We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Room, Location and Service!”
Review of Vendue Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vendue Suites
Ranked #26 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved our Room, Location and Service!”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed in the one bedroom. Great design, decor and location. Light and Airy room with lots of sun, nice view and great location. Walking distance to everywhere. We were well taken care of. We didn't feel like a number because Jean who runs the place is GREAT! So nice to come back to the room after touring Charleston to find wine, cheese, snacks, pastries, etc..Really cool bathroom and comfortable bed. We really enjoyed our stay for a very reasonable rate. And Charleston is an amazing city to visit. Highly recommend Vendue Suites.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakelowbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

you're well taken care of at this charming small BnB in historic dowmtown Charleston.,with in suite continental breakfast,and afternoon wine and cheese and snacks and discounted parking nearby,plus free WIFI. Within walking distance of waterfront park/pier, cruise ship terminal, many great restaurants, market, and tourist sites. Free tourist bus across the street if you're tired of walking..Wonderful, accomodating staff. Only drawback is for the physically impaired -there's lots of stairs to climb and the bed is high. Loved it- like having your own apt.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sapphyrmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The staff and accomodations were fabulous. The rooms are the feeling of old Charleston and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and go out of there way to accomodate you.

Room Tip: Just ask. They aim to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckstout324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Listed as a "B&B", but more like a vacation rental, this well situated suite was a great home base for our weekend away. We are not big fans of B&Bs- as the owners generally seem to be too involved and we enjoy more privacy, but this place is much more like staying at a good friend's apartment. The Inn was steps away from the river and just off Bay Street. We had the suite located on Vendue, The bed was comfy, the room was light and airy and supplied all of our needs comfortably. Jean, the manager, greeted us out front and directed us to the public parking garage nearby. We had wine, cheese and crackers waiting in our room and best of all were the bikes available for our use. We sure made great use of these - Charleston is too big to walk everywhere but perfect to ride through! Small drawback- the hotel across the street has a hopping late night bar that was quite noisy- drunken girls screaming in the street in the middle of the night- yikes! Another odd thing that I think is more about Charleston than this lovely Inn is a strange smell that seems to come up from the sewer- oh my! It actually woke us up in the middle of the night. Imagine each of us staring at the other thinking it was some "bit of undigested cheese" of whatever. It is an old town and all but damn! BUT, I cannot fault Vendue Suites for that and we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StylinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I actually considered not writing a review to help this place remain as undiscovered as possible. It was a real find!

Vendue is not a B&B but is more personal than most accommodation. (Jean met us, showed us the room and how everything worked, walked us through a city map, gave food recommendations, etc.) (Jean is awesome by the way)

Our room was great- well decorated, comfortable, and very, very, very clean. All amenities are as described on their website, with extra touches like boutique soap, jar of M&M's, pillowtop mattress, loads of towels, bottle of wine, etc. A very cool room.

The location is amazing. Imagine waking up and walking about 100 ft to choose one of two awesome coffee shops, then either taking that coffee and walking around waterfront park or sitting in its swings people watching (all within a 1-2 minute walk, a few hundred feet). Then back to the Vendue to use the restroom and a walk down to the high battery to meet your tour guide. Then back to the Vendue to look at reviews for a lunch restaurant on your laptop and grab a bottle of water, then to lunch, and back to Vendue afterward for a nap. Then wake up and a stroll through the market (about a block away), then back to drop off your purchases and pick up the bike (included on the house)... you get the point! Since it is so centrally located, it is ultra easy to pop in and out all day.

The only possible negative would be the water pressure.

Well, like I said earlier, here is hoping that you ignore this review, stay away, and leave the BEST place in Charleston for us!

There is no way we will stay anywhere else next time in Charleston- especially after spending the whole drive home talking about what a score it was!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 917p3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We love to stay here. Jean does a great job managing our needs. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorpete2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Vendue Suites is ideal accommodation for any stay in Charleston. It's in the perfect location, on a side street just off the waterfront and right in the middle of all the sightseeing and stumbling distance to the main restaurants and bars. I stayed in the one bed suite on the first floor and despite being on in a reasonably busy area, I didn't hear any noise from the street. As there are only a few rooms as well you don't have to put up with the noise of numerous other guests walking by your door and creating noise which is often the case in a hotel. The room itself is great, clean and modern. Jean couldn't have been more helpful and really helped me out with regard to looking after my luggage as I was departing until late at night. This took away all the bother that is often associated with your last day somewhere. As a single female traveller, I felt very safe and looked after. I would highly recommend Vendue Suites to anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SasSpiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vendue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendue Suites

Property: Vendue Suites
Address: 30 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2114
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing