We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in great spot!”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel! Enormous room w/full kitchen & separate BR. They bring you a complimentary breakfast every morning in a picnic basket. Late afternoon brings complimentary wine & cheese in the lobby & when you come back from dinner, there are Warm cookies! Only drawback is that the sofa in the living room isn't a sofa bed so while there's plenty of room for your family, you need to ask for a rollaway for the kids.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macadamia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is one of our new favorite hotels. We stayed here for the last 3 nights of a 3 city vacation and it was wonderful to have all of the extra space to spread out. The shower was huge and the washer and dryer came in handy after a day spent at the beach.

We all loved the breakfast picnic basket that was delivered every morning, the wine and cheese in the early evening and milk and cookies later in the evening.

The hotel was in a great location off of King Street and we were able to walk to everything that we wanted to see in historic Charleston. The only complaint that I would have is the noise through the windows and walls but I am not sure what the hotel could do to fix that. I just brought some ear plugs and that solved the problem.

Room Tip: Get a floor on the top floor to help with the noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you are going to Charleston, you should definitely consider the Restoration. My family and I (3 teenagers) went for a week and this was the perfect place for us. Check in was easy and the concierge told us about the daily wine and cheese reception and milk and cookies, as well as offering suggestions for restuarants. The general manager went out of his way to welcoem us and was on hand regularly. Breakfast was right on time and was more than plentiful. They also have bicycles, movies and iPads to borrow. The apartments are great - exposed brick, modern furniture, great kitchen and baths. I didn't have any issues with noise and there were several guests there. It is so perfectly located that you do not need a car, though the plantations are not to be missed. We will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAK1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The only reason this review has an average rating is because the walls are PAPER thin. You can literally hear your neighbors conversations, or the footsteps from your neighbors upstairs. There is city noise from King St, but this we expected, due to the location. And, we're OK with street noise (price you pay for staying in the city), but when we get woken up at 6am from footsteps upstairs, or our neighbors kids running up and down the hall, this is unacceptable for the price of the rooms at this hotel. So, seriously, bring ear plugs.

Otherwise, this is a great hotel, with great amenities and an awesome location. We enjoyed breakfast brought to our door, the wine and cheese, and the complimentary pass to the nearby gym.

We just wished we knew in advance to bring ear plugs, as I think this would have made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AEZeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is one of the more challenging reviews that I've written because of the idiosyncratic nature of this hotel. There are plenty of positives and negatives and I'll try to lay a few of them out here. On the positive side the hotel has very spacious rooms and is in an awesome location. The rooms were very cool with brick exposed walls, stainless kitchen and your own washer dryer setup. Very clear that this was designed to be a condo until the recession hit.

On the negative side, the hotel is expensive and the service is much less than I am used to at other hotels that I visit, and I travel quite a bit. There are only 15 rooms in the hotel and so you are not going to have a concierge or other helpful folks there to help you with your trip. This is more like a B & B experience so know that going in. We had a few glitches during our stay and the front desk was fairly non-responsive so it takes a hit in that category from me, as I expect top notch service at great hotels. Our bill was also incorrect when it arrived in the morning and the gentlemen at the front desk was fairly surly in trying to fix it. Again, the little things mean a lot when you are trying to compete with top notch hotels. There are also limited services at the hotel - like no gym, pool, etc. The place is a condo -- a very nice condo, but a condo. Also, as others have mentioned, the walls are paper thin so make sure you're not staying here if you are protecting or sharing state secrets.

So in the end, I would recommend this hotel if you know Charleston well already and do not need the services provided by some of the other hotels in town. It is great for a family looking for extra room in a great part of town. But do NOT choose this hotel if this is your first time in Charlestown and getting great service, recommendations for local activities, and things of that nature are what you need.

It's a nice hotel but certainly not in the range of the other top full-service places in town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The staff introduced themselves, offered to grocery shop for us, gave us complementary bicycles to ride around the city, inspected the room multiple times for cleanliness, refreshed beverages during our stay, had a wine reception, cookies at night , breakfast delivered in a basket to your room, and the manager personally made sure we were satisfied! The room was large, comfortable, and amazing. The location is perfect... close to great restaurants, historic sites, and fun places. We loved our stay in Charleston!!

Room Tip: Call the staff before you go and they will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dms017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I had been scoping out this place since last summer and was happy to get a Jetsetter deal during February, which is low season. The normal 1BR suite goes for $299/night and I got it for more than 1/3 off, plus we had a coupon for free parking from Trip Advisor. We stayed at the Vendue Inn for three nights and it was a nice stay, but decided to splurge for one night. Restoration on King was on a different level! We definitely felt pampered from the moment we arrived. Restoration on King was intended to be high-end condos but they turned it into a fantastic, upscale boutique hotel (only 15 rooms). Check-in was easy....and our room was ready before the normal check-in time! Darren gave us a quick tour. The suite was really nice--exposed brick, flat screen TVs, 1 1/2 bathrooms, multiple iPod docks, and free wifi. We relaxed a little before picking up our complimentary gym passes. There were nice lots of nice touches...from the toiletries to the free soda and water in our refrigerator! We came back, showered quickly, and made it downstairs to enjoy the manager's wine and cheese reception. Thanks to Virginia for her recommendations on what to do for our return trips! Restoration on King is in a great part of town...walkable to many great restaurants and around the corner from shopping! There is a full kitchen so you can cook or even bring in a chef to cook for you. Before dinner, we got turndown service, with robes and chocolates. And after sleeping on a soft mattress for three days, we drifted off to sleep on a firm, comfortable bed!

I gave this place 5 stars because of the location, the amenities, and the service but there was a minor issue. We were on the second floor and could hear people upstairs. Also, the room we were in was a loft style (the bedroom was separate but was not completely walled off because of the exposed ducts) so keep that in mind when you're making a reservation. I'd probably ask for a room on the third floor next time.

For breakfast, your order by leaving a card on the door the night before. We had croissants, danishes, yogurt, juice, muffins, and coffee delivered in a picnic basket. We took the extras for our drive home! The coffee comes from Charleston Coffee Roasters and it is delicious! I'm not a big coffee drinker and usually I have to put in extra cream and sweetener to make it drinkable, but this was smooth and I could almost drink it black! We planned to buy some on the way out of town but found out the address listed online was warehouse. :( A special thank you to Darren for coffee to go! I'm keeping my eye out for more deals because I want to return to this place!

They don't have traditional room service, but if you order something from a nearby place, they'll get it for your and deliver it to your room. If you choose to stay here, you won't be disappointed!

P.S. If you choose not to valet, there is a self park garage within a block or so. You probably won't need the car unless you're going out to visit a plantation or Patriot's Point.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ttphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,954 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,883 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $355 - $978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing