We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home in Charleston!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Street Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlotte Street Cottage
Ranked #21 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home in Charleston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Our recent stay at the Charlotte Street Cottage was perfect--everything we hoped for and more. As the photos illustrate, this is a historic property with beautiful, private gardens. The cottage is cozy and immaculate, and well equipped with everything a visitor could need. Lisa and Geoff, the gracious and helpful owners, stocked the kitchen with fresh fruit and snacks and a lovely bottle of wine. (Thank you!) There are books, maps, and restaurant menus to help plan your stay in Charleston. The location is quiet and private, but within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and historic attractions. Our only disappointment was that the days flew by so quickly that we ran out of time. Delightful--hope to be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Shade, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the cottage for an extended weekend, and we were so happy with our decision to book here. The cottage is the renovated kitchen house for the Wegman-Holmes house in Charleston. It is quite spacious, and beautifully landscaped and private. Lisa was a joy to deal with, and has some great recommendations. The cottage is well equipped, with a nice kitchen, TV, cable, linens, all the comforts of home!! It is located on a beautiful quiet street. You can walk just about anywhere! Why spend money on a hotel room and be cramped when you can enjoy this wonderful cottage and relax in the garden?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagi122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Last minute decision ... See Charleston... VRBO ... Ahhh, Charlotte Street Cottage. Lisa sounds viable, Geoff seems realistic, take a risk. Oh, am I so pleased I did!! I found the cottage ready for my arrival. High 90 weather with a comfortable "home" base to explore the one city I had always wanted to really "explore" and explore I did... I must ask a question.. Why does anyone stay at a hotel with the intrusions and invasions...? Why does one stay at a B&B when the walls have ears and privacy is somewhat lacking. I had four very private walls - all mine. So I ask you, honeymooners - what are you thinking, stop that B&B thing... Explore your private home, gardens, city. It's all yours. Convenient to everything important including privacy!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molliebnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Here's all the reasons to stay at Charlotte Street Cottage vs. a hotel: 1) Hospitality: Thank you Lisa and Jeff for your warm and generous hospitality. We loved the wine, fresh strawberries, French pastries, snacks, etc. you left for us. We so appreciated Jeff's generous offer to drive us to pick up our rental car, Lisa inviting us into their home to use their computer so we could print out our boarding passes, and all of their helpful recommendations on sights and eats. 2) The cottage is so charming and it felt special to stay somewhere so historical. Immaculate and well appointed with everything you could possibly need: fully stocked kitchen, tv with DVD player (although there's so much to do, you won't have time to watch tv!), interesting reading material, washer/dryer, etc. It's a 2 story home, so you have plenty of room! 3) Location: That was one of the best parts. All the major sights are within walking distance, including a 24 hour grocery store. 4) Value: I researched cost extensively and the cottage is definitely a better deal vs. the high priced downtown hotels. Why pay for a small hotel room when you can stay in a beautiful home with such personal hospitality for less money? We loved it and highly recommend staying at Charlotte Street Cottage!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Charlotte Street Cottage is a charming residence which enjoys the reputation for personalized service.
The owners Geoff and Lisa live in the main house at the front of the lush 1acre garden. The cottage is situated to the rear of the property in a very private secluded garden.
It is located one block from an historic home, main street shopping with boutiques, restaurants, coffee shops and tourist office. Within walking distance to the waterfront, gardens, beautiful neighbourhoods and historical sites.
It has easy access to the highway for day trips to Mt. Pleasant, Plantations, beaches and malls.
The cottage is air conditioned on both floors and is charming and quaint as a cottage should be but has every modern convenience and a good supply of towels and linens.
The owners are as charming as the cottage. They are very helpful and gracious and always on hand.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

An amazing place to stay! As soon as we arrived at 32 Charlotte Street, we felt right at home. The cottage is charming and the owners treat you like family. Each of our questions (and we had many) were answered and the owners never made us feel as if we were interrupting their day. It was nice to walk the busy streets of Charleston knowing that you had your quiet peaceful cottage waiting for you at the end of each day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

What a blessing it was to have discovered Charlotte Street Cottage online before visiting Charleston, S.C. It was a gracious, warm, and inviting home away from home during our stay there. Beautifully and comfortably furnished, filled with light from the many windows that overlooked the glorious gardens, Charlotte street Cottage filled my heart with joy every time I stepped through its doors. After long days of exploring the streets of Charleston, it was such an absolute pleasure to return to this inviting sanctuary. its proprietors, Lisa and Geoff, could not have been more friendly or helpful with their inviting greetings or generous advice on everything from the best restaurants to dine in to the local haunts not to be missed. I can honestly say it was one of my all-time favorite vacation accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhughes595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Barksdale House Inn
#11 of 40 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
French Quarter
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jasmine House Inn
#10 of 40 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Ashley Inn
#13 of 40 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
The Governor's House Inn
#6 of 40 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Cottage

Property: Charlotte Street Cottage
Address: 32 Charlotte St, Charleston, SC 29403-6330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and private 1820's 2 bedroom kitchen house on an acre of gardens in historic downtown. Like a french country cottage. Amenities include full kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, private garden, cable T.V., WiFi. Walk to all. Just bring your toothbrush! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street Cottage Hotel Charleston
Charlotte South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing