We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Indigo Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Market Street Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ansonborough Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,703)
Filter reviews
1,703 results
Traveller rating
1,021
430
157
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
430
157
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop breakfastgreat locationtownhouse suitecookieswine and cheesewithin walking distancehistoric districtvalet parkingbreakfast is servedfourth floorrooftop deckchurch streetmain buildingstreet noisemorning breakfastboutique hotelyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,340 - 1,345 of 1,703 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here on our anniversary and loved it. It's a great little boutique hotel that has wonderful charm. Location is fantastic as it is in walking distance/bike taxi of many of the wonderful restaurants and shops Charleston has to offer. Also only 2 blocks from the market. As far as the room, we were put in the first street level room across the street. The room was charming but was a bit to loud for our taste as it was right next to an exit door (out to the street) and the ice maker was right outside in the hall. When I mentioned the noise to the manager at the desk the next day he ended up knocking down my room rate to a discounted rate and then moved us the next night to one of the townhouse suites for no extra charge. That is great service and when we visit Charleston again we will look at the Pinckney Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn for two nights and were generally really pleased. Great location a couple of blocks north of the Market at the quiet corner of Pinckney and Church Streets. The service was friendly and professional; the 4th floor shaded terrace was a delight for both afternoon wine and morning breakfast. On site parking ( $15 a night, typical of Charleston) seemed safer than most inn parking lots. The "extended" Continental Breakfast" was for real--fruit, eggs, and croissants in addition to the usual stuff. It wasn't perfect--bathrooms were really small and the shower lacked a grab bar--but for price, location, quiet, and service, we will return here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy_bainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family had stayed at the sister property French Quarter Inn and was referred to the Andrew Pinckney Inn as an alternate for a one night stay. Knowing they were sister properties I expected similar experiences, however this was far from the case.

The reception/check-in clerk was not friendly and basically pointed across the street to where the room building was located, then proceeded to point down the street to the Bank of America parking garage they use. All the while she never got out of her seat at the desk.

(There is no VALET!!!) although they do charge for parking.

God bless you if it was rainy, etc as there was not place to get off of the busy road to unpack your vehicle and get into the building. I asked about how do people manage to unload and all she offered was that there was a cart outside.

Beware the website has limited pictures and there is a reason. The "lobby" looking room that is shown on the web is only as large as the picture shows. The room pictures shown on the website are not the typical rooms and must be one of the few upgraded rooms available.

Our room we were assigned for 4 guest was smaller than the typical "motel" hotel room, the fold out sleeper sofa we were going to use was pushed up against the foot of the bed, and when opened would require you to shimmy between it and the wall to get around.

After the reception we received and the appearance of the room, we left and canceled our reservation. There are far too many options in Charleston to spend time at a place that does not go out of there way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: I guess you have to pay for the Suites or you are going to receive a small room with a nice view of some Air Conditioners.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kiawah_Regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband & I travel to Charleston frequently. One of the Best Spots in the world. We have walked past this Inn 100's of times but have never stayed there. It is now our "favorite" place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room (townhouse suite) was spacious and comfortable. Fantastic views from our private balcony and the terrace were we ate breakfast. The staff at breakfast was kind and very accommodating. Perfect location to all the best restaurants, shops, market & waterfront park. We will return very soon.

Room Tip: Our suite was on the front of the Inn...a little traffic noise..but was just fine later at night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Three couples shared a private three bedroom area over the main lobby of the hotel. The
rooms had been restored and redecorated in an attractive decor. The only drawback was
no elevator to get to these three rooms that had a private entrance. The access was a
steep flight of stairs. The hotel provided a valet to carry luggage up to our room. There
was a fabulous welcome basket awaiting our arrival with outstanding Charleston food
items. The staff was friendly and helpful in helping our group attain the best buggy tour,
bike taxis and a private mini-van to take our party to the various locations that we wanted
to visit. The rooftop breakfast was across the street in the second building that the hotel
owns with an elevator, modern rooms and the breakfast buffet. We enjoyed the morning
view of Charleston residential living from the rooftop. We also could see the cruise ships
in the harbor arriving or departing. In conversation with some of the partakers of breakfast
one morning, it was apparent that these people were spending the night at the Pickney
before a cruise departure. We would stay again and use the building with the elevator.

Room Tip: Elevator is in the building across from the lobby. Parking is $15 a day and is a short walk. Would choose to stay in the building with the elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews