We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My visit to Charleston was to satisfy a life long fascination and curiousity about all things Southern . The French Quarter Inn is the essence of a great hotel in my opinion. A beautiful, luxurious hotel in a great location,yet with the feel of being in a private home. Service was wonderful, yet not intrusive and staff pleasant and helpful.The hotel certainly does have a charming ambience and we felt at home and relaxed as well as 'spoilt'. The extra touches such as provision of ice water and drinks at any time,as well as the delightful breakfast,afternoon and evening refreshments added to our sense of receiving warm hospitality. Southern charm and hospitality as I had always imagined to be part of life in Charleston was a reality here. Thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear lynath,

Southern hospitality indeed! I am glad that we met your expectations of a true southern experience.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,568
    232
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
565
1,587
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Beautiful hotel in an awesome city!! Location is fantastic!! One of the best places I have ever been. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenmb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear laurenmb88,

Charleston is an awesome city! I love reading your comments about our hotel, especially reading that it is the best you've ever seen...I have a feeling we will see you again!

“Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our gathering of girlfriends couldn't have been better - thanks in large part to the French Quarter Inn. The staff is amazing! Friendly, helpful, knowledgable. The accommodations are fantastic. Gorgeous, warm, clean & comfortable. An oasis! Plus, all the extras like wine and cheese in the afternoon, milk & cookies at night and lovely breakfast (all included) makes the French Quarter Inn the place to stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Julie S,

It was a pleasure meeting you and all the ladies, and I am glad to read that y'all enjoyed your visit to Charleston and the French Quarter Inn! Hopefully we will see everyone again for the next "Ladies Getaway"!

“Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

If you are looking for a first class hotel in historic Charleston, I would strongly suggest the French Quarter Inn. Situated within walking distance of the entire historic district, this hotel offers first class service and ammenities. Michelle and Marvin, at the front desk, continuously go above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect. They are wonderfully helpful and ideal representatives of Southern hospitality. After long days of sightseeing, the French Quarter Inn is a great place as your home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Michael W,

One of the most frequent comments I hear and read from our guests is that we are like a "home away from home" for them when visiting Charleston. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

I will make sure to recognize Marvin and Michele for their outstanding service. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The French Quarter deserves its #1 ranking hands down! I called them in a panic at 11PM Monday night because the place we had just checked into (after a long day of traveling) was infested with live Palmetto bugs. The city of Charleston was chock full of visitors as it was vacation week for many families. Somehow they had 2 rooms, side by side, that we could have. And at a very kind rate! They sent a cab to get us, poured hefty glasses of champagne as we checked in and got us settled in our rooms. The teenagers in the suite with 2 tvs and a fireplace, the parents in a lovely king room! They pointed us in the direction of restaurants still serving dinner. They really saved our trip and we are forever grateful for that. Because there were no rooms available the next night, they went to GREAT lengths to find us a place to stay. Genny made our reservations for us, even negotiated a better price! This is exactly the sort of kindness and genuine caring that is virtually unheard of these days. Everyone, from Mike who answered my call to Tyler who put us in a cab for the next place, was a true pleasure to meet. The hotel is spotless. The decor is luxurious and the Jasmine growing everywhere in intoxicating. Thank you French Quarter Inn. We will be back. I really mean it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Margaret D,

Reading this makes me so proud of my team and honored to represent such a great hotel. I am sorry to hear about the other hotel. I'll make sure to recognize Jenny and Taylor for their service actions; they are true service professionals.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As we planned, my wife and I returned to Charleston to complete seeing what we were unable to tour or enjoy after our 2011 visit to the French Quarter. Once again Michelle was there to great us and it was like old home week. We reserved the same corner suite we had last year (Rm 311) because of the business center and lounge area as you entered the room with the large bathroom dividing that room and the bedroom. All the rooms are very clean and well cared for and both last year and this year the staff was always attentive to give us that personal touch. This room also has a fireplace and small balcony to enjoy sitting out looking over Market Street. The morning breakfast continues to be most enjoyable with wine and cheese in the afternoon and delicious cooking and light drinks later in the evening. The staff is most accommodating for room services and definitely let the front desk cater to your touring and Charleston things to do. They have all the answers to work with weather changes for outdoor and indoor events, tours, and palate desires. I treated ourselves to a private carriage ride as it gave us that personal time with our guide. A little pricy, but for us most enjoyable and Palmetto Carriage like all carriage house is one block away. Charleston Harbor Tours was also most enjoyable and Captain Mike does a great job guiding his ship to see the sites with just the right touch of humor. East Bay Street (short walk from hotel) continues to have a wonderful choice restaurants to meet every type of food. Don't forget to take a 10 minute walk down to the Waterfront Park and see the Pine Apple Fountain and learn more about the history of Charlestons harbor. So let the French Quarter be your home while visiting Charleston and you won't regret it for all that it has to offer to make your stay complete. God willing we will be back and start to extend our interests outside of Charleston why enjoying FQ as our extended home.

Room Tip: For us we continued to stay on the Market Street side as you have a choice of the higher floor small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Dineright,

It was so nice having y'all back visiting Charleston and the French Quarter Inn! Michelle was delighted to hear you recognized her service, and she says hello.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel makes me think that someone who travels frequently actually planned this hotel! First it is in a great location. Close to everything in the historic district. Just a five minute walk to restaurants on East Bay Street where we ate most of our meals. Also located right behind market street where there is an open air market full of vendors selling all types of items. When we checked in, we were offered a glass of champagne. At five every evening, they set up a table offering wine, cheese and grapes. Every morning you can choose to have a continental breakfast delivered to your room or go down to the lobby to eat. There are tables scattered around the lobby and also a nice patio to eat outside. Also on our floor they had coffee cups, saucers, and coffee set up in the hall so you can go right outside your door and fix coffee to drink without having to wait to have it delivered or going downstairs to get it. At night they offer cookies and milk or coffee. The beds were so comfortable with lots of pillows! There were four full sets of towels in the bathroom so you won't run out of towels, hand towels or wash cloths. The halls are really wide and we heard no noises and no slamming doors. We had absolutely the best stay at this hotel. Everyone working there was so eager to help. The valet parking attendants even wrote down driving directions for us. This is a wonderful place to stay!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tctravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear tctravelgirl,

There is no better way to start our day here at French Quarter Inn then to read such wonderful comments about out hotel and staff! In regards to our breakfast, today we introduced our homemade Ham & Cheese and Turkey & Cheese Croissants to go along with everything else we have to offer in the mornings, and they are delicious!

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance. We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,182 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,046 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
461 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing