We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel for Enjoying Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have stayed at the Kings Courtyard once or twice a year for the last eight years. The location couldn't be better, the staff is always friendly, and the hotels has historic (not cookie cutter chain) charm. It is like a old, but comfy chair. In the morning a leisurely breakfast outside, even in the winter in the rain. Charlestonians may think this is crazy, but they don't have Midwest winters. After a day of work, there is wine and cheese waiting. Wonderful restaurants are nearby. Not in Charleston for business? You can walk to tours of splendid historic houses or to shopping nearby. The Kings Courtyard is the best place to stay to enjoy this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2Frugal_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
There are newer reviews for Kings Courtyard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We always stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn,....have for years,...its historic, quaint, gives you the real Charleston "feel",...great breakfast dining and evening wine/cheese, appropriately situated around the open air courtyard,..or try having breakfast in your room,...tremendous breakfast staff, downstairs and to your room. The Inn is "tremendously" located to allow you to go in any direction for restaurants or for the many tours. It has the most convenient public parking lot at the rear of the Inn, literally at it's back door,..super nice!

We made our hotel reservations early and had David, the concierge, suggest and then make our reservations at four restaurants,...wonderful experience,...David was super helpful. All the front staff was wonderful,...very attentive and helpful. Margaret, the Assistant Inn Keeper, is a tremendous asset to the Inn,..she is very friendly, always smiling, and makes sure that everyone is tended to at all times,...especially at the 5-6 Wine/Cheese hour,...never an empty glass or plate. The staff assisting the 5-6 Wine/Cheese hour is super nice, courteous, and they make sure that there's plenty of wine and cheese for the guests.

My wife and I had a great time and enjoyed the stay at the Inn. We traveled March 21-25, 2012.

Larry and Brenda Tinney, Fayetteville, NC

Room Tip: We always stay in Room 202, in the back with three windows. Large room with two double beds. You o...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Quick summary: the historic inn is beatiful and very comfortable. The location can't be beat -- easy walk to all the sites, shopping,a nd restaurants of Charleston. Helpful, friendly, professional service. We'd be very happy to stay here again.

We stayed 5 nights at this historic hotel right in the center of Charleston, on its famed shopping street of King Street (antiques row of shops to die for; all sorts of brands and fashion, from well-know to small independents,)

Room 504 is a step-above the standard, very spacious with a high ceiling, traditional furnishings, a comfy canopied king bed, and a working fireplace. The closet is an armoire with two very large drawers, and includes a well-functioning TV set. Each nighstand has 5 skinny drawers that keep things ordanized. There is a comfy armchair with a hassock, and two chairs and table in case you prefer breakfast in your room. Plenty of room for two luggage racks, if you want to keep things in a suitcase.

There are many nice amenities, e.g. a handy multi-socket plug for various personal electronics, daily newspaper (but a Wall STreet Journal in the lobby -- yea!.)

The room overlooks an alley and the inside courtyard, so it is advisable that the blinds on the windows remain slightly closed if you want any privacy, but this was not a problem for us.

The bathroom has a nice aray of toiletires, a refrigerator, and a jacuzzi tub (as close as I ever want to get to whitewater rafting.)

The room comes with complimentary breakfast options (more later,) wine and cheese 5-6 p.m., and sherry in the evening, all served in the lovely ambiance of the public rooms and courtyards.

Spotless housekeeping throughout.

The staff throughout were friendly, helpful, and professional, helping to book tours, provide directions and advice, etc. The downtown map available at the desk is great, and they stock lots of tour brochures in a sitting room chest.

Gated parking is available directly behind the hotel. While there is a charge, this is not a bad deal for being right in the center of historic Charleston.

There are some issues, relatively minor as we'd be happy to stay here again.

First, the pillows are hard and high -- probably cheap poly fill. When we asked for a change, the replaced ones were only marginally better. In this day and age when boutique hotels often pride themselves on pillow menus, the pillows should at least be down, foam, temperpedic, or something much more comfortable.

Second, there is no safe in the room, but I chalk this up to the issues to dealing with a historic building. The good news: the safe deposit boxes at the desk are enormous. My husband could very easily put major camera equipment in there for safe keeping.

Third, the breakfast was good and satisfactory, but no better -- it was fine but not the stuff you dream about. The complimentary options include continental (which I only did once -- a sweet sticky bun, toothache-sweet blueberry muffin, and a small croissant) or the "healthy" choice (okay bagel, fairly mundane cereals, yogurt, very good banana or apple.) The coffee is good, not great, The fresh-squeezed OJ may have been squeezed hours earlier. There are cooked options, but we only had time for the pretty-good french toast, and there are also omlettes, eggs, all with meats, etc. for a nominal charge. There are also other options for a nominal additional cahrge, e.g. grits, fruit salad, etc.

A real issue issue at breakfast is that they could use another set of hands. We had to serve ourselves coffee few times, and I served others who were also waiting for a refill. I think they could turn the tables more quickly, even if people wanted to sit and read the papers, if there was someone to clear tables more quickly. One morning we went out for breakfast when it was obvious that there was a longer wait for tables, and even some guests who were sitting at talbes had not yet even been served coffee. We would be late for our tour pickup about an hour later if we had waited for a table. If they are not going to do a buffet to speed things along, at least get another set of hands during a busy tourist season.

But still, this was such a pleasant and well-located stay, I'd be happy to stay again. It's a very good value for the room, the location, and compared to some other properties in the area. But I hope they improve some aspects of the breakfast by the next time we visit.

This palce attracts a range of guests, of all ages, couples, and a family or two of well-behaved children.

If you need a New York Times, check the sundries shop at the nearby Charleston Place hotel. A CVS is a short walk away.

Room Tip: All the rooms seems very nice, but vary in size. It would be good to have a discussion with the de...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Having read previous reviews, we were prepared for the friendly reception and the excellent accomodations. Although our room fronted on King street, we were not disturbed at all. We agree that the parking charge is out of the ordinary, the location of the Inn more than makes up for it. Having the car parked several steps from the Inn can be quite convenient. The Inn is several minutes from the action, in any direction. You can walk to almost anywhere. We did not use our car during the stay. We would strongly recommend the KCI.
Jules Blond
Sarasota, FL

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papiatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Three nights here to see Charleston for the first time. David was an excellent concierge who gave a warm welcome and good advice. Our car remained in the lot ($12/night) for the whole time and we saw the city on foot. You step out the front door on to King Street and you have it all right there. We walked the city streets in the evening and felt perfectly safe.The facility is an older historic inn but well cared for. Wine and cheese at 5 pm and sherry later in the evening if you so desire. The included breakfasts suited us just fine. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Perfect location to shops and restaurants. Enjoyed a quick 10 minute walk to The Battery and other sites. Comfortable bed. Clean room. Loved the courtyards. Felt like I was in a European hotel with all of its charm. Good parking behind hotel - but remember that a daily fee will be charged to your room. Got a better room rate at their website than other travel sites. Wonderful breakfast with personable servers. Will definitely stay at Kings Courtyard on our next trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view or a views of the city.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in a courtyard view room with king bed. No kids on this trip. Smaller room, but 10 foot ceilings, nice furnishings, hardwood floors, comfortable bed, nice linens, good pillows and plenty of hot water. The best part was the complimentary breakfast delivered to your room in the morning after filling out an order form the night before and hanging it on your door -- easy enough and nice touch to have breakfast in bed!

A quick look at google maps shows the location couldn't be better with the market, shops, restaurants, and all of Charleston charm right outside the door. Close to waterfront and carriage rides. Easy walk to Battery area. Parking area directly behind building couldn't be closer, but costs $12 per day so factor it in the hotel rate. I got a better rate booking online then the rate quote from calling the hotel directly. I love Charleston and highly recommend this hotel to couples looking for a nice place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelingwith4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
651 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#26 of 61 in Charleston
841 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
967 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $252 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing