We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$284
PricelineUS$284
Hotels.comUS$284
eDreamsUS$284
WyndhamUS$284
Lol.travelUS$335
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,533)
Filter reviews
4,533 results
Traveller rating
2,440
1,274
472
230
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,440
1,274
472
230
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location barbadoes room barbados room queen street within walking distance valet parking historic district holiday inn beautiful courtyard corner room southern charm per day meeting street charming hotel downtown charleston valet service city market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 4,533 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2021 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute for a weekend trip to Charleston with my wife and kids. We are regulars in Charleston and have visited The Mills House bar before, so we figured we would give it a try. As soon as we opened the door to our room, our spirits were completely deflated. This hotel is a complete dump. Nice lobby, but the rooms remind me of a cheap roadside motel. Beyond old and warn out. As others have warned, tonight the main bar is closed for a private party. Do yourself a favor and stay literally anywhere else.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank petee355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Burton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2021

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. If you would like to talk any further about the issues you faced, please feel free to reach out to the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2021

No one at front desk, no one to receive you when you arrive, had to get cart and get my own luggage to my room
No one answer phone when you call from your room
Rooms to small
You request upgrade they ignore you
Unprofessional staff
Not worth money

Room tip: They won’t upgrade even if you request it - staff and management not professional.
Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JMLabarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Burton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2021

It's unfortunate to hear you were unsatisfied with so many aspects of your stay. If you would like to elaborate on the issues you mentioned, please feel free to reach out the us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2021

This is our second time at this property. Our last stay was 6/2019.
The reception and common areas are beautiful! Lovely court yard with a fountain, great restaurant and bar. Walking through the hotel is beautiful.
Our room was NOT. We were given one room and were really disappointed in the room and the view so we requested to move. The lady who checked us in was really nice and switched us to another room with a nice view. She actually gave us an upgrade. We were hoping that included not only a nice view but a nicer room but we soon found out it was the same shabby looking room as the last one. The hallway had a really nasty odor that never went away. (Only time it’s nice to have to wear a mask)
The room was very small which is not a big deal but the furniture was worn out. Everything was worn out. The room and the bathroom. We were told that they are rebranding and redoing all the guest rooms. We will definitely not return until this is done. She said it’s scheduled for the end of 2021 or the beginning of 2022.

Room tip: Terribly worn out rooms
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaoD2363FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Burton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments so we know if there are areas we need to improve upon. I do hope we can see you again in the future and give you a room you will better enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2021 via mobile

Our stay at the Mills House was great. Very clean, valet was fast and friendly, check in was quick and easy! Location was convenient to everything we wanted to do. Would recommend to anyone looking to spend time in Charleston!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lkedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Burton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2021

Thanks for the great review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2021

Clean, safe and perfectly located. Mattress could be updated, but enjoyed a nice large room. Staff were responsive and we coming. Valentine's dinner in the Barbadoes room was excellent! Will stay again when in Charleston!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 736bethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Burton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2021

Thank you for choosing The Mills House for your Valentine's weekend!
We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews