We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRIP BACK IN HISTORY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
ENON VALLEY, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TRIP BACK IN HISTORY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Vendue Inn is where you want to be if you seek an experience back into the history of Charleston, S.C. It is located near Waterfront Park in the heart of the French Quarter, within walking distance or pedicab of the many historical attractions. The rooms are tastefully done with large comfortable king poster beds. The staff to a man was helpful, and displayed the classic Southern hopitality and charm. They meet every request quickly and completely. The complimentary Southern breakfast was outstanding with many choices now just waffles heated by your steam iron.

Room Tip: each room is different and the one we stayed in is slated for an update, the only drawback was lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,405
    410
    119
    71
    44
See reviews for
197
1,377
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
210 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Have stayed here before which is why we returned. This time noted that rooms are a little run-downed and need refurbishing. Initial check-in was not good, with the receptionist being rude and irritated when I asked for an explination of room charges. Lot of people standing around waiting for their room keys. However, overall the level of service was very good.
Asked for a wake-up call the first morning, which didn't happen. Included morning breakfast service and food quality were outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent four nights here a week ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were traveling with another couple and for no discernable reason, our room was bright, spacious and wonderful while their's was much, much smaller with one window as opposed to our five windows. We 'lucked in' with a corner room. Enjoyed the breakfasts immensely - great waitstaff. The afternoon cocktail reception was a daily treat too. Very comfortable beds and nice folks all around. The rooftop bar was not really an issue as we were on the third floor and the music was always finished by midnight, right about the time we were going to bed too.

Room Tip: If you have the options, try for a corner room - spacious and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitchnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Vendue Inn is charming, comfortable, warm, and well located on a quiet side street in old Charleston not far from the water. The service is excellent. Full breakfast comes with your room. Afternoon wine and snacks are a treat and cookies before bedtime are nice. No need to stay anyplace else in Charelston.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We recently were guests at this hotel. It was a birthday surprise from our son who had read wonderful reviews. The room we were given had a wonderful bed...very luxurious but the bathroom had no hot water. My husband took a lukewarm shower and the poor boy they sent to the room tried to blame the faucet. It is an old, old hotel and while the service was great and the milk and cookies delicious the room needed a lot of work. We were given another room that had an updated bathroom but we were all disappointed with the rooms. This is a very expensive hotel. I feel like we paid for the location which is at the heart of Charleston but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel was so historic. One of the walls in our room was brick. Loved our stay here, and it was located right in the heart of the historic district of Charleston. Had fresh cookies, milk, and water with fruit everyday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avalanchefan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights for our anniversary, and it was our first visit to Charleston. The Vendue's location made it perfect for a quick walk to many of the finer restaurants, or for a romantic stroll through Waterfront Park. Our room was at the of the hall and faced Prioleau Street, which made it very quiet. What makes the Vendue special are the amenities that they offer throughout a stay at the inn. From the complimentary bikes to the included full breakfast and manager's reception in the afternoon, the staff made us feel very welcome and cared for. The Concierge was readily available to recommend and reserve tours and restaurants for us, and he even contacted us a week before our stay to find out about what we would like. While we would like to see a few improvements made, like bathroom renovations, we will definitely be returning to the Vendue Inn on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing