We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing historic hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing historic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel was so historic. One of the walls in our room was brick. Loved our stay here, and it was located right in the heart of the historic district of Charleston. Had fresh cookies, milk, and water with fruit everyday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avalanchefan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    377
    112
    69
    41
See reviews for
180
1,287
58
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights for our anniversary, and it was our first visit to Charleston. The Vendue's location made it perfect for a quick walk to many of the finer restaurants, or for a romantic stroll through Waterfront Park. Our room was at the of the hall and faced Prioleau Street, which made it very quiet. What makes the Vendue special are the amenities that they offer throughout a stay at the inn. From the complimentary bikes to the included full breakfast and manager's reception in the afternoon, the staff made us feel very welcome and cared for. The Concierge was readily available to recommend and reserve tours and restaurants for us, and he even contacted us a week before our stay to find out about what we would like. While we would like to see a few improvements made, like bathroom renovations, we will definitely be returning to the Vendue Inn on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Well, we did happen here with a price line bid; probably would not have spent what a regular rate would have been. SOOOO lovely - historic, yet comfortable. If you do not like to stay in cookie cutter, chain hotels, stay at the Vendue. Wonderful location. Free bicycles. Lovely full, to order breakfast. Delicious wine and cheese reception; warm cookies and milk in the evening. Roof-top cocktails with a view to love. Helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalGal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

I booked the room for the Bridge Run weekend via hotels.com. We had low expectations, though the reviews we read were favorable. We were pleased to find out that the location was perfect for our pre-scheduled dining choices -- literally across the street from McCradys, Magnolia, and Cypress. This was great since both my wife and I had foot injuries and could appreciate a shorter hike. The room was small, dated, and simple. It had peeling wallpaper and a bathroom from the 70's. However, we really enjoyed our stay due primarily to the friendliness and warmth of the staff. From the bellman to the hostess for breakfast, everybody was hospitable and gregarious as though they really enjoyed their jobs. So, though the rooms were subpar, the people were Ritz-like! We do recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sharp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Vendue in mid-October for our anniversary. It was our second visit to the Vendue, this time staying in a King Suite that fronted East Bay on the ground level. The suite was pricey, though spacious. We were a bit disappointed with the appointments in the room, specifically the bathroom. Fixtures were old, the shower grout was molded, and the cabinetry cheap and in need of repair. Two colors of paint graced one of the cabinet doors. The bedroom was quite nice, The door from the hall opened into a foyer that featured a wet bar. This was a nice touch, but the bar was in the same old painted plywood style cabinetry as the bathroom, with a couple of glass shelves above. The space was dark and uninviting. This foyer had a lot of potential as a welcoming space, but did not live up to that expectation. The living room was very nice with huge windows and a large mirror. My only recommendation for this space would be repositioning the sofa (a tad worn) so that it faced the wall mounted TV, instead of having to turn one's head sideways to see it. Overall, we enjoyed our experience. As mentioned in other reviews, the location is superb and the Vendue Rooftop Bar is wonderful. Breakfast as the Vendue is included and delicious. I hope the management addresses so of the issues we have noted. We would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachertype22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Vendue Inn during our stay in Charleston, and couldn't have been happier. The historic buildings have been renovated in a manner that preserves their character, while providing a wonderful place to stay. The beds are incredibly comfortable...wish I could sleep on one every night. The staff couldn't have more friendly and helpful, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Great place to stay for our first visit to South Carolina.

Room Tip: This place is spendy, but we bid for a 4 star on priceline and got it at a pretty good price, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEGEE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My Book Club planned this trip after reading "South of Broad"; the Vendue Inn was very comfortable. Hardwood floors, soft linens, jacuzzi tubs and a friendly, helpful staff made our stay pleasant and memorable. We also enjoyed the complimentary bicycles, the afternoon Happy Hour, and cookies and milk at 9 p.m. The rooftop bar was a popular place, with great drinks and a wonderful view of the city. We were able to walk to a riverfront park complete with bench swings, shopping, dining, and of course, the Battery. I will stay here again on my next trip to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: We had a suite with 2 Queen beds, a sitting area, gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub and separate shower. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLbeachm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing