We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms”
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Have stayed at this location twice. The rooms are roomy and spacious. Both times I've stayed, it has been a queen or king room with a pullout couch. There is enough room if by chance we needed to bring an air mattress. The rooms are extremely clean. The beds are comfortable.
You can not beat this location. Walk out the door, and there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

The staff is friendly and has been great handling the valet service.

Only negative is that there is sometimes noise from the outside establishments. I just have a sound machine app on my phone and it drowns out the noise-no biggie!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncdeb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Lodge Alley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Once again our choice of lodging while visiting downtown Charleston was lodge Alley Inn! Had a warm "welcome back, good to see you again!" from Clarence, the always smiling door keeper, and our favorite valet at Lodge Alley! He has been there as long as we have been coming, and we always look forward to seeing him! Our rooms were lovely! My husband and I stayed in one of our favorite suites in the courtyard. The kiddos stayed in a nice one bedroom in the building next door. We only had two nights on this trip, but it was all lovely! The weather was perfect, and everyone was so friendly and made our stay very welcome! Thanks again! We stayed at two other really nice places on this trip and the bed at Lodge Alley was the most comfortable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I just spent a long weekend at Lodge Alley Inn and loved every second of it! We booked a studio (room 307) and thought it was just perfect for us. Everything was nicely appointed and we loved the microwave, mini-fridge, toaster, coffee maker, plates, glasses and silverware provided. The entire staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. You could consider me pretty picky about cleanliness and I thought that the room was very clean and tidy. The location is in the heart of downtown Charleston and was withing walking distance to most of the attractions we visited. The only time we used our car was to drive to Boone Hall Plantation, but it was well worth the drive! I highly recommend anyone staying here and guarantee that we will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Definitely try and book a room in the courtyard. There is no pool so keep that in mind if you are b...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cntrydancetwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the historic district. Within easy walking distance to many of the sights and restaurants. Unfortunately, since it is an historical building, they could not replace the windows in our room with more sound-proof ones. We could hear every noise in the alley next door. The restaurant next door drug carts up and down the cobblestones until after 11PM and starting again at 6 AM. The worst was the carts with clinking bottles. About half the time, some of those bottles would break right about the time we were falling asleep! Courtyard rooms are better from what I understand. The room was spacious for 3 adults, with a full kitchen (including a dishwasher). There was even a walk-in closet! Not enough hangers, though. The staff was very attentive. The maintenance man came right away to fix our ice-maker in the refrigerator and get the gas fireplace to start. Many positives about this hotel, just wish it was quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the courtyard.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We love coming here it's always a pleasure and the staff are amazing! I have no complaints at all, the location is excellent with everything downtown. Love it! Thank you Lodge Alley staff!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have stayed at Lodge Alley Inn the past 5 years and have planned another trip this summer. You can't go wrong with this place,you can walk everywhere,never having to drive(which I love).Its a very pretty and historic place. I recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tracie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed for a week in a two bedroom unit overlooking the courtyard from 2 December 2011 to 9 December 2011. The location of this resort is in the historic downtown district & very close to everything. The only time we used our car was to go to the Boone Hall plantation & to visit the USS Yorktown in Mt. Pleasant.
Everything is very nice at this resort. I just wish the unit could be made a bit more luxurious as the location is so convienient.
Charleston, SC is very interesting & we had a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a unit overlooking the courtyard & it was nice.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newvisitorUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#31 of 61 in Charleston
595 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
650 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
966 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $274 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing