We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Basics are missing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
newark, delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Basics are missing”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great Location. Very friendly, accommodating staff....but the basics are missing. Simply put, you can't pick up the phone in the room you are paying for, and reach someone at the hotel. Call and you get a machine. Seriously. Ask for a 1 or 2 page list of recommended restaurants or locations & you're pointed to the 50 page book of hotels with menus.....Valet Parking ? Not here my friends. Breakfast was below average. Bagels, Cereal, Hard Boiled Eggs....I mean couldn't the place spring for Bacon, Sausage , or at least Scrambled Eggs ? Strongly recommend you not stay at this place if you can't get a room in the "main" hotel, the one where the lobby is...otherwise you are kind of like the unwanted step child. Air conditioner, heater units reminded me of a college dorm room....and worked like it too :(

On the plus side, the location is terrific. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean. Rooftop seating was great.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, or on the 4th floor in the other one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francoisdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    380
    136
    55
    36
See reviews for
268
826
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here on our anniversary and loved it. It's a great little boutique hotel that has wonderful charm. Location is fantastic as it is in walking distance/bike taxi of many of the wonderful restaurants and shops Charleston has to offer. Also only 2 blocks from the market. As far as the room, we were put in the first street level room across the street. The room was charming but was a bit to loud for our taste as it was right next to an exit door (out to the street) and the ice maker was right outside in the hall. When I mentioned the noise to the manager at the desk the next day he ended up knocking down my room rate to a discounted rate and then moved us the next night to one of the townhouse suites for no extra charge. That is great service and when we visit Charleston again we will look at the Pinckney Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn for two nights and were generally really pleased. Great location a couple of blocks north of the Market at the quiet corner of Pinckney and Church Streets. The service was friendly and professional; the 4th floor shaded terrace was a delight for both afternoon wine and morning breakfast. On site parking ( $15 a night, typical of Charleston) seemed safer than most inn parking lots. The "extended" Continental Breakfast" was for real--fruit, eggs, and croissants in addition to the usual stuff. It wasn't perfect--bathrooms were really small and the shower lacked a grab bar--but for price, location, quiet, and service, we will return here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy_bainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family had stayed at the sister property French Quarter Inn and was referred to the Andrew Pinckney Inn as an alternate for a one night stay. Knowing they were sister properties I expected similar experiences, however this was far from the case.

The reception/check-in clerk was not friendly and basically pointed across the street to where the room building was located, then proceeded to point down the street to the Bank of America parking garage they use. All the while she never got out of her seat at the desk.

(There is no VALET!!!) although they do charge for parking.

God bless you if it was rainy, etc as there was not place to get off of the busy road to unpack your vehicle and get into the building. I asked about how do people manage to unload and all she offered was that there was a cart outside.

Beware the website has limited pictures and there is a reason. The "lobby" looking room that is shown on the web is only as large as the picture shows. The room pictures shown on the website are not the typical rooms and must be one of the few upgraded rooms available.

Our room we were assigned for 4 guest was smaller than the typical "motel" hotel room, the fold out sleeper sofa we were going to use was pushed up against the foot of the bed, and when opened would require you to shimmy between it and the wall to get around.

After the reception we received and the appearance of the room, we left and canceled our reservation. There are far too many options in Charleston to spend time at a place that does not go out of there way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: I guess you have to pay for the Suites or you are going to receive a small room with a nice view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiawah_Regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband & I travel to Charleston frequently. One of the Best Spots in the world. We have walked past this Inn 100's of times but have never stayed there. It is now our "favorite" place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room (townhouse suite) was spacious and comfortable. Fantastic views from our private balcony and the terrace were we ate breakfast. The staff at breakfast was kind and very accommodating. Perfect location to all the best restaurants, shops, market & waterfront park. We will return very soon.

Room Tip: Our suite was on the front of the Inn...a little traffic noise..but was just fine later at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supply, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Three couples shared a private three bedroom area over the main lobby of the hotel. The
rooms had been restored and redecorated in an attractive decor. The only drawback was
no elevator to get to these three rooms that had a private entrance. The access was a
steep flight of stairs. The hotel provided a valet to carry luggage up to our room. There
was a fabulous welcome basket awaiting our arrival with outstanding Charleston food
items. The staff was friendly and helpful in helping our group attain the best buggy tour,
bike taxis and a private mini-van to take our party to the various locations that we wanted
to visit. The rooftop breakfast was across the street in the second building that the hotel
owns with an elevator, modern rooms and the breakfast buffet. We enjoyed the morning
view of Charleston residential living from the rooftop. We also could see the cruise ships
in the harbor arriving or departing. In conversation with some of the partakers of breakfast
one morning, it was apparent that these people were spending the night at the Pickney
before a cruise departure. We would stay again and use the building with the elevator.

Room Tip: Elevator is in the building across from the lobby. Parking is $15 a day and is a short walk. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nice property, friendly staff, location could not be more convenient!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing