We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative!”

Charleston in a Nutshell
Ranked #20 of 243 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Charleston in a Nutshell Driving and Walking Tours is perfect for sightseers who want to visit the city's "must-see" places. Please join me on my Citywide Driving Tour or a Walking Tour. See our most beloved landmarks as you learn about the city's rich history, architecture, and culture. Go off the beaten path to places that are off limits to bus and carriage tours. I also offer special rates for groups of 10 or more. As a licensed tour guide since 1997, it's my passion to show off this unique city to visitors from around the world. Hope to see you in Charleston!
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We did the morning walking tour of Charleston, SC with Jeff and it was time well-spent! He was very informative, had an answer for all of our questions, and took us places we had never visited before. If you want to experience a whole new perspective on such a beautiful, historic city, give Jeff Zimmerman a call and do his tour. You will be glad you did!

Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 59 reviews
"morning tour"
in 14 reviews
"nutshell tour"
in 8 reviews
"civil war tour"
in 15 reviews
"candlelight tour"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"hour walk"
in 7 reviews
"two hours"
in 15 reviews
"extremely knowledgeable about the history"
in 3 reviews
"perfect length"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 10 reviews
"interesting details"
in 3 reviews
"tour guide"
in 15 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 8 reviews
"small group"
in 5 reviews
"great introduction"
in 4 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 266 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2018

We really enjoyed Jeff's Civil War tour. He has a passion for the history and the personalities that played a role in Charleston's experience of the war. It is fascinating and we recommend it to all. Charleston has such a rich and well-preserved historical district. A guided tour adds a deeper appreciation and is a great value for visitors.

Thank JaneT1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018


Thank you Jane! It was a great pleasure meeting you and your friends, I appreciate you taking the time out to submit a review. The heat was so oppressive, so glad you still found my tour worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Jeff was a wealth of knowledge about the city, it’s rich history, the growth of the city, plant life in the city, the people, restaurants, etc. he is personable, approachable, and passionate about his city. The tour was just the right length both distance and time. I highly recommend this tour. I’m sure his other tours are probably just as good. I would use his services again

Thank waynedallas2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Hi waynedallas2018. I appreciate your positive review. Yes, there are many quality guides in Charleston, but so glad you decided to join me. Hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

Jeff’s Charleston In A Nutshell tour was perfect. As a long time Charlestonian it was evident that he was passionate about what he did. The walk and tour were a perfect length and he added a great mix of history and humor. A must do for first timers in Charleston.

Thank TheProffittFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thank you for taking time out to submit a review. I appreciate your love for this unique city. I am privileged to be a guide. I love being an ambassador to visitors both local and first time visitors. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018

You've just got to go. Charleston is a wonderful place! It's full of history and beauty. You've just got to come!

Thank Beth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Hi Beth. Yes, Charleston and Carolina have such a rich history. It was a pleasure meeting you. Thank you for your review. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston in a Nutshell also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston in a Nutshell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing