We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Pros and some Cons....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I'm usually a big fan of most Spinghill Suites because the rooms are so spacious (although really oddly designed!). This one is no exception - design was weird - no door to sink area - and it was in the middle of the room - across from the beds - with a full length mirror for someone to stare at themselves while they're trying to watch TV!

The room had a microwave and fridge - both came in handy. The room was not the cleanest, and I must admit and did have a strange moldy/musty smell that others have mentioned. I've smelled this smell before in older hotels that are in humid climates. The room had nice beds, good furniture, and two TVs. The AC didn't cool the room adequately. We had it set to 60 degrees and we weren't cold.

The breakfast and common areas were great - and the location was good. Parking was challenging the first night, but I found a spot.

The thing that stood out the most about this place was the stressed-out guy working the front desk (by himself) on a BUSY Saturday night at around 10pm. For the life of me, I can't see why they put staff by themselves in a major city hotel on a weekend evening. I mentioned this to the guy, and he made a disparaging comment about management. Yep, so he agreed with me, and wasn't shy about sharing that tidbit. Tad unprofessional, but I appreciated his honesty. The same stressed-out guy was present when I checked out on Labor Day morning, but he had a buddy with him - likely a supervisor or manager. Funny how it was dead that morning, but there were two of them there. This is a common thing I've seen all summer while staying at various Marriott properties. At any rate, I wouldn't say that the service was impeded by Mr. Stressed-Out being left alone, but it was a bit of a strange experience.

I don't think I'd return here if I visited Charleston again. I'd probably try to stay somewhere new, considering the bad AC and the smell were deal breakers...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We appreciate your feedback. Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service to each guest, and we are sorry for the many problems that inconvenienced you. We will certainly make improvements in these areas, and we hope you will give us an opportunity to show you a more outstanding experience when you return to our city. Thank you again for staying with us.

Rick Buggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel a little after 7pm to checkin. Everything went as expected-prompt, quick service, and we were sent off to our room. We were tired and found the beds to be comfortable. The next morning we went to breakfast. The breakfast was great-plenty to choose from. Immediately after breakfast we headed back to the room to get ready for the day. Our daughter broke her foot on the bed. I went straight to the front desk to find the nearest ER, which the desk attendant helped with. They were very kind and accommodating in getting us hospital options. However, after we returned from the ER and stopped back by the desk, no one asked us to fill out an incident report, accident report, or anything. It was as if they ignored what happened, they could pretend like it didn't occur on their property. We opted to check out and head home instead of staying, as our daughter was on crutches and couldn't do anything we planned for our trip.
We won't stay here again. It's unfortunate since it's in a good location.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank beth070303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear beth070303,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this issue. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within Marriott.

Rick Buggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3 kiddos for a weekend stop in Charleston. At check in, we were told that we'd have a balcony room. When we arrived to our room, it smelled terrible. A damp & mold smell. We also did not have a balcony room. The ceiling fan was super squeaky. The TVs didn't work. The room wasn't the cleanest. My husband went down to ask about a balcony room & the front desk attendant was rude. We decided to stick it out because we were all tired from traveling. The breakfast in the morning was really good. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again and was surprised at the quality for a Marriott.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank lauren8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We pride ourselves on excellence in every respect, so it is disappointing to know we didn't provide the service that you have come to expect from our brand. Please accept our apology as well as assurance that your concerns have been noted and will be addressed.

Rick Buggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

First leg of our road trip was a stop in Charleston. The hotel was not located in the downtown district but was about a 5-10 minute drive. There was a shuttle the hotel provided but it was $6 per person. It was cheaper to drive ourselves or take an Uber.

The weather wasn't great so we didn't use the pool. There was a ping pong table and cornhole set outside too. The free breakfast was delicious, but the seating was limited and some people took their food back to their rooms.

The room was nice. Pillows and blankets comfy. Mini fridge and microwave. Seating area and two TVs. The only thing that was weird were the TVs. The remotes did not work and the guide was not helpful. Finally the alarm clock was not set which was annoying.

Overall good trip would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank laurenmcginley126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear laurenmcginley126,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at the SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are happy you and your family loved our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and your well-equipped room. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you all soon.

Rick Buggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Our check in process flowed smoothly, and our room was immaculate! We've visited Charleston once before, but this hotel was a first! Myriam gave us exact directions to a nearby seafood restaurant and even told us to call ahead because it's so popular. She didn't seemed bothered by the continuous questions about excellent places to eat, and was quite helpful. I guess the city does earn its "hospitable" title! We will definitely return!!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BRANDY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Brandy,

Thank you for the outstanding rating of your stay at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. It is a pleasure to know that you and your friends loved our service, especially provided by Myriam and your well-maintained room. I will share your comments with her for a job well done. On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to your return.

Rick Buggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Ten family members booked three rooms for a trip to Charleston and Folly Beach. We chose the Springhill because I knew it was close to Folly Beach and to downtown. I thought the hotel was very clean, nice sized rooms if you get one with two queen beds, very kind staff everywhere in the hotel, excellent breakfast options every morning, free wi-fi to appease the teenagers, a shuttle to downtown (which we would have used if it had been an option during weekdays) and a nice pool area. We had a great stay at this location and would stay again if we ever return to Charleston. Our only complaint was that the bags for the bag toss game smelled really moldy, leaving your hands and the playing area smelly too, so those bags probably need to be addressed, but otherwise our group found Springhill to be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Rooms with two queen beds offer a bit more space for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Carla W,

Thank you for sharing your kind review of SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. It’s so nice to read our location was convenient for your needs and that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We also appreciate your observation and have taken a note of it. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Rick Buggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Great location as it has free parking and a shuttle to take you downtown/historic district. You can leave your car there the day you check out and take the shuttle which was very convenient. Aaron at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was perfect with a lot of options and the staff was keeping everything hot and stocked the entire time. Only gripe and it's a major one when reviewing for a hotel was our room was not clean particularly the bathroom. There were dirty towels in the shower and curly black hairs all over-so gross. Housekeeping needs to step their game up tremendously.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Dawn M,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay in Charleston and that you took advantage of our convenient shuttle. Thank you for recognizing Aaron at the front desk, he will be pleased to know he helped make your stay enjoyable. However, we do want to apologize for failing to provide the clean, spotless room you you should always expect. We know how important fresh accommodations are to every guest and we will be following up with our housekeeping staff to make sure we are following all procedures when readying a room for an incoming guest. We are committed to providing outstanding service, and we hope you will give us another chance to prove that to you.

Rick Buggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,176 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: C$189 - C$460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, shuttle to the historic district (at a small fare), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing