We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, comfortable accommodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #30 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Easy walk to anything in downtown Charleston. The room was simple, but very clean and had a comfortable four poster canopy king bed. The interior courtyard is a relaxing place to sit and enjoy a drink and conversation. Concierge service is helpful and knowledgable. Lovely historic hotel. We would stay again.
The four poster bed was a bit squeaky with movement. I'm just sayin'!! :-)

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Deserthusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great room. Nice staff. Just around the corner from Market St.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labtrainer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The rooms are quite nicely done and very clean. Good breakfast and afternoon wine. Located in the heart of the historic district and you can walk to a lot of the sites. Beautiful neighborhoods and architecture right nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willpentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Pros: inn is downtown, in the middle of everything.
King bed was very cute and comfortable. Bathroom and bedroom were clean.
The parking was priced reasonably ($11/night). Only problem was that there are no assigned parking: an unidentified car hit our parked rental car and left without leaving a note. The front desk really had nothing to say about it.
There is an elevator (which may not always be available in historical buildings).

Cons:
BREAKFAST WAS TERRIBLE! I don't expect hotels to offer BF, BUT if it is advertised, it should be available. Staff was overwhelmed by the amount of guest requesting a table (they only have 5 tables inside) and barely nice about it. Reading all the other comments, I realize that in-room service was available but we were not informed at check-in that it was free. Most hotel charge a premium for room service. We are still wondering why the hotel doesn't offer a buffet??? Would make sense in a hotel that size.

Our room was a good size but 2 windows opened on the wall of the next building, 4-ft away and the 3rd window opened on interior court with limited light and in view of of the corridor.

The overall aspect of the Inn needs to be remodeled. It feels old. Historical buildings are beautiful in Charleston, but at $230/night for the least expensive room, I expect more than average.

The old TV (Tube) was in a cabinet that difficult to view from the bed.

We will not stay there again or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening on the parking lot. Otherwise, your room may have windows opening on a wall o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTravelerDC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the pros and cons of Kings Courtyard Inn. All our guests receive a complimentary breakfast served without charge to either their room or courtyard area. The breakfast card explains this but I apologize that this was not more clear for you. At peak times or during inclement weather, tables are all utilized and we do not have room for a buffet or more tables. All rooms are unique, a few look across a quaint Charleston alley to our Fulton Lane Inn next door. We certainly would have moved you to another room if we had known of your preferences. We are now 90% complete with new flat screen TV's in all rooms. It is unfortunate that we could not offer more help regarding your car receiving damage in the City of Charleston lot in which we lease spaces for our guests.I am certain that on your next visit that all your "cons" can be alleviated and that you will enjoy every facet of the inn.
Richard Widman Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 5 days at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We were there from April 5-9, 2012. The inn is gorgeous with its courtyards, flowers, and fountains, and its location is perfect and right in the middle of the historic district. We flew into Charleston and took a taxi to the inn. We walked everywhere we wanted to go so a car was not necessary. You could not ask for a better location in the city! It's charming and quaint, and it's the only place we will stay when visiting Charleston!

We were greatly impressed with all of the staff at the inn from the housekeepers to the front desk staff. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful. Our housekeeper told me she wanted me to feel welcome and just like I was at home, and I did!!

Our room was beautiful and was the CLEANEST room we have ever stayed in! My husband travels all over the country on business so he has stayed in lots of hotels. Housekeeping does an excellent job as everything in the inn is spotless from the courtyards to the office to the bathrooms. Our king bed was firm and was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The bathroom was spotless, and the shower had plenty of water pressure and felt wonderful. We had a fireplace in our room, but we did not use it. The room was perfect for us in every way! At night we could even hear the fountain in the courtyard!

We enjoyed breakfast in our room each morning. We found the complimentary breakfast to have lots of variety, and it was just right for us. How simple to fill out the card, hang it on your door, and have it delivered to your room by a smiling staff person thanking you and telling you to have a great day.

We enjoyed the wine and cheese each evening that we were there. We usually sat in one of the courtyards during this time. They had a nice variety of cheeses and wines as well as crackers and some type of dip.

We absolutely loved everything about this inn and can't wait to return. This is the perfect place to stay and have the true Charleston experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashvillegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

It was my first visit to Charleston and the hotel is in the middle of everything. Close to shopping and food. Did not need to drive anywhere. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianalovestripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have stayed at the Kings Courtyard once or twice a year for the last eight years. The location couldn't be better, the staff is always friendly, and the hotels has historic (not cookie cutter chain) charm. It is like a old, but comfy chair. In the morning a leisurely breakfast outside, even in the winter in the rain. Charlestonians may think this is crazy, but they don't have Midwest winters. After a day of work, there is wine and cheese waiting. Wonderful restaurants are nearby. Not in Charleston for business? You can walk to tours of splendid historic houses or to shopping nearby. The Kings Courtyard is the best place to stay to enjoy this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2Frugal_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
665 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
717 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
991 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $230 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing