We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Experience!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Entry
Hallway Showing Desk and Bureau
Living Area With Gas Fireplace, 42' HD Television, Stereo and DVD Player
Kitchen Seating (Stove, Refrigerator, Microwave
Beroom with Queen Sized Bed and LCD Television
Bathroom With Clawfoot Tub/Shower
Front Entry - Gated Parking
Exterior Photo of 53 Hasell (c. 1839)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy R
Essex, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment was perfect. It was clean, nicely furnished and equipped. The owners were so friendly, helpful and a joy to deal with. It was in a very convenient location, in walking distance to everything. The off street parking was a convenience, but tight. To be fair, though, I had a large minivan. Great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress needs replacing.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Randy and I hope to see you next year if not sooner! Patty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat Z
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming in Charleston”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter did a 2 month internship in the historic district of Charleston. This unit was conveniently located within walking distance to her job. It was meticulously maintained, beautifully decorated and provided every amenity one might need in a "home away from home". The unit also provided a designated off street parking space and the security gate provided extra comfort to me (her mom) since my daughter was living alone during this time. Additionally in her down time my daughter was able to walk to all the wonderful things that Charleston has to offer. Another bonus is that the unit has a separate bedroom as well as a pull out couch in the living room. This made it easy for me to stay on a few occasions and enjoy the city as well. I will definitely consider renting this space again in the future should I have the need. Finally, the rental agent was delightful to work with! All in all this was a great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and convenience
Liked least: that I couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weary8000
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed at 53 Hasell in June and absolutely loved it.
There's not one single fault with the place. 2 minute walk to entertainment at King Street, but none of the noise to disturb.

Bed was super comfy, slept like a baby my entire stay.

Massive bonus was the parking. Parking in Charleston is awful, so this was a real bonus.

The only thing I disliked about this place was that it made my own place seem terrible! So that's a compliment, really.

Patty was a pleasure to deal with from start to finish and other renters could learn a lot from her.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
It was a pleasure having you. Maybe you can stay 2 months next year! Patty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will look forward to seeing you again next year. Patty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Massachusetts
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2014
Thanks for the great review! It has been a pleasure having you as our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bonnie201...
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location is Everything”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This unit is in the heart of Charleston. You can walk to the historic districts, to great restaurants and to a grocery store nearby. Location is everything and this unit has it. Off street secured parking is included and we only used our car for out of the area excursions.

We found the one bedroom apartment to be comfortable and well furnished. The unit has everything you would need for a "home" away from home which gave us the option for home meals.

Patty went out of her way to adjust to our check-in schedule and was very accommodating returning to us items left at the apartment.

I cannot say enough how much we enjoyed the apartment and Charleston. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing visit. Lots of things to do and excellent restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJTOH
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
690 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Charming, cozy, convenient & clean”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent five nights here over the Thanksgiving holiday. Patty welcomed us on arrival and quickly responded to everything we needed. The property is beautifully decorated, very clean and adequately sized for 2 people. The kitchen has everything you'd want, but with so many great restaurants within a few blocks, we didn't cook at all. The dedicated parking is a little tight when the adjacent space is full, but given the parking situation in Charleston, off street parking is a real plus. We were not able to use the open porch, because the weather turned unseasonally cold. A new heating unit was not functioning properly, but I am sure it is fixed by now. Tip: you might want to bring slippers, because the wearing of shoes indoors is discouraged to preserve the lovely wood floors (I had some with me, but my spouse did not). The location is terrific, one of my favorite neighborhoods in Charleston. We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating was not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review. We did get our heating checked - and it was a compressor gone bad even though the unit was only a few months old. We were glad it was replaced under warranty and appreciate your adapting to the colder temps. Look forward to seeing you again - and you deserve a free night. I've made note in my records; however, don't hesitate to remind me! Kindest regards - Patty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing