We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend fun”

Charleston Food Tours
Ranked #10 of 30 Food & Drink in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Charleston Food Tours will take you on a culinary adventure through Charleston, SC. You’ll walk, talk, and taste your way through history, learning how Lowcountry cuisine has evolved over the past 300 years. Each tour visits downtown Charleston culinary staples, where you can sample sweet tea, stone-ground grits, benne wafers, southern pralines, collard greens, BBQ, chicken & dumplings, fried green tomatoes, and house-made bruschetta. Go behind the scenes into some of the city’s most talked about restaurants, meet the chefs, and learn about the restaurant’s rich history. These informative tours are ideal for both casual fans of the culinary arts and the hardcore foodie.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

I acted as “your guide” to a couple who’ve never been to Charleston and I come here often.
I did a food tour the last time I visited and I thoroughly enjoyed not only the food but the history associated with every place we went.
The tour guide was knowledgeable and the tour company did not disappoint me.
I will recommend this your company wholeheartedly

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fried green tomatoes"
in 7 reviews
"spice store"
in 6 reviews
"culinary tour"
in 8 reviews
"cornbread"
in 4 reviews
"second stop"
in 2 reviews
"low country cuisine"
in 2 reviews
"afternoon tour"
in 2 reviews
"market area"
in 2 reviews
"king street"
in 3 reviews
"local history"
in 3 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 3 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"walking tour"
in 4 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"carriage tour"
in 2 reviews
"fran"
in 6 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2018

The food was amazing, and several types served at each locale, which is different from some we have been on, where only one small sample was served. We left being stuffed over the top. Our guide poured a steady stream of information about the cuisine and the history: fascinating and high on drama, but a bit more than we could take in, Definite don't miss this, however.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank chris12242018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

For all the great food in Charleston, the food on this trip was very average for the price. I really expected the guide to talk about points of interest in the city, but he didn’t. I’ve been on food tours before that were far more fun and informational.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank richellemaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

We had a great time on this tour. Our guide, Beth Briggs, entertained our group with all kinds of fun facts as we sampled some of Charleston’s favorite foods. There were several food tours to choose from. We chose a morning tour to give us ideas for our evening activities. We will be trying them all as we re-visit Charleston. I recommend this tour and Beth as your guide.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank janandbob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Wow, the Food tour exceeded all my expectations. I’m a foodie and had no idea what to expect. There were twelve of us and our tour guide, Mary was a wealth of knowledge! She told us the history of the food and then trying it was the cherry on the top. She even took us to a Spice Store. The walking was super easy and the service at each restaurant was excellent! I learned more history than I did from any other tour. I highly recommend adding the tour to your visit to Charleston!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Lorrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston Food Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing