We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value of the entire trip!”

Children's Museum of the Lowcountry
Ranked #66 of 237 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best value of the entire trip!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our 3 1/2 year old grandson LOVED the museum and so did mom and gramma. You know it's small child appropriate when there is a special small door for them to enter the building! So much to do... it's hard to leave one area to find out what the next area might offer. A large art room with supplies galore and protective aprons, a medieval castle with appropriate costumes, large Legos to build with, a whole waterplay room, a room of loops and ramps and golf balls, a pirate ship with pirate costumes and a grocery store are all avialable inside, as is a infant/toddler climbing area. Outside includes a waterfall, a fire truck to climb on and more. Small snacks and drinks are available for purchase. Teacher (any state) and military discounts are offered. One note: you might want to take extra clothes, even shoes, as the water room is soooo much fun.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BayCitySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    28
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
264 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A must visit if traveling with children”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We debated taking our 5 and 7 year old here while vacationing in Charleston and were so glad we took the time to spend the afternoon at CML. Their favorites of the exhibits were the giant Medieval Creativity Castle that was big enough we could even go through it and play with the children in it, as well as the pirate exhibit. We also all enjoyed the waterwise exhibit and getting to watch the rain come off the mountain while taking turns operating the hydroelectric dams to light up the miniature Charleston.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rutha2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great way to entertain the kids”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our kids absolutely loved this musuem. They loved the hands on and the admission fee was very reasonable. A must do in Charleston with little ones.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank msgtnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun for the Whole Family”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The CML is a fantastic place. There is so much to do for kids of all ages. I especially like the Pirate section of the museum. The kids will also enjoy the various arts and crafts projects. If you live in the area an annual pass is highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toothfairy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Great and entertaining for children of all ages and adults!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ede54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Children's Museum of the Lowcountry also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Children's Museum of the Lowcountry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing