We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$474
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-13
Expedia.com
US$474
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-13
FindHotel
US$717
US$428
View deal
SAVE US$289
PricelineUS$474
Hotels.comUS$474
getaroom.comUS$717
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
898
122
57
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
898
122
57
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room mid century federal building citrus club house car marion square rooftop bar beautiful hotel king street hotel bar concierge desk luxury hotel hotel guests love this hotel southern hospitality turn down service sitting area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful, clean and offer first class amenities. We lived our stay here and will be back. I highly recommend this hotel. Their staff took care of everything you needed. The rooms ar very clean and also very comfortable.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road818291, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2018

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of your stay! It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to have the opportunity again during your next visit to the Holy City.

Sincerely,
Suzanne Kassel
Associate Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We loved the hotel. Great style and excellent service.

Special shout out to Molly, who drove us in the house car a few times, and was great -- wonderfully knowledgeable and charming! Thank you, Molly!

One improvement: hotel needs coffee makers in the rooms. Many of us reqire coffee before we can go out for coffee... The idea of getting dressed to go downstairs, or ordering room service, just isn’t the same. (A small Nespresso machine would not spoil the excellent aesthetic.)

Room tip: Corner rooms have amazing views
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Global428454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road818291, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2018

Dear Global428454,
Thank you very much for the lovely 5 star review! We appreciate the feedback about the coffee makers in the rooms and will be working to improve on this. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to Charleston!

Sincerely,
Suzanne Kassel
Associate Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful historic hotel well located on Meeting Street. Beautiful interior, luxury rooms, amazing cocktail bar and lounge, great restaurant. This hotel is well worth the price. We were here on business and took advantage of their corporate rate. The hotel provides excellent service. In addition, they have a town car available to guests as well as a fleet of bicycles. This is a great town to see by bike

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank isfdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road818291, Front Office Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Thank you so very much for the five star review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We stayed 5 days and 4 nights at the Dewberry on our first visit to Charleston. The hotel is beautiful. It is a former Federal building that was converted to a hotel with a mid-century modern vibe. Our room with two queen beds was a generous size as was the bathroom.
As for the three star rating: The bathroom does not have a make-up mirror nor is there a full size mirror in the room. There are no coffee makers in the room - coffee is only available in the lobby in the morning beginning at 6:00 AM. There are no ice machines - you need to request ice which is delivered to the room. The Dewberry takes "turn down service" literally. They turn back a corner of the comforter and leave a card with the next day's weather report - nothing more. Used towels were removed throughout our stay but not always replaced. Additionally our bed linens were never changed. On the fourth day, we returned to the room to find a dirty coffee cup and used glass still sitting on the console. Again, used towels were removed but not replaced. In speaking with Tiffany of guest services, she did apologize and offered to have the room serviced while we were at dinner. When we returned, the bed linens still had not been changed and only some of the towels were replaced. Based on our concerns, we expected that at a minimum the room would have been completely serviced. Most 5 star hotels would have gone above and beyond, e.g. left a note of apology and possibly a small complimentary gift or service. Overall, we felt our concerns were ignored and that the housekeeping services were sub par.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank taplynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road818291, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear taplynn,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the furnishings during your stay and am equally very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the service your received during your stay. Our goal is to always provide the finest personalized service to our guests, regardless of how busy the hotel may be and I apologize that you experienced anything less. Knowing that a variety of guests stay with us, we strive to offer the highest degree of southern hospitality. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in greater detail about your experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience at guestservices@dewberryhotels.com. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Suzanne Kassel
Associate Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my friends to celebrate my 30th birthday and we were obsessed with this place. It is beautiful, the staff is extremely nice and helpful and it is a block away from all of the bars on King street. You can ask the valet to give you a ride in one of the Volvo’s they have on site to anywhere downtown which is a nice bonus. Make sure to eat as much of their housemade carmel corn as possible, it is delicious! I will definitely be staying here again, book here and you won’t regret it!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road818291, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Thank you so very much for your kind review of your stay with us during your Birthday Celebration! We are so pleased you enjoyed the conveniences we offer, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Suzanne Kassel
Associate Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews