We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveller rating
1,642
271
117
41
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,642
271
117
41
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeninsula grillcoconut cakerelais chateauxteddy bearplantation kingsouthern charmturn down servicesweet teafour poster bedperfect locationsitting roommarket streetcharming hotelsmall hotelhistoric districtlovely roomwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Planter's Inn is in a great location - close to fabulous restaurants, shopping, site seeing & tours. The hotel was lovely. We enjoyed the parlor, especially when there was a supply of cheese toasts, and the macarons at bedtime.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellend768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton1844, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

ellend768,

Thank you for being our guest here at Planters Inn and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you back to Charleston.

Warmly,

Tarleton & The Planters Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We recently spent 4 nights at the historic Planters Inn in Charleston. The hotel is perfectly located within easy walking distance of all the sights you want to see in historic downtown Charleston. Many, many terrific restaurants also within a very short walking distance. The location just could not be any better. The hotel itself is lovely and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. Very nice sitting area to relax in, read, or sip a drink. Breakfast in the dining room was a nice start to each day. Food very nice. Drinks in the bar was a fun start to each evening.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton1844, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

pamela c,

Thank you for the gracious comments and we couldn't agree more in regards to our location and have such a beautiful Inn to come back to and escape the hustle of the city when needed. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Tarleton & The Planters Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

If you're looking for a 5-star, historic Inn, this is the place. Located in the heart of historic downtown. Conveniently located within walking distance to Charleston's finest restaurants. The best of both worlds with the allure of the finest and beautiful antique furnishing with all the modern accoutrements. We've been continual visitors to Charleston for 30-years, and Planters Inn is the best Inn that we've that found in the southeastern U.S.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank larrygdobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton1844, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

larrygdobbs,

Thank you for the very kind review and we are grateful to continue to serve you on your visits to Charleston. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Tarleton & The Planters Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely hotel. Everyone we interacted with had a smile, a kind word and made us feel as if we were valued guests. Breakfasts in the hotel’s Peninsula Grill are delicious and the servers are efficient and friendly. The front desk is helpful and welcoming and each day they would plot a scenic route for us to walk to our activities and explore the city. Rooms are immaculate and well appointed. Location is central to all Charleston has to offer and across from the market, so we never needed a car.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phylmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton1844, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Phylmont,

Thank you for the gracious comments and we are thrilled to hear about your experience as this is exactly what we strive for in regards to service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon during your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

We were there to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and have stayed in many upscale hotels. This was amount the best. Being located right in the middle of shopping and restaurants made it easy to get to whatever you wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rwendt749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton1844, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

rwendt749,

Thank you for the kind review. We are thrilled you found our location and accommodations among the best. Thank you for spending such a special anniversary with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindly,

Tarleton & The Planters Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews