We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun and informative”

Old Charleston Walking Tours
Ranked #46 of 246 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Charleston Walking Tours is proud to offer an array of narrated walks that cover the most interesting historical issues and sights in a city known for its turbulent past and unusual beauty. Our guides are the best in the business, with years of research and storytelling experience. They promise the kind of accuracy, insight and enthusiasm that create a delightful touring experience. Let them lead you to Charleston's hidden alleys and tell you what went on behind its closed doors.The daytime walks last approximately two hours. The ghost walks are shorter (and scarier).We go rain or shine. There are no hills. The pace is easy. Please join us. You'll be glad you did!
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Our group of 7 enjoyed the tour, which was needed to be book a few weeks ahead of time. After meeting in Washington Square (which was a neat place on its own), the tour of around 20 headed out. Mike was a great tour guide, who showed us pictures that really helped keep the tour interesting. The story for each stop on the tour was engaging and Mike kept it fun through the creepiness. I do wish he were able to stop at the Old City Jail, which was talked about extensively, but apparently only one company is able to do tours there.

I would recommend this tour to anyone! Not too scary for kids as long as they aren't easily frightened.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank cme119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ghost tour"
in 292 reviews
"mike brown"
in 48 reviews
"great tour"
in 79 reviews
"creepy stories"
in 9 reviews
"story teller"
in 22 reviews
"ghost walk"
in 14 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 25 reviews
"great stories"
in 12 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 17 reviews
"small group"
in 9 reviews
"podcast"
in 10 reviews
"history"
in 350 reviews
"information"
in 71 reviews
"terror"
in 16 reviews
"storytelling"
in 21 reviews
"homes"
in 42 reviews
"pace"
in 23 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2018

We had a really good time on Mike Brown's 9:30 p.m. ghost tour. He is clearly a very experienced guide and knows how to tell a story. Additionally, we were allowed to bring our dog on the tour (there is no indication she disturbed the spirits!). We learned Mike had a podcast and even listened to it on the way home. A great way to spend an evening in Charleston!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Indiana_of_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We have been on quite a few ghost tours in various cities, and this one ranks at the very top! The tour guide, Mike, doesn't just tell stories, he shares his personal experiences, which makes the storytelling much spookier! Mike isn't merely a tour guide; he has made it his life's work to explore spooky happenings in spooky places (not just in Charleston, but throughout the country) for the past 20 years. He doesn't simply tell you about the creepy things that "other people" have experienced in the old jail --- he shares his personal experience of spending the night in the old jail. Actually, he's had multiple personal experiences in the old jail --- all of them very creepy! We visited quite a few sites around Charleston, including Poogan's Porch, the Library Society building, a churchyard, and "Bloody Alley". In addition to telling gripping tales, Mike shared photos that were REALLY spooky. My one regret is that we did this tour our first night in town instead of our last, because after the tour, I was too scared to go inside some of the buildings during the day! (As with most ghost tours, the tour does not go inside any buildings.). This is a great tour for teens and adults. As adults without children, we appreciated that the stories weren't watered-down to be "kid-friendly". I'm sure there are plenty of other tour companies out there that cater to families with kids, but this tour is great for those who want a truly spooky experience! I highly recommend it!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank katsusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Mike, (Mike Brown’s substitute) did an amazing job telling creepy stories (including personal ones) about the ghosts of downtown. Mike worked in the old county records building and told how it is one of the most haunted buildings in the town with many of the employees having scary encounters. That just began a night of terror. Mike had some great pictures to share that went along with his stories, which were a nice element. When a little girl got scared on the tour, Mike did a great job calming her down and he relates well to everyone. He even had bug spray to keep us all from getting eaten. You will really be happy if you pick this ghost tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank mikesH1659TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Mike is great and an excellent tour guide. He’s very knowledgeable, experienced, and tells very interesting/creepy stories! This was our second time taking his tour and it was awesome both times! He also has a creepy podcast I enjoy very much called Pleasing Terrors. Definitely take his ghost tour & check out his podcast!! He does great work and you won’t regret it!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank rtoptngirl276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Charleston Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Charleston Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing