We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here in January because the rates are lower during this time of year. We had the King Suite and were totally blown away. The bed was like sleeping on clouds and the linens were very nice. Our room had a fire place and very nice bath. The turn down service, the milk and cookies at night, and the staff made this a night to remember. We found it very hard to return home. Be sure to dine in the restaurant located in the hotel. But that is a whole different review!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toothfairy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,211)
There are newer reviews for The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,211 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Loved this hotel. One thing I will add if you stay in the building across the street is that they have coffee and an assortment of hot teas in the small lobby each morning. This is nice because you can take it back to your room if you need your coffee fix before you see the light of day.

Room Tip: Get a King Jr. Suite in the building across the street if you are on a romantic getaway.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Spent a couple of days over our anniversary in Charleston. We were given a room across the street from the main inn. The room was beautiful, although no view to speak of. We had a fireplce, whirlpool tub, king bed...it was great!! Sherry on the dresser for the evening... The Inn also provides a wine and cheese hour from 4-5pm, with more than just cheese and crackers, It was very nice. We were close to many restraunts and bars...close to the river, walking distance to many historic sights.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest experiences we've had recently. It is "old world charm" and a European style in the heart of the South. They bent over backward to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. Wine and horsdeurves in the early evening, warm cookies before bedtime. A charming elegance with no stuffy overtones.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel was really great from beginning to end. The beds were really comfortable - like sleeping in a cloud - so probably not good for those who like firm beds.
We had room 150, on the first floor and enjoyed it very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. We didn't go for the milk and cookies but we did do the wine and cheese one night and that was good too. It was fun to chat with other guests.

Everything is within walking distance for downtown Historical Charleston at this location so no need to take a taxi. We had a rental car and parked it for a few days in a nearby garage.

Room Tip: TIP: if you don't like sot beds, see if they have rooms with firmer beds. Also you can hear the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great downtown location. Pricey but with free bikes a full breakfast, evening wine hour and bedtime cookies and milk thrown in-it is almost worth it.Creaky wooden floors and the hotel decor remind you that you are in Charleston which isn't a bad thing. The staff is very friendly but that seems to be true of every hotel. shop and tour guide in the area. If you want to splurge go ahead and choose this hotel. If you are on budget- there are some other choices downtown that are very good.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in advance if you want some space. We were in a smallish size room with a very s...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is a lovely stop in a beautiful town. Check inn and valet was easy and the room was beautiful with a fireplace and a bed so high you needed steps to help you up !!!! Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. Well worth the price for the serenity and the evening cookies !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $262 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing