We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, relaxing, romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing, romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at the Vendue Inn. It was a wonderful experience! I was a bit concerned--based on a few reviews--that being in the annex across the street from the main hotel was a bad thing, but it was far from it. We loved the privacy of our room. We felt like we were in our own little corner of Charleston. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the room was nicely appointed, the bathroom clean and roomy (both musts for us). The wine reception was above what we expected and the breakfasts delicious. We had dinner at The Library our first night in town and it, too, was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for a better location. We walked everywhere we went. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,405
    411
    119
    71
    44
See reviews for
197
1,378
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is long overdue as we stayed here in august of 2011. We spent three nights at the vendue inn and it was the best place ever. The staff is fantastick and so accomadating. The rooms are so nice and charming, comfy, and just beautiful. They have a wine and cheese everyday at 4pm and it is out of this world! Milk and cookies at 9pm, and there is a roof top bar that we went to everynight. We also dined at the restaurant on site and it was wonderful. While we were at the wine and cheese reception the head chef came over to introduce himself and asked what we would be having for dinner. Now that is service he did a fantastik job on my lobster and my husband had duck. This is the only place we will stay at in charleston.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianem163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Venue Inn offers Southern Hospitality at its finest. Charming, historic hotel located steps from the harbor and in the historic district. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. The staff is wonderful! Loved the included breakfasts, wine & cheese hour, and maybe best of all - the delicious chocolate chip cookies and milk before bed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have been staying at the Vendue Inn for 15 years. Always wonderful service and a great breakfast. The rooms are very comfortable and well done. Suites with fireplaces. Easy walk to all the sites in historic district.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlnmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great experiance! went over and above to help us out!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCtraveler54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in a JR Suite-checked in Feb 12 2012 and checked out Feb 16 2012, We truly enjoyed our stay the location is fantastic, walking distance to everything. Great breakfast in the morning, clean room, great bed and extra touches such as wine and cheese between 4 to 5 every day and milk/cookies at night. The staff is excellent. Try the shrimp cocktail at the roof top bar-really great sauce and fresh shrimp with a view to die for. The only think that the Vendue is missing is a workout facility ofcourse you can get a workout by walking around Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our king suite was spacious with a nice layout. Previous comments are correct about soundproofing. Our bedroom was quiet enough, but we heard our next door neighbors in their sitting area every afternoon/evening. Hotel is pet friendly, so we heard their dog occasionally too. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom had old fixtures, shower was small with prefab floor. Cabinets looked hand painted. If you want totally shiny, up to date surroundings, this isn't the place for you. We do like modern and spotless, but we did enjoy our stay here. Breakfast included is very good, with daily a daily special. Would recommend with reservations noted above. Would definitely ask for a quiet room. One last note, housekeeping was a little substandard....debris under sofa seat cushions, spatters on the door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing