We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality, writ large”
Review of Ashley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashley Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I had an outstanding stay at the Ashley Inn last weekend. The house was beautifully appointed, and Jan and Pam were gracious and welcoming. The room was smaller in reality than it looked in the pictures, but was still quite comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, as was the coffee. I was in town visiting my brother, a college student, who was welcomed to join us for breakfast each morning. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EilyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

After reading the reviews on this site, I was looking forward to a history lesson with Barry, the owner... Must have been his day off unfortunately! We received an upgrade in our room as they were not booked out which was nice. Our room was comfortable with a small but adequate bathroom. Unlike most B+B/Inn type accommodation, this one has staff rather than owners, which made it feel less personal and more like a very small hotel! Perhaps good for people uncomfortable with the idea of staying in a B+B. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful with directions and advice on how to get around. We walked all around Charleston, downtown and back with no issues. We had a nice breakfast and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelldashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

What a charming and cozy bed and breakfast! Our room was clean and beautifully decorated, the breakfast was delicious, and Jan was extremely friendly and helpful! Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This was my husband's and my first experience at a B&B, and we were not disappointed! To the contrary, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The inn is cozy and comfortable, decorated in an elegant style without being over the top. It reminded me of my grandmother's house, which was grand without being "grandiose". There are a few areas in need of some tlc and repair - but nothing that would stop us from returning, by any means. However, that's my only reason for not ranking as "excellent". Breakfast was absolutely delicious, with plentiful hot coffee and juice. Don't hesitate to try the Ashley Inn. You will love it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosebud46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at the Ashley Inn this past weekend and Jan made sure that my family was comfortable. I highly recommend this B&B, the rooms are very beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was our first trip to Charleston, but not our last. When we return, we will definitely make the Ashley Inn our short-term home, preferably Room 1, again! What a comfortable bed! The staff was very friendly and warm, without being unctious. In fact, one member of the staff, Tanisha, even made dinner reservations for us at one of the local restaurants. The Inn manager, Jan, made excellent suggestions of things to do & see during our visit and arranged our bus tour.The highlight was the breakfast each morning, followed by the afternoon snack of nuts, crackers, cheese & wine. We were there a full week and I can honestly say that there wasn't another place that we'd have rather stayed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the main floor and the only room on that floor. It is next to the kitchen, however, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGuru3567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We LOVE staying at the Ashley Inn and its sister property the Cannonboro! They are charming turn-of-the-century beauties with large, beautiful rooms and gorgeous spacious porches. We've stayed at these properties six times since our first visit in September of 2010. The carriage house has recently been renovated and the Ashley was closed earlier in the year for renovations.

The staff are genuinely kind, friendly people and cheerfully accomodate guest requests. They are knowledgeable about where to eat and what to see. The owner, Barry Carroll, is just a walking history book, full of Charleston stories. It's a pleasure to listen to him spin a tale. His love of his city is obvious and his stories are captivating. (Yesterday morning a guest was talking about his interest in the Civil War and Barry appeared with a transcript of a touching letter written by a soldier to his wife a week before he was killed in battle. Barry's desire to enhance our Charleston experience was obvious.)

It began raining out in the late afternoon and there was a spontaneous party as all the guests came back to the Ashley! We stayed down in the dining room, sipping wine, having bits of delicious homemade fudge and swapping travel stories. To me, that's what a B&B experience is all about - meeting interesting people and sharing tales of our lives.

Breakfasts are always delish, there is parking (in a town where parking is at a premium), the inn has bicycles you can borrow, you can walk to eateries (the exellent Hominy Grill is just a couple blocks away and you can catch the free trolley right out front of it) and we cannot say enough good things about the staff.

If you like visiting historic houses, you will enjoy your stay at the Ashley Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
708 reviews
Cannonboro Inn
#13 of 39 in Charleston
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 39 in Charleston
222 reviews
The Meeting Street Inn
#8 of 39 in Charleston
799 reviews
The Governor's House Inn
#2 of 39 in Charleston
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Address: 201 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5810
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $177 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic inn (C. 1832) Located in the residential historic area of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing