurant and stores which was very convenient.

Room Tip: We did not reserve a room but just showed up and they reduced the price of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy you were able to stay with us and at a great rate too! We strive to provide superior service, and excellent recommendations. We hope your son is feeling better, and it did not limit his fun in Charleston! We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Spent four nights in two room suite and as a gold member enjoyed complimentary breakfast tor two. Breakfast has a decent selection; the muffins are excellent and the wait staff very friendly. There is a bar set up every evening where you can enjoy beer or wine in the courtyard for a reasonable price. Location is great, staff very nice and room was very good, although the bathroom is small. Yes, there is a charge for parking, but that is the norm in downtown Charleston. We enjoyed this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston Historic District. We are glad the hotel was to your liking. We are proud to offer great customer service and try to make every guest a part of our family. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I am currently staying at the Doubletree and wanted to give my feedback. This is a very nice hotel. The staff is excellent and very helpful. The rooms are clean and the location cannot be beat. There is no pool at this hotel and to be honest, we havent missed it on this trip with 2 young children. I do want to give some feedback and I hope the Doubletree Management Team reads this review. The rooms need a facelift. the furniture is dated and worn. I am a Hilton Diamond member and I stay in many Doubletree's. It is time for a renovation in the rooms. That is my only complaint and this would not stop me from staying here again in the near future. I would recommend this hotel because of the staff, cleanliness and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Thank you for the compliment regarding our staff. We strive to provide the utmost in customer service, and cleanliness. The location is superior, since we are steps away from historical landmarks, the historic market and excellent restaurants. We are in the process of updating the interior of the hotel, and hope you will return on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is in a prime location in Charleston. Very convenient for walking the historic district. The prices are very high for the amenities that you get. They have no free internet service, offer no complimentary breakfast, and charge $22 per day for parking. Be sure to take lots of money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston Historic District. Our location in this charming city allows guests to take advantage of our convenient location to all of the great attractions and restaurant in the area. As a HHonors member, guests do enjoy free internet and breakfast. We hope to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

There were 3 of us staying in a 2-room suite which was perfect - 2 double beds in one room and a pull-out sofa bed in the other. The sink was located outside the bathroom which was great!

Location ~ Location ~ Location -- Did I mention that the location was excellent?!

Each and every staff member was very courteous and helpful, sometimes going the extra bit -- a small example: The lobby restaurant was closed and workers were cleaning up. I went in to ask if possible to get a little milk for the room for coffee … The woman I asked immediately stopped what she was doing, went to the back and came out with a small pitcher of milk - all with a smile. It’s these type of things that make a stay enjoyable!

Would not hesitate to recommend and/or stay here again!

Room Tip: room facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenSak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston Historic District. We are happy the accommodations were to your liking. We strive to provide the special comforts and acts of kindness that make our guests feel at home. Thank you for the compliment regarding our staff. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing