We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
156
73
14
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
73
14
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage house the main house wine and cheese commodore room yogurt within walking distance first floor fresh cut fruit foot ceilings hot dish hard boiled eggs beautiful courtyard private porch authentic charleston quiet street other guests buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 252 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Place was lovely. Room very nice. Complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon. Very nice breakfast. Close walk to many historical sites--city market, The Battery, as well the many fabulous restaurants Charleston has to offer. Would recommend for couples.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kmc736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you for the review, kmc736, and thank you for the recommendation!!! Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2016

We stayed a year ago for our Honeymoon and were back this year..
ITS JUST PERFECT!! You can really tell that this is family owned a operated. Brian is awesome he told us about the 4 corners of law and some hole-in-the-wall restaurants that were great. Rooms are specious and beds are great. I didn't want to leave.. Bath-rooms were very clean and had extra amities one wouldn't expect, water was hot and pressure was good too.. What More could you ask for.. We enjoyed the wine and cheese so much we took advantage of it every day. I forgot the ask the name of the white wine, it was very good. We hope that we will be able to continue the tradition of coming here every year. Thank you Jasmine house Inn and Brian for an always amazing stay.. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room tip: ask for a large room on the front of the house
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mightygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, Mightygirl!!! You are most welcome, and, thank you for sharing another one of your life's special moments with us at the Jasmine House Inn. We look forward to your next Anniversary, and we hope, too, that we can share in this annual event. Best Wishes to you for a long, happy, and healthy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Stayed here in April for 2 nights...over $300/night with tax! I asked detailed questions before booking and knew this was last room left. I was assured of excellent accommodations and breakfast.This was not the case.The room was not clean. The plantation shutters had dust an inch thick on them, the furniture was old and had an odor, the base of the shower had mold. The sink faucet leaked water all over the counter. I placed a towel and left a note for the maid; it was never fixed. The office was not in the same house where our room was but across the street. Every time we went to see the person in charge, no one was available at the desk.
The closet had 2 hangers...I asked for more and never received them. There was no pole so could not hang clothes normally in addition to it being an armoire not long enough for clothes to hang even on the side racks.
OSHA would not be happy because the windows prevented egress in case of fire because there was staging against the house and right against the windows. We were not told this initially.
The breakfasts were terrible. We were told there were 2 hot breakfast dishes daily. We assumed eggs, pancakes etc. as is usual in an Inn at this rate. They had cinnamon buns one morning over a steamer and they were hard as a rock. The o.j. tasted like something astronauts would drink in space. The next morning they served cardboard-like bagels . They did have fresh fruit, the same melon and pineapple both days. The strawberries were all gone and never replenished.I was shocked that breakfast was not served in a dining room but the little choices available were set out on top of a sideboard in a hall. Coffee was in the kitchen.
On our day of departure, my husband did find the manager at the desk, of course and he discussed our disappointment about the conditions in our room etc. We did feel we should have received compensation as they did not fulfill their obligations. He did not offer any. I submitted a letter of dispute with my credit card company who approached the manager and he refused to compensate us. Even if we had reached the missing person at the desk, there was not another room available. We are seasoned travelers and dismayed and disappointed at the lack of honesty and professionalism displayed at the Jasmine House Inn!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mariafromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

mariafromboston, although we appreciate your feedback and comments regarding your stay at the Jasmine House Inn, there seems to be some confusion on several of your points of concern:
1) There is on-duty staff 24 hrs a day. It is highly unlikely that you encountered no one, either at the Indigo Inn or the Jasmine House, during your (2) day stay, or, that the seasoned housekeeper would have ignored a note regarding something as important as a bathroom leak.
2) The Jasmine House Inn, listed with The Preservation Society, is a historic house, and, hence, is up to code.
3) We offer (1) hot dish for breakfast; we do not include sweet rolls or bagels in this category.
4) And lastly, but of the greatest puzzlement, we have had no record of any credit card disputes since December 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Our last time in Charleston we stayed in North Charleston at one of the big chain hotels. This time I decided we'd stay downtown. What a difference that decision made on the overall experience. The Jasmine House Inn is a beautiful old property. It's beautifully decorated. Our room was spacious and immediately off the internal courtyard. The house is centrally located to pretty much everything. We parked the car and never moved it the entire time. We were within easy walking distance to all the historical sites, restaurants and shops and didn't have to hassle with parking like we did for our last visit. Our overall spend was about the same but the experience was far superior.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, Geoff M, and for choosing to stay at the Jasmine House Inn!!! So glad that you were able to enjoy Charleston with little to no hassles; it makes a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Everyone was extremely accommodating & room & facility was clean & well appointed. A buffet breakfast was available, but there was no tables except outdoors to sit & eat comfortably unless you could get a small snack table & set it up.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Indigo Inn, Joan M; we appreciate your comments!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews