We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Place to Stay in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
582 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Stay in Charleston”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel has a very good location in Charleston -- very near Market Square, the horse-drawn carriages, the waterfront and numerous fine restaurants. The staff is very helpful, the hotel is immaculate, and they provide several nice touches--afternoon wine and cheese and cookies and milk at night. The only concern is that the rooms have very thin walls so it can be quite noisy, so ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    417
    121
    73
    45
See reviews for
201
1,400
62
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent three nights at the Vendue Inn celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary. For starters let me say the good. You cannot get more central in location than staying here. You are just a brief walk to the waterfront, their rooftop bar has some of the best views of the city and you can literally walk out your door and into some of the best restaurants Charleston has to offer. The coffee service in the morning is good and plentiful. They set it out by 6:30 a.m. and keep it out well into the morning, even setting out to go cups so you can take a cup of joe with you. Breakfast is delicious but our breakfast experience is also part of our negatives with Vendue.

Our room was across the street from the main inn which contains the Library restaurant and entrance to the Rooftop Bar so don't necessarily think you are staying in the main inn when booking. It was on the first floor and absorbed alot of noise including windows which looked out into an alley way that had several people walking by. But overall very nice decor and the bed was comfy.

When we checked in we mentioned celebrating our anniversary and asked if we could be considered for any room upgrades. We were told there were Jr. Suites available for 2 out of the three nights and they would up grade us but for the regular price difference. If this was the least of our gripes then we'd just chalk it up to a fairly full hotel that didn't concern itself with hoping first time customers would continue to come back to celebrate their anniversary. But, it wasn't.

We had booked a complete package with Priceline which included breakfast every morning. As we were signing our keys out we were asked if we wanted to add breakfast for an additional $15. Once I called them out on our package with Priceline they backtracked and said that it was something new they were switching to and they would honor our original deal (what was interesting is that the charge must have been so new they didn't even inform their bellhops, one of which had just taken us on a tour and told us about the complimentary breakfast each morning).

The day before checkout we asked the concierge to secure shuttle service to the airport for us at 7:45 a.m. and he told us the charge would be $35. As we were eating breakfast we noticed the shuttle show up at 7:15, loaded at 7:45 on the dot, got to the airport and the guy asked for $45, telling us he had to charge us the extra $10 because we were late and service was secured as of 7:30. Of course we refused to pay the extra $10.

Finally, we get home to find an $86 charge from the hotel to our credit card. Once my husband called them to investigate they said the charge was for breakfast. While they did back out the charge once he disputed I'd still advice you pay close attention to what you get when you reserve here because they will try to add on charges that you should not be responsible for and frankly who wants to deal with that sort of service especially when vacationing or celebrating a special occasion?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Receiving a wonderful retirement gift of a certificate from Select Registry opened the opportunity to visit Charleston and stay at this wonderful property. Select Registry B&B's and Inns are among the very best in the US and Canada.

Although I knew of the wonderful reputation of the inn I was not prepared for the warm welcome and friendly, upbeat personalites of the entire staff. Everything we needed was taken care of and we were treated like royalty. This property was as lovely as any I have experienced in Europe.

Our room was across the street at Vendue Twenty-Three where we were upgraded to a king room. Perfect in every way, it is very quiet, comfortable and cozy. The main entry doors are locked at night and your key is used to access after hours. So there is no traffic as you would have in the main inn coming and going during the night.

Although there is no window (online photo does not do justice to the calming atmosphere of the space) a great skylight with blinds warms the rooms with a subtle glow in the morning. The rooms are in a historic building and steps are the only access to the upper floors. Our room was on the third floor.

Champaign was delivered for my husband on the occasion of his birthday along with a card for best wishes.

This stay was wonderful for us and we plan to make Vendue our headquarters next visit.

Room Tip: Try the cozy Vendue Twenty-three across the street from the main inn for clasic interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabitron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our 1st visit to Charleston & celebrating our 39 th anniversary so I wanted everything to have a "special" moment. Well this is First class treatment from the moment we where greeted at the foyer by Mark to the entire staff who welcomed us to their establishment. A great location, both quiet side street less than a block to the beautiful waterfront park.
Everyday we where greeted by name and the complimentary breakfast was perfect to reflection. Our server everyday was Rebecca and she made sure the coffee, fresh squeezed juice and fruit was served promptly and with a smile.
Robbie is a well informed concierge who made suggestions and rservations that showed both his knowledge & local high quality tours. If you want a 5-star experience your search is over

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We recently stayed overnight at the Vendue Inn after attending an event at their rooftop bar. What an amazing stay! The hotel itself holds so much of what Charleston is known for - historic southern charm and true hospitality. The rooms were a great size with traditional southern furnishings, fireplace and even a taste of sherry on each mantle.

The location was perfect! Once we valeted the car, we walked to several locations nearby including restaurants, bars, and the fab shopping on King Street.

I cannot finish this review without saying what a huge impact the manager at the Vendue Inn made. Suzy Ridder is one-of-a-kind and welcomes everyone with open arms to her establishment. She understands how important it is to be comfortable and makes sure each and every person feels at home. She makes this hotel unique!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The staff at Vendue Inn is topnotch! Everyone is extremely friendly, the epitomy of Southern hospitality! The Inn has many wonderful special touches, from a personal note on your bed upon arrival, to lemon and orange waters in caraffe's outside the library. Complimentary made to order breakfast, where they address you by Mr. and Mrs. xxxx, to wine and cheese at 4pm, and cookies and milk at night. Extraordinary! The location is fantastic for gettting to the market and the harbor. The downside? It is a bit noisy, so we thought several times someone was trying to open the door to our room. The one time we tried to use the concierge, he failed to find a reservation to the restaurant where we wanted to dine. We walked over to the restaurant to get a reservation for a different night, only to find we could be immediately seated! All in all, in it was wonderful stay, and I look forward to returning to Charleston. Visit the Magnolia Plantation when you go. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smihling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I cannot recommend this place enough! My husband and I stayed here in January during a ridiculously cold long weekend :( However, it was not a problem at all! We stayed in the Junior Suite across the street from the main building. Our room was amazing. We walked in to a King size bed (the most comfortable one I've ever slept in), fire place, complimentary sherry, bathroom with shower and separate jacuzzi! We felt so spoiled by everyone. Our days began with an amazing breakfast cooked to order, an evening complimentary happy hour and appetizers, and to put the icing on the cake of our stay, every night we were spoiled with delicious warm chocolate chip cookies and milk....mmmm..... I miss it already! Allow me to share with you the hospitality that is displayed at this hotel: My husband had a terrible case of food poisoning from shellfish (not from the hotel), so we called the front desk to get the number for the nearest hospital, needless to say, the man at the front desk ( I am so sad I can't remember his name, but he working at 2 am when we were rushing to hospital.) He was so kind to run to the parking garage, in 20 degree weather, to get our car and help us to it! I can truly say that we had a truly wonderful experience staying at the Vendue Inn (aside from my husband's food poisoning :O( Everyone was so nice, and helpful, our room was splendid, and all the amenities were such a nice touch!

Room Tip: If you can splurge, I highly recommend the Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellowMarshmellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing