We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth the splurge.”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth the splurge.”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I recently stayed at the FQI with a bunch of girl friends as part of their Diva package. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and ideally located (right next to the markets). As part of our package, we received a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries upon check-in. The daily wine and cheese event in the lobby was awesome, and the continental breakfast was pretty nice as well. They even had a "pillow menu" in the room, so you could order the kind of pillow you like. The concierge at the front desk (I think her name was Faith) was so nice and so helpful. We did encounter some other front desk employees who were much less friendly and not very helpful, but it wasn't a big deal, just a little frustrating. Honestly, the one drawback of this hotel is the price. It's pretty pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor, and it was perfect- close to the food, wine/cheese, and coffee/tea stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear C A,

We are delighted you ladies enjoyed your stay! We understand that value is interpreted differently depending on each traveler including what they are seeking for in a hotel. You have my promise that I will work diligently to continue to enhance every aspect of our hotel so that every guest feels that their value expectations have been met at the very minimum.

Stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements by becoming our “Friend” on Facebook. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,516
    230
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
543
1,564
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is our fourth stay at the FQI in Charleston and we love it! Michelle is just one of the top notch staff that make every visit perfect. Very professional, knowledgeable and full of southern hospitality. The breakfast, champagne on arrival(& from 3-4 daily), wine and cheese in the evenings, turn down service and cookies and milk at night - oh, and coffee and tea 24/7 absolutely spoils us! They add that special touch to any special occasion - bottle of chilled champagne in our room on arrival. The rooms are well appointed and the beds very comfortable. Just the best all around!!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the Market street side if you are visiting over a Friday night. The trash pick up...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Luv2travelfam,

Wow! THE BEST HOTEL IN THE WORLD! Thank you and we look forward to welcoming y'all back for your fifth stay soon!

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements by becoming our “Friend” on Facebook. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with a great location and staff. I passed a tea shop when I was out exploring but could not remember where exactly it was. The gentleman at the desk helped me find it - he was so kind. The rooms a light, bright, clean and large. The breakfast was a great way to start a day of sight seeing - nice grab and go choices. The wine and cheese is a great way to unwind before dinner. But i must say what i will miss will be the milk and cookies at bed time is the perfect way to end a day in the city. I had a great time - I will all hotels were like this one.

Room Tip: I had a room with two double beds. The bathroom is huge. The third floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We completely agree that the milk and cookies before bed is the perfect way to end a day. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and TripAdvisor. We can’t wait until you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!
The French Quarter Inn is a JEWEL of a hotel that provided first rate service and amenities with an ideal location across the street from the Market. Upon entering the hotel the entire staff from bellman to front desk was so friendly and gracious, very accommodating. We so enjoyed the ladyfingers and champagne upon check in and I must mention the fine wine and cheese at 5 PM and milk and cookies at night. It was also great to have mango tea or lemonade along with M & M’s and jelly beans all day!!!!!! Right outside my room was a station with coffee and teas, so convenient! The décor of the room was beautiful, comfortable beds, and the bathroom was very spacious. I loved the iron stand that held many Plush towels that were replenished during turn down service at evening, the chocolates were also delicious. The room was very clean and well appointed! It was my son’s Birthday and upon arrival there was a bottle of champagne waiting in our room from the manager! The atmosphere of the hotel was quaint and we so enjoyed meeting guest during breakfast or at the evening wine social. The front desk staff was exceptional especially I must mention Miss Jenny and Mr. Marvin - many terrific suggestions for dinner, golf and sightseeing!!! We were also late coming back from a tour and they told us not to worry and allowed us late checkout. The BEST place to stay in town with great southern charm and hospitality! Cannot wait to Return!!!! Bonnie, Tom, Dr. T.J. Middletown, MD February 20-23, 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Your wonderfully descriptive review has brought a very large smile to our faces. Thank you for the gracious compliments of all that you enjoyed. We truly love what we do here and are delighted that you partook in all of our amenities. Happy Birthday to your son and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We chose the French Quarter Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we’re happy we did. My husband and I were visiting Charleston for the first time, and we wanted to be close to the activity. (We had ruled out the Wentworth Mansion because it was a little further away.) We were a short walk away to the start of our walking tour and great restaurants like Fig and Peninsula Grill.
We had a room on the second floor. Although the hotel was full, we couldn’t hear anyone in the halls or in other rooms from inside our room. Some of the other reviewers commented on the lack of views. Our room looked out over Linguard St. We could see the steeples of the St. Philip’s and the Huguenot churches. The view wasn’t spectacular, but it wasn’t horrible. The bathroom wasn’t the most modern, but it was clean and in good repair. It had a standard hotel tub/shower like you would find at a Marriott, InterContinental, Westin etc.
Service was great. The desk staff addressed us by name, and the valets brought our car without having to ask for our name or room number. We especially appreciated the nightly turndown service that included a re-cleaning of our bathroom after we had gotten ready for dinner, a weather report for the following day and chocolates.
The continental breakfast was substantial with assorted pastries, bagels, dried cereal, fruit, yogurt and juices. They even had my regular cereal I eat at home (Kashi GoLean brand). We enjoyed the wine and cheese every evening before setting out for dinner. The nighttime cookies were also delicious.
We were able to get a great rate of $189/night. We were somewhat flexible with our dates, and we found a coupon on line from the Charleston Visitors Bureau. We also used the free parking coupon from Tripadvisor.
We would definitely return the next time we are in Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grendelpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer a full review of your stay. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, as we know there are many choices in Charleston. Our location is such an amazing asset to our guests and we love to hear how the convenience is something our guests’ truly enjoy, as well as the extra amenities and above excellence service we strive to provide on a daily basis. We greatly appreciate all of your compliments and we will work diligently to offer the same service for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
226 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Outstanding front desk personnel. They assisted with our every desire and more. They made us feel like we were staying with family and greeted us by name everytime we walked in or out. The location is perfect. There can be no greater hotel in all of Charleston. Book it and you will be delighted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Each guest that walks through our doors is part of our family and we are truly overjoyed to have you stay with us. Our team truly enjoys welcoming everyone and ensuring your stay is all that you desire. Thank you for letting us know that we succeeded in making your stay the best. We can’t wait to welcome you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

How many superlatives can you fit into one English sentence? A wonderful hotel, a special ambiance, a delightful complimentary wine and cheese interlude every afternoon, scrumptious cookies and coffee on the house every evening, outstanding desk people that will help you find the best of Charleston... Do you have the idea yet? You will regret it if you miss this warm and hospitable inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Your gracious compliments and delightful review has made us blush. Thank you for truly expressing your thoughts of the service and amenities you received while visiting us. It was truly our pleasure to spoil you and ensure that you enjoyed every moment within the French Quarter Inn. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing