We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Price-Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #30 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Convenient and Price-Friendly”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

While this is not in the historic district, it is only an 8-minute drive and about half the price. The breakfast is fine - nothing elaborate, but good enough. Nice view of the marina - ask for a room with a balcony.

Room Tip: Balcony is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    248
    68
    27
    21
See reviews for
192
208
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend stay in Charleston at the SpringHill Suites. It was close to downtown Charleston, and the evening shuttle was a nice plus. The staff was very hospitable and helpful, and the breakfast was good. The only drawback was navigating to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked for two nights and I thought it was a bit pricey, but compared to downtown prices it wasn't too bad. The free shuttle service was nice- we used it on the first night. We were able to get there and back on the first try. Know that the shuttle service starts at 5pm, so any trips during the day are up to you to drive. We were here during a busy week, so parking was a nightmare during the day and took up a lot of time.
Our room was fine, but it took until 4pm the second day before our room was cleaned. We had no clean towels because we had to wait for laundry to be done. Not a huge issue, but a pain when you want to shower and there are no dry towels to use. The pool area was fine, but very basic as would be expected. Breakfast was good, and there was fruit, cookies and tea/coffee available for portions of the day beyond breakfast time.
Overall, I would not stay here again, but look downtown even though it is more expensive if that is the area you are interested in seeing.

Room Tip: The harbor side has better views. I asked for this in my online reservation and this was honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My friends and I booked this hotel while in Charleston for the Cooper River Bridge Run. The hotel is nice and close to everything. It was perfect for us, since we didn't care very much about going downtown. The room was a little plain, and a little pricey--but expected for that weekend. But they did have breakfasts to go for us, and offered it starting at 4am. Very nice gesture.

The hotel did advise us at check in that they had set up a special rate with a shuttle service for the race. I thought this was a grand idea. The front desk rep was quick to advise that the shuttle service sets the rate, and they just them as a preffered shuttle service. They did provide the number of the service. I contacted the transportation company and was told the rate to be picked up and taken to the race start line. The rate also included pick up after the race. But when the shuttle service picked us up, we were advised there was additional charge. I know this isn't the fault of the hotel, but found it well worth mentioning. It seems this particular shuttle company is quite familiar with the bait and switch process.

Otherwise...great hotel in a great location!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Harbor Side. Beautiful view of the giant yachts coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieTravels79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is ok. It's definitely not your average Springhill. A bit below standard. I wasn't impressed but it's perfectly fine. A good value though considering the free hot breakfast and complimentary evening shuttle downtown. MIght want to check out the Residence Inn right nex door. You can get a suite with free breakfast and complimentary shuttle for about the same price. That's where I'm staying time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelj318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosup, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This Hotel is not a 5 star Marriot, or i would have rated it a 5. But the help were very friendly and we had on of the few rooms with a balcony over looking the horbor, it was very clean and even though it appeared that the hotel was full, it was a very quiet room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel is a bit difficult to get to, even using GPS. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. I booked it because it had a fridge and microwave. Breakfast was well done. The location is close to the beaches and downtown Charleston. There was only one working computer though and in the middle of the night, there was a repetitive noise that sounded like a washing machine from above that kept me awake. After quite a while, it stopped. This was the only unrestful event of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eho91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
1.2 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, shuttle to the historic district (at a small fare), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing