We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
French Quarter Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$287
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$239
US$199
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,151)
Filter reviews
3,151 results
Traveller rating
2,856
238
42
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,856
238
42
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkpillow menuglass of champagnewine and cheesejelly beansport winedetox waterchampagne on arrivalcontinental breakfastturn down servicem msevening cookiesquichehappy hourwithin walking distanceearly eveningsouthern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
2,335 - 2,340 of 3,151 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is our fourth stay at the FQI in Charleston and we love it! Michelle is just one of the top notch staff that make every visit perfect. Very professional, knowledgeable and full of southern hospitality. The breakfast, champagne on arrival(& from 3-4 daily), wine and cheese in the evenings, turn down service and cookies and milk at night - oh, and coffee and tea 24/7 absolutely spoils us! They add that special touch to any special occasion - bottle of chilled champagne in our room on arrival. The rooms are well appointed and the beds very comfortable. Just the best all around!!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the Market street side if you are visiting over a Friday night. The trash pick up at 6:30 on Saturday is very loud.
Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank luv2travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Luv2travelfam,

Wow! THE BEST HOTEL IN THE WORLD! Thank you and we look forward to welcoming y'all back for your fifth stay soon!

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements by becoming our “Friend” on Facebook. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with a great location and staff. I passed a tea shop when I was out exploring but could not remember where exactly it was. The gentleman at the desk helped me find it - he was so kind. The rooms a light, bright, clean and large. The breakfast was a great way to start a day of sight seeing - nice grab and go choices. The wine and cheese is a great way to unwind before dinner. But i must say what i will miss will be the milk and cookies at bed time is the perfect way to end a day in the city. I had a great time - I will all hotels were like this one.

Room Tip: I had a room with two double beds. The bathroom is huge. The third floor was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvbigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We completely agree that the milk and cookies before bed is the perfect way to end a day. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and TripAdvisor. We can’t wait until you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2012

FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!
The French Quarter Inn is a JEWEL of a hotel that provided first rate service and amenities with an ideal location across the street from the Market. Upon entering the hotel the entire staff from bellman to front desk was so friendly and gracious, very accommodating. We so enjoyed the ladyfingers and champagne upon check in and I must mention the fine wine and cheese at 5 PM and milk and cookies at night. It was also great to have mango tea or lemonade along with M & M’s and jelly beans all day!!!!!! Right outside my room was a station with coffee and teas, so convenient! The décor of the room was beautiful, comfortable beds, and the bathroom was very spacious. I loved the iron stand that held many Plush towels that were replenished during turn down service at evening, the chocolates were also delicious. The room was very clean and well appointed! It was my son’s Birthday and upon arrival there was a bottle of champagne waiting in our room from the manager! The atmosphere of the hotel was quaint and we so enjoyed meeting guest during breakfast or at the evening wine social. The front desk staff was exceptional especially I must mention Miss Jenny and Mr. Marvin - many terrific suggestions for dinner, golf and sightseeing!!! We were also late coming back from a tour and they told us not to worry and allowed us late checkout. The BEST place to stay in town with great southern charm and hospitality! Cannot wait to Return!!!! Bonnie, Tom, Dr. T.J. Middletown, MD February 20-23, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Your wonderfully descriptive review has brought a very large smile to our faces. Thank you for the gracious compliments of all that you enjoyed. We truly love what we do here and are delighted that you partook in all of our amenities. Happy Birthday to your son and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We chose the French Quarter Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we’re happy we did. My husband and I were visiting Charleston for the first time, and we wanted to be close to the activity. (We had ruled out the Wentworth Mansion because it was a little further away.) We were a short walk away to the start of our walking tour and great restaurants like Fig and Peninsula Grill.
We had a room on the second floor. Although the hotel was full, we couldn’t hear anyone in the halls or in other rooms from inside our room. Some of the other reviewers commented on the lack of views. Our room looked out over Linguard St. We could see the steeples of the St. Philip’s and the Huguenot churches. The view wasn’t spectacular, but it wasn’t horrible. The bathroom wasn’t the most modern, but it was clean and in good repair. It had a standard hotel tub/shower like you would find at a Marriott, InterContinental, Westin etc.
Service was great. The desk staff addressed us by name, and the valets brought our car without having to ask for our name or room number. We especially appreciated the nightly turndown service that included a re-cleaning of our bathroom after we had gotten ready for dinner, a weather report for the following day and chocolates.
The continental breakfast was substantial with assorted pastries, bagels, dried cereal, fruit, yogurt and juices. They even had my regular cereal I eat at home (Kashi GoLean brand). We enjoyed the wine and cheese every evening before setting out for dinner. The nighttime cookies were also delicious.
We were able to get a great rate of $189/night. We were somewhat flexible with our dates, and we found a coupon on line from the Charleston Visitors Bureau. We also used the free parking coupon from Tripadvisor.
We would definitely return the next time we are in Charleston.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grendelpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer a full review of your stay. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, as we know there are many choices in Charleston. Our location is such an amazing asset to our guests and we love to hear how the convenience is something our guests’ truly enjoy, as well as the extra amenities and above excellence service we strive to provide on a daily basis. We greatly appreciate all of your compliments and we will work diligently to offer the same service for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Outstanding front desk personnel. They assisted with our every desire and more. They made us feel like we were staying with family and greeted us by name everytime we walked in or out. The location is perfect. There can be no greater hotel in all of Charleston. Book it and you will be delighted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Each guest that walks through our doors is part of our family and we are truly overjoyed to have you stay with us. Our team truly enjoys welcoming everyone and ensuring your stay is all that you desire. Thank you for letting us know that we succeeded in making your stay the best. We can’t wait to welcome you home again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews