We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,658)
Filter reviews
1,658 results
Traveller rating
1,309
225
64
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,309
225
64
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge level rooftop bar hermes toiletries coffee and pastries turn down service every morning east bay street hotel guests beautiful hotel concierge desk southern hospitality cookies luxury hotel the location is perfect late afternoon king room the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,658 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018

My wife and I were there during our 27th wedding anniversary a couple of weeks ago and this stay has set a new standard for customer service. From the first minute we walked into the lobby the professionalism of the staff was obvious. Everyone was friendly and helpful. What a beautiful hotel with all the charms of Charleston within steps of the hotel. Beautiful room and amenities. When we get back to Charleston this will be the place we stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

This is an elegant hotel with attention paid to almost every detail. It seems like an opulent old-world property, but I was told it's only 5-years old. Everything is spotlessly clean. Parking is very limited so valet parking is almost a necessity. The Pavillion on the 11th floor should not be missed. The views are amazing and the food and drinks superb. The gorgeous pool is a focal feature of the Pavillion but note that the pool is not heated. Our room was spacious, artfully decorated, included a separate tub from shower and we had a doorbell. Amenities included a welcome plate of pastry chef goodies and shortbread cookies each evening along with turn-down service. The hotel is directly across the street from the very grand looking U.S. Customs House and the Marketplace. The only thing that wasn't up to the highest possible standard, in my opinion, was the lack of friendliness. A few staff members were exceptional in this regard (Miranda, for example in the Pavillion), but on our recent 4-night stay we didn't feel very welcomed by the hotel desk staff and didn't think they were as responsive to certain basic requests as we would've liked. They need to step up their game to make guests feel at home and make them want to return.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cyndiw336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We stayed at another location but visited the rooftop bar after dinner elsewhere--amazing--so much so we decided to return in October and stay at the hotel. It was truly an experience we will long remember- Our room had two small balconies and was large and beautifully decorated. Nightly turndown service was remarkable. Just a wonderful stay and we just reviewed the Grill 225.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank taurusflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We stayed for about a week in late October. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all levels. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. We really enjoyed the nightly turndown service and goodies. Walking around the city was easy from the location, and the using the car valet was a smooth transaction. We do plan to visit Charleston in the future and this hotel will be at the top of our accommodations list.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakedmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

From the roof top bar to the excellent steak house located in the hotel, Market Pavilion is our go to when we stay in Charleston. The service has always been impeccable and the amenities are first class!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank balexhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews