We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit the bill”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Hartford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fit the bill”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just wanted small meal after being "tourist full" near our hotel. Excellent soup and salad and one order of Shrimp and Grits. Excellent food, attentive professional service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynfo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to hear that we "fit the bill" for the delicious, small meal that you were looking for. We would love to have you here next time you are out in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,980
    784
    322
    77
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
920 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Thanks, Hank's!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at Hank's. Our reservation was honored right on time. Service was friendly and professional. The place was bustling but the noise level wasn't ridiculous. The space is attractive even though located in a former auto repair shop. The food (shrimp and grits, broiled seafood platter) was swell. Prices for wine by the glass were on the high side but food portions were ample. One caution: parking is scarce in the area so start a little early or just walk there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Wonderful! Our team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your time at Hank's. Please know that we greatly appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Charleston!!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Lived in Charleston all my life and finally decided to try Hank's Seafood Restaurant.... Went to Hyman's a few times since everyone always raved about it, but I never found something that I liked. We decided to try Hank's one Sunday afternoon, and was blown away... I'm a seafood lover and this is the best. I had the Grouper & Lobster Risotto... OMG!!! Amazing.... The portion was great and the customer service was fantastic. I highly recommend for seafood lovers.... Very $$$$ but worth every bit.. Average cost per person $38

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind words! We are glad to hear that you were "blown away" by the Roast Grouper- a dish that has been changed recently from what we have served for years. Thank you for the positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Been here 4 times recently and the experience is always the same.great place for couples or a large group

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Wonderful. We thank you very much for your repeat business, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our party of 7 had mixed reviews. The seafood was good, sweet potato fries and collard greens excellent. The fried chicken was very salty. It is Very difficult to hear conversations at you table because of the noise level. Service was good with the exception that we still had 2 people eating their meal and an entourage of bus boys came along and cleaned up the whole table making the 2 who were still eating uncomfortable so they had them take away their plates too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for dining with us at Hank's. We are sorry to hear that some in your party found the food to be over-seasoned. We also apologize that your plates were cleared too early. We teach our staff to wait until all diners at a table are finished before we begin to clear any plates. The team member obviously misread your table, thinking that everyone was done. That was our mistake, and for that we are very sorry. We hope you come back and see us again very soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing