We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Water Taxi

Charleston Water Taxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss the boat! The Water Taxi is the most fun and convenient way to see Charleston harbor. We run every hour between Waterfront Park/Historic district, Aquarium Wharf, Patriots Point and Charleston Harbor Resort with dolphin sightings in between. $10 All day Pass and kids 3 and under are FREE. 9Am til 8pm 7 days a week. Going Sightseeing in downtown Charleston- take the Water Taxi! Want a relaxing harbor cruise- take the Water Taxi! Going to see the USS Yorktown- take the Water Taxi! Want to see some Dolphins- take the Water Taxi! Voted Best cheapest sunset and dolphin cruise in Charleston! Come see for yourself. Boats leave daily.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had so much fun on the water taxi! The staff was great and gave us several good tips about the area attractions. You can even see dolphins while on the taxi. Our kids loved it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank shari246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    117
    26
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best value in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Park over in the marina,then take the taxi to other sites (the aquarium, Patriots point, marina, etc). The price is cheap, the hassel is little and the staff is friendly! They go out of their way to point out sites and interesting things. You more than likely will see wildlife on the trip and it's just a cool way to get around!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank lvpropguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient transport from downtown to Patriot's Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Once you park, check into your downtown hotel and walk the city, do you really want to get in your car to drive out of the city? The water taxi is next to the aquarium and will give you a scenic ride to Patriot's Point. Enjoy views of the bay, town and the busy port as dolphins play nearby.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank CoastaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great way to get to Mt. Pleasant from Charleston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We bought the day pass for $10 and took the water taxi from Charleston to Mt. Pleasant to get to the Yorktown aircraft carrier. We were on the first trip of the day and saw several dolphins on the way and more on the way back later in mid-afternoon. The water taxi is a great way to get a view of the entire harbor as it goes south in the harbor from Charleston before going northeast to Mt. Pleasant. The ride back from Mt. Pleasant was more direct, staying in the northern part of the harbor, but was still a fun and breezy way to get back to Charleston on a hot day.

Helpful?
3 Thank CarmelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
238 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Nice friendly guys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My family decided to take a tour around, and stop at patriots point to see the ship. The guys were nice. Didnt tell us much about anything unless we asked, but thats okay. When we were disspointed in the price to see the yorktown ship, we decided to board the boat and go back over to charleston. The guys actually stopped and turned around to pick us back up. They stopped and let us look at the dolphins swimming around, let us get a good shot of the yorktown from the water, and took us over o another big car carrier ship that was docked. Nice guys. Pleasant ride.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tennboy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston Water Taxi also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing