We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Absolutely Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed with my cousin in the Edward Rutledge room and it was spacious and beautiful! The beds were comfy and there was even a working fireplace in the room! Perhaps the two best things about our stay at The Rutledge Inn was 1. the proximity to the shopping and street life on King street and 2. The amazing breakfast spread! We are both Pescetarian and they had a great selection for us to choose from. Definitely do NOT pass up their grits or the biscuit with sherried fruit. We opted for breakfast in the peaceful and serene courtyard; it was the way to go. We also enjoyed the complimentary spirits in the upstairs lounge area after a late dinner in the city. Definitely spend some time on their upstairs balcony taking in the calm street, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife an I had a relaxing time at the John Rutledge house. We enjoyed the afternoon tea and being able to sit an relax on the front porch. We also enjoyed the courtyard. The breakfast was a great way to start the day. A good selection of standard fare and plenty of fresh fruit. I enjoyed having breakfast served in my room. I did not have to get up and get dressed to go out for breakfast. I look forward to spending more time at this wonderful Inn,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renferd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

the rutledge house was everything we hoped it would be...the history of the house, the charm, and everyone was extra nice...the breakfast was great.best grits we have had in a long time...super clean room and we could walk to all the historic streets......we will be back..

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the two carraige houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My daughter and I were heading through Charleston on our way home from a lengthy road trip. Our stay at the John Rutledge House Inn was very delightful. Our geust room was charming and quite spacious. Breakfast was delicious & we enjoyed eating it in their courtyard. I would stay here again and recommend my friends to do the same.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oaksandrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Beautiful house. Attentive, helpful staff. Each room and each hallway has amazing 100+ year old parquet floors, each with a unique design. Supposedly, the carpenter (a true craftsman) took 8 years to create the floors.

Room Tip: Number 6 was a perfect size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast. We couldn't have stayed in a nicer home. Everyone was very friendly and and wanted our stay to be comfortable. It was like staying with family. We also enjoyed the history attached to this home.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Amazing! The concierge who checked us in was excellent and also assisted us eagerly throughout our entire stay. She recommended restaraunts, gave us menus, offered to make reservations, gave tips on attractions, and more, all with a smile and a great attitude. The breakfast was amazing, and it was a luxury to not need to get dressed beforehand; we just had it delivered to our room (also available to be delivered to the ballroom or courtyard.) It was beautiful and had a beautiful location. I was giddy with excitement checking in after seeing the place, and would stay here again if given the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house, which we loved because it was less busy with people coming in to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addiemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,905 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,444 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,240 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $328 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing