We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I'm currently staying at The Charleston Place and we just found a roach in our room! I'm so upset that I had to write this to let everyone know now! Not only did we kill a roach, the lady at the front desk seemed irritated by our call to her. Then, housekeeping came to "clean" it up and acted as if this is a common problem. Unacceptable for a room that is $240 a night. We've also had no apology or any word for that matter from management.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CleanPlease34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear CleanPlease34,

I am very sorry to hear that you had an unwanted “visitor” in your guest room. Unlike many modern hotels, Charleston Place has working windows in all of our guest rooms. In the past, when a guest has opened the window or balcony door, Palmetto Bugs, that are very similar to roaches, actually have flown into a guest room. Please know that these are not the same kind of bugs as German roaches, that are infested. These insects typically fly in through the window or balcony. We certainly understand the concern as this is very unacceptable to us as well. Unfortunately, on rare occasion, they make their way in and we have a pest control treatment in place for such incidences.

Our goal is to provide the best possible guest experience for everyone who stays with us and I apologize for your disappointment. If you are still on property, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,214)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Charleston Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,543 - 2,549 of 3,214 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Charleston Place is an upscale hotel with fabulous service, an excellent location, and an elegant lobby. Overall, our stay was pleasurable, with just a few minor drawbacks that kept us from giving the hotel a top rating.

Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to the concierge level (consisting of the seventh and eighth floors), which provides access to a free food and beverage area. In the morning we took advantage of the continental breakfast buffet, and enjoyed gourmet desserts when we returned to Charleston Place in the evening. This upgrade was definitely the highlight of our stay. Another positive aspect was the prime service. Every staff member we encountered, from the concierge to the bellman, accommodated us to their fullest ability while still being friendly and kind. Last but not least, the hotel's prime location was extremely convenient, with all the major streets and attractions within walking distance.

Despite these positive attributes, there were several features of the hotel we disliked, though they are fairly minor. An issue we constantly faced was the inconsistency of the room key. Of the two keys we recieved, one deactivated after its first use, so we had to rely on the other to get into our room. Even then the working key rarely ever operated on the first try, though the door always unlocked eventually. We were also unimpressed by how simple and outdated the decor and furniture in our room was, which ought to have been more luxurious for the price.

All in all, our stay at Charleston Place was relatively enjoyable, and we therefore award the hotel four stars out of five for the wonderful upgrade, above-average service, and central location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the concierge level, which are found on the seventh and eighth floors, have access to a fre...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Charleston place touts itself as a very upscale hotel, but for the price of its rooms we were quite disappointed. The layout of a single bed room is awkward with very outdated furniture and a giant closet, drawer and entertainment piece that takes up almost a third of the room.

Otherwise, the physical fitness center is typical of most hotels as is the spa.

Room Tip: Always ask for a free upgrade.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

One of many Hotels too win Best of the Best from Conde Nast Travel Magazine. Located downtown on Meeting Street and Market. Great Restaurants and Shops in the hotel and you can pickup a real English Cab outside the door to do airport runs or tours ! Ask for Robert Cummings probably the best driver. Walk to many historical homes and sites. Some of the top restaurants 2 min walk left or right.

Room Tip: Happy to share any info on Charleston Sc louisrusso@bellsouth.net don't miss New York City at...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRUSSO-REALTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a visit to Charleston, from Wales UK, in September 2011. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was roomy with plenty of soft towels and very nice toiletries. Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice, it was a little pricey but the food was delicious and the staff there made us feel important. Also there are lots of places to eat within strolling distance. Charleston Place is in a great location and just across from the Central Market which sells almost everything! My only disappointment was that there was no tea making facility in the room......very important to we British!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great location in the French Quarter. Everything (dining, shopping, sightseeing) is in easy walking distance. Rooms are comfortable, but the noise proofing is terrible.

We had Club access, which was worth it - breakfast, afternoon snacks, etc were excellent, although the club was constantly packed with people.

Service was outstanding, from the bell staff to the front desk. Best was the concierge.

On property dining was excellent, but extremely expensive. That said, our Charleston Grill dinner was one of the best meals we've had in a long time.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I booked Charleston Place through www.whatahotel.com and I'm glad I did. Upon check in I was upgraded to a suite, received a $100 food and beverage credit and complimentary continental breakfast and received a welcome amenity later that evening which was a nice bottle of champagne. The staff was excellent and the hotel beautiful. Best part was the location; the hotel is right in the middle of everything. I look forward to staying at The Charleston Place again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $420 - $933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing