We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel in Beautiful Historic Charleston”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Travelers Rest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel in Beautiful Historic Charleston”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

If you are looking for a first class hotel in historic Charleston, I would strongly suggest the French Quarter Inn. Situated within walking distance of the entire historic district, this hotel offers first class service and ammenities. Michelle and Marvin, at the front desk, continuously go above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect. They are wonderfully helpful and ideal representatives of Southern hospitality. After long days of sightseeing, the French Quarter Inn is a great place as your home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Michael W,

One of the most frequent comments I hear and read from our guests is that we are like a "home away from home" for them when visiting Charleston. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

I will make sure to recognize Marvin and Michele for their outstanding service. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,517
    230
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
544
1,564
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westwood
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The French Quarter deserves its #1 ranking hands down! I called them in a panic at 11PM Monday night because the place we had just checked into (after a long day of traveling) was infested with live Palmetto bugs. The city of Charleston was chock full of visitors as it was vacation week for many families. Somehow they had 2 rooms, side by side, that we could have. And at a very kind rate! They sent a cab to get us, poured hefty glasses of champagne as we checked in and got us settled in our rooms. The teenagers in the suite with 2 tvs and a fireplace, the parents in a lovely king room! They pointed us in the direction of restaurants still serving dinner. They really saved our trip and we are forever grateful for that. Because there were no rooms available the next night, they went to GREAT lengths to find us a place to stay. Genny made our reservations for us, even negotiated a better price! This is exactly the sort of kindness and genuine caring that is virtually unheard of these days. Everyone, from Mike who answered my call to Tyler who put us in a cab for the next place, was a true pleasure to meet. The hotel is spotless. The decor is luxurious and the Jasmine growing everywhere in intoxicating. Thank you French Quarter Inn. We will be back. I really mean it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Margaret D,

Reading this makes me so proud of my team and honored to represent such a great hotel. I am sorry to hear about the other hotel. I'll make sure to recognize Jenny and Taylor for their service actions; they are true service professionals.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As we planned, my wife and I returned to Charleston to complete seeing what we were unable to tour or enjoy after our 2011 visit to the French Quarter. Once again Michelle was there to great us and it was like old home week. We reserved the same corner suite we had last year (Rm 311) because of the business center and lounge area as you entered the room with the large bathroom dividing that room and the bedroom. All the rooms are very clean and well cared for and both last year and this year the staff was always attentive to give us that personal touch. This room also has a fireplace and small balcony to enjoy sitting out looking over Market Street. The morning breakfast continues to be most enjoyable with wine and cheese in the afternoon and delicious cooking and light drinks later in the evening. The staff is most accommodating for room services and definitely let the front desk cater to your touring and Charleston things to do. They have all the answers to work with weather changes for outdoor and indoor events, tours, and palate desires. I treated ourselves to a private carriage ride as it gave us that personal time with our guide. A little pricy, but for us most enjoyable and Palmetto Carriage like all carriage house is one block away. Charleston Harbor Tours was also most enjoyable and Captain Mike does a great job guiding his ship to see the sites with just the right touch of humor. East Bay Street (short walk from hotel) continues to have a wonderful choice restaurants to meet every type of food. Don't forget to take a 10 minute walk down to the Waterfront Park and see the Pine Apple Fountain and learn more about the history of Charlestons harbor. So let the French Quarter be your home while visiting Charleston and you won't regret it for all that it has to offer to make your stay complete. God willing we will be back and start to extend our interests outside of Charleston why enjoying FQ as our extended home.

Room Tip: For us we continued to stay on the Market Street side as you have a choice of the higher floor small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Dineright,

It was so nice having y'all back visiting Charleston and the French Quarter Inn! Michelle was delighted to hear you recognized her service, and she says hello.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel makes me think that someone who travels frequently actually planned this hotel! First it is in a great location. Close to everything in the historic district. Just a five minute walk to restaurants on East Bay Street where we ate most of our meals. Also located right behind market street where there is an open air market full of vendors selling all types of items. When we checked in, we were offered a glass of champagne. At five every evening, they set up a table offering wine, cheese and grapes. Every morning you can choose to have a continental breakfast delivered to your room or go down to the lobby to eat. There are tables scattered around the lobby and also a nice patio to eat outside. Also on our floor they had coffee cups, saucers, and coffee set up in the hall so you can go right outside your door and fix coffee to drink without having to wait to have it delivered or going downstairs to get it. At night they offer cookies and milk or coffee. The beds were so comfortable with lots of pillows! There were four full sets of towels in the bathroom so you won't run out of towels, hand towels or wash cloths. The halls are really wide and we heard no noises and no slamming doors. We had absolutely the best stay at this hotel. Everyone working there was so eager to help. The valet parking attendants even wrote down driving directions for us. This is a wonderful place to stay!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tctravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear tctravelgirl,

There is no better way to start our day here at French Quarter Inn then to read such wonderful comments about out hotel and staff! In regards to our breakfast, today we introduced our homemade Ham & Cheese and Turkey & Cheese Croissants to go along with everything else we have to offer in the mornings, and they are delicious!

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaufort, sc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

It is easy to see why the French Quarter Inn is ranked the #1 hotel in Charleston by Trip Advisor. The location is perfect, steps from East Bay Street and the city market. We loved the complimentary breakfast in the lobby and the evening wine and cheese. The hotel is simply beautiful, with its winding staircases and attention to every detail. Thank you, Jessica Diaz, and your team for a wonderful visit. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaufortInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear BeaufortInn,

I would certainly agree that our location and especially our staff is what makes us #1 hotel in Charleston. Jessica was excited to read your comments and she says hello.

“Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see y'all again!

P.S. Beaufort is one of my favorite towns in the country!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The French Quarter Inn is in the perfect location - situated in the middle of the market and wick walk in either direction takes you to abundant shopping on King Street or to restaurant row on East Bay.

Our room was pretty, well maintained and had a large balcony where we enjoyed reading in the afternoon. I highly recommend room 320. Importantly, the bed was very comfortable and the room was well insulated and quiet. Despite being right above the busy market, we did not hear the street noise. We slept very comfortably.

The hotel is nicely appointed and charming. There are beverages and other goodies available all day long, starting with a yummy continental breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed having our coffee and fruit on the patio each morning. During the day there is iced tea and lemonade along with M&Ms and jelly bellies. A cheese and wine selection is available in the early evenings. Finally, milk and fresh baked cookies are available at night.

One of the very best features of this hotel is the staff. From the valet to cleaning crew, they are all friendly, polite and helpful. I must give special recognition to the ladies at the front desk who helped make our trip so enjoyable, starting with our initial phone call to make our reservation. It's apparent that Glori, Faith and Michelle sincerely enjoy helping people! All of their helpful tips and extra efforts to make our vacation a success were much appreciated! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaliFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear MaliFamily,

I thank you for sharing such amazing comments about our hotel! Room 320 is one of my favorite rooms as well. I'll make sure to tell Glori, Faith and Michelle that they were recognized for their hard work and first-class service.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Right in the heart of downtown Charleston, the French Quarter Inn offers hospitality unheard of in today's hotel market. It IS expensive, but absolutely worth it. It is very easy to forget the cost when you experience the hospitality and generosity you are sure to find at this beautiful hotel. We (grandparents and two grandchildren) felt so welcome; so well taken care of by the exceptionally polite and efficient staff.
At the French Quarter Inn, guests are greeted with a glass of champagne; wine and cheese are served in the early evening; milk and cookies later on; turn down service with lovely chocolates...and...continental breakfast....all of these niceties are complimentary.
We did splurge on a suite...it was comfortable, quiet, nicely furnished; bathroom was quite luxurious; beds and pillows were outstanding.
I was a bit concerned about being located in the very busy, potentially noisy, market area, but found this hotel to be a peaceful oasis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rdomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear rdomo,

I am thrilled to read that everyone enjoyed their visit so much! We really enjoyed having the whole family stay with us, and it will be a pleasure having y'all visit again.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see the family again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,104 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,997 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing