We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
GardenInn.com
US$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$279
US$257
View deal
SAVE US$22
ZenHotels.com
US$271
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveller rating
604
309
161
70
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
604
309
161
70
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every hour on the hour free shuttle rooftop bar water view shuttle service ashley river historic district nice hotel early check would stay here again great place to stay room was clean and comfortable fitness center parking garage folly beach market street hgi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a Sunday night off and decided to stay downtown for the night. The hotel was amazing and the view was even better! I've worked in hotels for the last thirteen years and I must say, the staff was amazing! Kristopher made our day, he was incredibly friendly and helpful, he gave us a great room and made check in a breeze! We will definitely be back and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tfrizelle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Dear Tfrizelle53,

Thank you for your stay and also for the wonderful review. I look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Charles R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2019

We stayed at this Charleston Hilton while my Dad was having surgery at the Medical University of South Carolina. The customer service staff and manager went way above and beyond to make sure we received every convenience and service we needed even though we checked in late in the evening due to my Dads surgery schedule. Their kindness and consideration went way beyond what was expected. Thank you!!!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2019

I had a quick business trip requiring a single night stay in Charleston. While this city has lots of choices, many seem heavily geared for tourists with lots of historic character.

This hotel has more of a contemporary business feel. Its location fronts a marina so if you score a waterside room you will awaken to a lovely view.

Arrival at the entrance at first seems odd. Doors open and you face some industrial feeling stairs. But actually it makes great sense due to its location (vulnerable to hurricane flooding). So finished spaces start up one floor leaving the ground level parking garage open to accommodate the inevitability of future storm surge flooding.

At the top of the stairs the lobby is very comfortable and nice. But the unfortunate location of the reception desk is hidden behind some columns. Similarly the elevators are not readily visible from reception.

My room was nearly perfect. It was a suite with a separate living area and two bathrooms. The bathroom off the bedroom was barrier-free room so it was very spacious with a large roll-in shower and a tub with folding seat.

Great bed, nice linens, very clean, lots of plugs, WiFi was quick. In-wall AC / heating units were (as always) annoyingly noisy. Building feels like it was built fast. Electrical outlet in the bathroom not properly attached to the studs, so anything plugged in wiggles and jiggles. Water diverter in the tub inoperable (unneeded hand-held shower wand just runs constantly wasting water).

The hotel is proximal to, but not really in, what I'd define as downtown (despite its "downtown" name). It is actually part of an area with a lot of (too) large, dull, overly dense developer heaven construction projects going up that could be anywhere (few touches to reflect the history of this amazing city). Noise was not a problem though.

Area is not pedestrian friendly, No little shops, no outdoor cafes, no drugstore, etc. There is a new car-centric McDonalds about three blocks away.

If you go for business (particularly if you'd like a covered place to park your car) and want to be close to downtown, this HGI is a really excellent choice.

Room tip: Facing the marina, my ADA accessible room was 436.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArizonaArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2019

Nicely appointed room was very clean. We had a balcony and a fantastic view of the marina. Beautiful artwork in room and even the bathroom. Appreciated the shuttle to downtown, but wished that it could have made a couple more stops as it was quite a distance to the restaurant and Visitor Center and it was cold and rainy. We are seniors and in good physical shape, but it was quite a distance.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2019

I gave a "5" because I got a great deal. Stayed 5 days and got a discount, making it the best value in Charleston. Beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the marina. Quiet, comfortable, and close to all the places you want to visit in this city. ($6.00 uber to market street).

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank maritzap791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Thank you for your review.

Charles R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews