We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here based on trip advisor rating
Beautiful property . Large comfortable room. Friendly,helpful staff. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrmnjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
TripAdvisor is truly a great asset to us as our guests’ can share their experience. We do love to hear that these reviews help guests decide to stay with us, instead of elsewhere in Charleston. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your lovely compliments. We hope we don’t have to wait too long to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,454
    224
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
530
1,521
39
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for a few days on a trip down south. It was perfectly located in the heart of the city and had great service and amenities. We had two rooms, both with amazing views of the city center and the ocean. The staff was as friendly as could be and really showed us some good ol' southern hospitality. If you want to be able to walk around Charleston and know you have a fantastic base to return to the French Quarter Inn is for you. The afternoon drinks and snacks was always a nice treat as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Southern Hospitality and luxury in the middle of Charleston’s historic district is definitely what we do best. It was truly our pleasure to pamper you and show you the charm this city can offer. Thank you for your review and compliments. We can’t wait to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

After a 10 hour drive...champagne awaited my husband and I upon check in...this was just the beginning of our 3 and a half days of pampering. The rooms are gorpeous...beds are so comfortable. The inn is close to everything. We walked everywhere. Definitely recommended. Michelle at the front desk was VERY helpful...thank you

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassemlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Champagne at the end of 10 hours can certainly be rewarding and needed. We are delighted that we could start your vacation with a toast and a little taste of how great the pampering can be. Your gracious compliments and recommendations are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent 3 nights at the French Quarter Inn and the reviews are on target! The staff, from reception to housekeeping to valet parking, were genuinely friendly and interested in talking to us. The facility is lovely, rooms are spacious, and the location is great. The afternoon wine and cheese, warm evening cookies, and morning continental buffet make this "stay" one of the best values we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FollowISU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Our team truly enjoys what we do and we hope that each guest knows that by the time they leave. It was our pleasure to be your host while in Charleston. We are delighted that you enjoyed our amenities and found us to be a great value. We can’t wait to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our second trip to Charleston -- last time stayed at Market Pavillion.... French Quarter so much a better value! save some money, nice room, wine at 5:00 . we pass through Charleston a lot -- will now make French Quarter our stay every

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hard2please2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We have been very fortunate that we have many guests’ like you that choose to stay with us every time they visit Charleston. We truly enjoy being home away from home and welcoming you every time you step through the door. Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to being part of your routine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Great location in the middle of the city, wonderful staff, wonderful rooms and the breakfast in the morning (they have a private courtyard) is the perfect start. The place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
You have definitely highlighted some of the great features that the French Quarter Inn offers. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your recommendation. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Very nice hotel. Great amenities and attentive staff

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awey33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We are glad you enjoy the hotel, our amenities, and our staff. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing