We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest experiences we've had recently. It is "old world charm" and a European style in the heart of the South. They bent over backward to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. Wine and horsdeurves in the early evening, warm cookies before bedtime. A charming elegance with no stuffy overtones.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
There are newer reviews for The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel was really great from beginning to end. The beds were really comfortable - like sleeping in a cloud - so probably not good for those who like firm beds.
We had room 150, on the first floor and enjoyed it very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. We didn't go for the milk and cookies but we did do the wine and cheese one night and that was good too. It was fun to chat with other guests.

Everything is within walking distance for downtown Historical Charleston at this location so no need to take a taxi. We had a rental car and parked it for a few days in a nearby garage.

Room Tip: TIP: if you don't like sot beds, see if they have rooms with firmer beds. Also you can hear the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great downtown location. Pricey but with free bikes a full breakfast, evening wine hour and bedtime cookies and milk thrown in-it is almost worth it.Creaky wooden floors and the hotel decor remind you that you are in Charleston which isn't a bad thing. The staff is very friendly but that seems to be true of every hotel. shop and tour guide in the area. If you want to splurge go ahead and choose this hotel. If you are on budget- there are some other choices downtown that are very good.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in advance if you want some space. We were in a smallish size room with a very s...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is a lovely stop in a beautiful town. Check inn and valet was easy and the room was beautiful with a fireplace and a bed so high you needed steps to help you up !!!! Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. Well worth the price for the serenity and the evening cookies !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We took our first family trip with our new baby (4 months old) and were able to fit her Pack-N-Play comfortably in a Standard room. We enjoyed the morning tea and coffee, the evening milk & cookies, but never had a chance to try the wine & cheese service. We loved the decor of the building and the service of the staff. The bathroom was quite large and I enjoyed a bubble bath with the bath salts provided. Quite relaxing. My only complaint was the fire alarm which went off once each night we were there (around 10pm) when one of the other guests admitted to taking a long steamy shower. The alarm's sensitivity is both commendable and lamentable, but my heavy-sleeper didn't even notice it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quicktrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Vendue's website says it is a pet friendly hotel, as does Tripadvisor. We made our plans to bring our small dog based on this. However, when I went to the site to book the room...once you get into the "fine print", the only room that is actually pet friendly is the King Suite. Quite a sneaky way for them to push their more expensive rooms.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank sandyavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Charleston, SC was our destination of choice for a long weekend - our first of 2012. We booked the Vendue Inn mainly due to the great reviews we read on TripAdvisor. What a gem it was! From the moment we drove in and the valet came out to open car doors for us and take us to check in. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a Junior Suite within 24 Vendue Range (just across the small street directly in front of the main hotel building). Our room on the second floor was charming and cozy with brick exposed walls, a gas fireplace, a super large and super comfy king bed, a lounger built for two, along with a nice wing chair. Ice bucket was full, complimentary bottled water and turn down service. The bath was very nice with an oversized spa tub and shower built for two. Original wood floors, luxurious linens and very nice bath amenities completed the perfect room for a weekend getaway.

Staff was so friendly and very service oriented from the moment we arrived until we said goodbye. Everyone ensured we knew they were there to answer any question we may have or offer directions for somewhere we wanted to go or suggestions on what to see and do.

Galina was a true joy during our breakfast each morning. She had a ready smile, and remembered our likes each day from the first time she took our order. A full breakfast was complimentary during our stay, along with complimentary bicycles to run around town with.

Charleston was a beautiful city with lots of history and fantastic food at every turn. We will definitely return to Charleston, and book our stay once again at the Vendue Inn. If you're looking for the best, stay here and you will be in for a nice treat!

Room Tip: Rooms at 24 Vendue Range were spacious and very nicely appointed.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awaywego123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $262 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing