We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment style accommodation in fantastic location”
Review of Vendue Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vendue Suites
Ranked #19 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great apartment style accommodation in fantastic location”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were in suite 302 and there were 2 bedrooms (1 with a double bed and 1 with 2 single beds), a bathroom, kitchen and separate sitting area. The fridge in the kitchen was stocked with fruit, cereal, milk/juice, cheese/crackers and a selection of pastries for breakfast. You were also given a bottle of wine. As this apartment was at the back of the building it was extremely quiet despite being the Independence Day long weekend. There was very effective aircon and ceiling fans if you wanted. The only criticism would be the bathroom set up. We had a 15 month old that we needed to bath and it was a shower head over a jacuzzi tub set up which was very deep and difficult to access. It would also not be the best for anyone with any limitation in their mobility as it was very difficult to climb out of. The water pressure was not the greatest. The bathrooms in the other suites may be different. There is also a flight of stairs to access the apartment. Jean was very helpful and accommodating. There is parking in a garage a block or so away. The complimentary bus that goes on a route around town has a stop right across the street from the hotel so very conveniently located. It is within walking distance to most attractions in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a great little inn in the heart of the waterfront district. The one bedroom suite has a loft bathroom (enclosed) which was a little inconvenient at times, but didn't spoil it at all. The service was wonderful and we had everything we needed. For a longer stay, I would get a 2 bedroom for the space and kitchen area. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hugo-phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed in the one bedroom. Great design, decor and location. Light and Airy room with lots of sun, nice view and great location. Walking distance to everywhere. We were well taken care of. We didn't feel like a number because Jean who runs the place is GREAT! So nice to come back to the room after touring Charleston to find wine, cheese, snacks, pastries, etc..Really cool bathroom and comfortable bed. We really enjoyed our stay for a very reasonable rate. And Charleston is an amazing city to visit. Highly recommend Vendue Suites.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakelowbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

you're well taken care of at this charming small BnB in historic dowmtown Charleston.,with in suite continental breakfast,and afternoon wine and cheese and snacks and discounted parking nearby,plus free WIFI. Within walking distance of waterfront park/pier, cruise ship terminal, many great restaurants, market, and tourist sites. Free tourist bus across the street if you're tired of walking..Wonderful, accomodating staff. Only drawback is for the physically impaired -there's lots of stairs to climb and the bed is high. Loved it- like having your own apt.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sapphyrmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The staff and accomodations were fabulous. The rooms are the feeling of old Charleston and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and go out of there way to accomodate you.

Room Tip: Just ask. They aim to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckstout324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Listed as a "B&B", but more like a vacation rental, this well situated suite was a great home base for our weekend away. We are not big fans of B&Bs- as the owners generally seem to be too involved and we enjoy more privacy, but this place is much more like staying at a good friend's apartment. The Inn was steps away from the river and just off Bay Street. We had the suite located on Vendue, The bed was comfy, the room was light and airy and supplied all of our needs comfortably. Jean, the manager, greeted us out front and directed us to the public parking garage nearby. We had wine, cheese and crackers waiting in our room and best of all were the bikes available for our use. We sure made great use of these - Charleston is too big to walk everywhere but perfect to ride through! Small drawback- the hotel across the street has a hopping late night bar that was quite noisy- drunken girls screaming in the street in the middle of the night- yikes! Another odd thing that I think is more about Charleston than this lovely Inn is a strange smell that seems to come up from the sewer- oh my! It actually woke us up in the middle of the night. Imagine each of us staring at the other thinking it was some "bit of undigested cheese" of whatever. It is an old town and all but damn! BUT, I cannot fault Vendue Suites for that and we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StylinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I actually considered not writing a review to help this place remain as undiscovered as possible. It was a real find!

Vendue is not a B&B but is more personal than most accommodation. (Jean met us, showed us the room and how everything worked, walked us through a city map, gave food recommendations, etc.) (Jean is awesome by the way)

Our room was great- well decorated, comfortable, and very, very, very clean. All amenities are as described on their website, with extra touches like boutique soap, jar of M&M's, pillowtop mattress, loads of towels, bottle of wine, etc. A very cool room.

The location is amazing. Imagine waking up and walking about 100 ft to choose one of two awesome coffee shops, then either taking that coffee and walking around waterfront park or sitting in its swings people watching (all within a 1-2 minute walk, a few hundred feet). Then back to the Vendue to use the restroom and a walk down to the high battery to meet your tour guide. Then back to the Vendue to look at reviews for a lunch restaurant on your laptop and grab a bottle of water, then to lunch, and back to Vendue afterward for a nap. Then wake up and a stroll through the market (about a block away), then back to drop off your purchases and pick up the bike (included on the house)... you get the point! Since it is so centrally located, it is ultra easy to pop in and out all day.

The only possible negative would be the water pressure.

Well, like I said earlier, here is hoping that you ignore this review, stay away, and leave the BEST place in Charleston for us!

There is no way we will stay anywhere else next time in Charleston- especially after spending the whole drive home talking about what a score it was!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 917p3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vendue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendue Suites

Property: Vendue Suites
Address: 30 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2114
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing